We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel in nice setting close to Assisi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Ranked #2 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Modern hotel in nice setting close to Assisi”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. It is a nearly new hotel, the room we had was with a balcony overlooking the countryside. Dark rooms that were poorly lit, but very quite.

Originally we thought the breakfast was terrible, but later found this was a fairly typical italian hotel breakfast, but with machine coffee and no fruit, artificial juice and so so cakes. Good swimming pool, and easy (1km) walk into Assisi - beautiful town - very well restored.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank pmtravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    299
    42
    7
    2
See reviews for
314
552
39
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of this family-run hotel made our short stay worthwhile. It located in a quiet neighborhood and the views are remarkable. Perched on a hill, this hotel is within a short bus ride or longer walk to the church and town of St. Francis.The bus stop is a short walk up the hill behind the hotel and runs in a loop around the town and back (2 euros to ride). The rooms are small, but very clean, with some located on upper floors with stairs (elevators are available to some floors). Ours was located on the second floor which had windows that opened and faced the Umbrian countryside. The only drawback for us was the walls are thin and at times you can hear your neighbors. The staff was accommodating and helpful. The restaurant breakfast is okay (mainly rolls, bread, meat, cheese, cereal, and coffee). The grounds are lovely and the pool clean with areas to relax and have lunch. We recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one with views. If walking or carrying luggage is an issue, look for a floor with an elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontour3069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niles, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a family-run hotel and staff is very accommodating. Room was modest and shower tiny. Breakfast good, but juice is really fruit drink. Great swimming pool. Any shortcomings you might find will be overshadowed by the location. The view of the Umbrian countryside is stunning. The hotel is very close to the old town of Assisi either by walking or taking a local bus that has a pick-up point next to the hotel. REMEMBER to take hotel card with you to show the driver of your returning bus which hotel you are in. Bus tickets can be purchased at front desk and are very reasonable. The old town of Assisi was a delightful place for us and this hotel made it even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st catharines, ontario
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A lovely setting overlooking Assissi's country side. Some rooms are off to one side in small apartments. Nice bathroom with good amenities including a toothbrush in a case. Restaurant on sight serving local dishes. Breakfast included but it would be nice to include fresh fruit. A wonderful experience with an amusing waiter to provide a few laughs.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treeabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Staffs England
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 10 nights & experienced both the new outside rooms & a room in the hotel itself both with amazing views. The 8 new rooms are excellent with great views, unfortunately a few times we were disturbed by construction work directly below where I think a further 8 rooms are being developed & it lacked privacy with workmen about. However this was dealt with swiftly & graciously by the owner & so we had the last 4 nights in a lovely room inside the hotel. Both rooms were exceptionally clean & well decorated & furnished. The only plus to outside rooms is that they have Sky TV & are near to pool and car park. Loved this hotel as the customer service was 1st class, nothing was too much trouble & all staff were excellent. Lovely pool & we ate there on last night & the food was very good. However, being served in the breakfast room lacked atmosphere..it would be wonderful if they had a restaurant area overlooking the fabulous views!! Nice level walk into town which we really enjoyed to walk off some of the fab food in town. The Hotel has its own pizzeria in town which we used 3 times - good pizzas. A definite recommend - this hotel deserves an award.

Room Tip: I would look to see if there is any building work going on as this hotel clearly keeps getting bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The walk into Assisi was 800 metres on a fairly flat road with a pavement all the way. This brought you to the city gates. The monastery and church of St Francis was at the furthest end of town another 1.5 km this was all fine for fit adults but might be a problem if you had children or were not used to walking. There were Taxis available.
The rooms were fine but slightly on the small side cluttered up with dark furniture however each room had a balcony with a lovely view. The restaurant was downstairs and a bit gloomy but the food looked good and the staff were cheerful. The breakfast had no hot food or fruit so was a bit disappointing but they did make you nice cappuccino.
The pool was lovely and a decent size, great after a hot day sight seeing.
As it was out of town it cooled down in the evenings and we would have liked to have slept without the noise of A/C but there were no mosquito nets on the balcony doors so you would have been eaten alive. We were bitten when we were having a drink on the terrace. I did discuss this with the owner but he was adamant there were no mosquitos and maybe it's not a problem for Italians but us Northern Europeans are more susceptible.
The staff were great and generally we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the pool as the central A/C unit is just below the pool and a bit noisy in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a stay at La Terazza and wished we had longer . From the moment we arrived , we were made to feel welcome by the manager and staff . The restaurant was just about to close when we arrived , but they kept it open especially for us - we appreciated this as we were travelling with my elderly mother . Sergio , the waiter was fantastic and suggested some local dishes , which were beautifully prepared and presented and tasted delicious . This type of customer care is rare these days and his kindness was something we will never forget .
The rooms were IMMACULATELY CLEAN , beds extremely comfortable and the view was amazing. Short walk to Assisi town . .
The swimming pool was a welcome retreat after touring , the night air filled with with the fragrances from plants and flowers.
Breakfasts were sumptuous and certainly set us up for the day . If you are wondering where to stay while in Assisi , then please look no further than Hotel La Terrazza - you wont be disappointed ..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the valley - it is breathtaking .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 71 in Assisi
731 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.3 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 71 in Assisi
557 reviews
3.1 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 71 in Assisi
495 reviews
4.0 mi away
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Coll...
#1 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Terrazza & SPA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Terrazza & SPA

Property: Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Address: Via Fratelli Aleandro e Mario Canonichetti, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Assisi
#2 Spa Hotel in Assisi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
#2 Business Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Terrazza & SPA 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel la Terrazza, nestled in an atmosphere of peace and tranquillity among the olive groves of Assisi's hills, is located only 800 meters from the historical centre of the city and near to the tourist sports complex.Thanks to its position, which looks over the green Umbria valley, the mornings here are soft and sweet, and the sunsets give the building's stones, the so-called 'pietra rosa' of Mount Subasio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Terrazza & SPA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Terrazza Hotel
La Terrazza Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing