We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”
Review of Hotel Ideale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Ideale
Ranked #4 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2014

As in, at the top of the city, and with a sweeping panorama and a western exposure...both from our room on the top floor (#30) and the common terrace below. We don't usually stay in hotels, but we thoroughly enjoyed this one. Wonderfully helpful staff, room, and ease of getting to points of interest or day trips, especially with the bus station just down and across the street. Comfy bed, good-sized room and bath, and plenty of in-room storage too.....plus a small refrigerator.

Very good breakfast set out in the common dining area on the main floor, with meats, cheeses, yogurt, breads, pastries, cereals, and excellent cappuccini. But of course we never ate inside, not with the gorgeous view awaiting us each morning/noon/evening from that terrace. And the staff did a wonderful job of place-settings for us whenever we were the only ones who chose to do so. As they did when we requested cappuccini in the morning to take out on our private terrace before going down for breakfast, all served up on a silver platter. They really do their work well, and should be justifiably proud of themselves.

As said, there is on-site parking, and for those like us who travel by train or bus, the stop is right there, a very short stroll away. That was a big advantage, both when we took our day trip to Spello, and on our first and last days to and from the hotel.

Though we were not so taken with the town, if we ever come back to Assisi, we will definitely again stay at the Ideale. And to those who are coming here and are researching possible lodging choices, we strongly recommend this one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ideale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 572 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Our second time in Assisi and partly due to the wonderful hotel! Large room and porch with a great view of the countryside. Parking and convenience. Its under 3 minutes to the local bus stop and about the same from the old city. Breakfast is good. We are planning a return trip to the Ideale.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This place is perfect for a visit to Assisi. It has it's own parking which is incalculable in the price which is a great value. You are going to love the terrace views! Your hosts are happy and helpful. Rooms are clean and charming. Hotel Ideale is ideal!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ildicecvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel was, by far, one of the highlights of our time in Italy. Our room was very beautiful and the view of Assisi and countryside was incredible (both from our room and from the terrace). We had one of the most deliciously fresh breakfasts here at the Ideale. The innkeeper sang as he attended to us at breakfast. We asked for wine glasses to enjoy some wine that we had purchased in Assisi and were pleasantly accommodated by the night staff attendant. We plan to return to the Ideale - it really was IDEAL!!

Room Tip: We requested a ground level floor with a view and were rewarded with same.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Ideale location, just off bus stop from train station. Hotel is at top of town, beautiful views from our balcony, over the town, and out over the countryside below town. Large room, nicely decorated and good-sized bathroom. Hotel has beautiful garden and terrace. Friendly helpful staff and a nice breakfast. Easy to walk to Assisi sights.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Words cannot describe how ideal our stay at the Hotel Ideale was! The hotel is located on top of a hill and the view was so amazing I could have stayed there the whole 2 days just looking out....but we also loved the city. Assisi is magic, and the hotel Ideale with its great view, beautiful garden, gracious hosts and good breakfast played a great part in
making it such an amazing experience! We were very sorry to leave.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view, although I'm pretty certain all rooms have one
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TessieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

The accommodation was well above expectations. We parked the car in the private yard and walked for the days that we stayed. The room was very large, as was the bath, and all were immaculate. There was a great view to the west over the countryside, and, a view to the north over the town.
The staff were friendly and helpful, especially when trying to book from out of the country. The breakfast was varied and well presented. We enjoyed every minute. The town has far more to see than the guides indicate.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 70 in Assisi
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 70 in Assisi
359 reviews
3.8 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ideale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ideale

Address: Piazza Giacomo Matteotti 1, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Assisi
#6 Family Hotel in Assisi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ideale 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With gorgeous views of the valley! Cheap&Chic: You'll find everything you need for a pleasant Assisi stay in Hotel Ideale, a quiet room with view ,lovingly put togheter with elements of only italian design and Umbrian artisan works. .FREE WI FI .the bedrooms have a bed with excellent mattress SIMMONS, bedspread painted with lively colors with natural fibre, contemporary design. .the bathrooms are updated with beautiful contemporary finishings to include original Domiziani designed sinks. Each shower is equipped with both a wand and rainshower head, with crystal shower box . Hair-dryer and bathrooms courtesy kit . Tv, Minibar ,telephone . Air-conditioning with independent thermostat control room with balcony and view To make your stay as comfortable as possible, we provide the following services: - FREE PARKING among the olive trees of our garden, leaving you free to meander around Assisi on foot -GARDEN -PANORAMIC TERRACE BAR & CAFE any time of the day you may request a glass of wine accompanied by some tasty bruschetta and quality olive oil ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ideale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ideale Turisti Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing