We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent example of a small family-run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Pax

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pax
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Tivat Municipality, Montenegro
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent example of a small family-run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

When booking, we had told the hotel that we would arrive late by train - the Italian railway system works, but slowly! Even so, we were most pleasantly surprised on arrival, not only to be warmly welcomed by Luigi the owner but also offered dinner, which he had kept back specially for us. That was the start to our experience of the Viaggiatore, and an experience we would be extremely happy to repeat on any future visit to Assisi. The main reason for choosing the hotel was its location, aided by the Tripadvisor reviews. Both factors lived well up to expectations. We know Assisi from previous visits, but this was the first time we had stayed at the Viaggiatore, and will not be the last.
All the staff of this competently-run hotel are very friendly and helpful, which creates a marvellous atmosphere for guests. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. Despite being on the ground floor next to the reception, we were not overly disturbed by noise, as the sound-proofing is effective. Beakast was ample and sustaining - excellent coffee. We ate dinner there twice, a simple but well thought-out and presented menu. By the way, Italians are sensible people and do not export their best wines - Montefalco is definitely in this category.
It is difficult to find a more central hotel that the Viaggiatore. Assisi is not a town for cars - although the locals use them of course. So the main method of getting about is on foot, and this is where the Viaggiatore really scores points, being just off the main square with the Town Hall and the Tourist Office, with an excellent restaurant even closer, and not quite equi-distant between the Basilica di S Francesca and the Cattedrale di San Ruffino, so one can cover all the major sights without too much effort - apart from good physical exercise!
We were there over Easter, with rain prevalent. Luckily it was dry for the main Good Friday procession, an inspiring and emotionally moving sight with the onlookers falling silent as the sound of the drumbeat grew louder. Our timing was primarily to see a friend who has been living there for some years and will be moving on soon, so the visit was a combined renewal of friendship and spiritual health, both very necessay in today's hectic world.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank uropwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    62
    15
    2
    4
See reviews for
61
47
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very good hospitality from Luiggi, a nice Italian person, very knowledgeable of the Italian and Assisi culture. Really we enjoyed and profited from his conversation.
An old and historical building, well restored, typical form mediaeval Assisi, well located in the middle of the city, few steps from the main Piazza, good parking lot at the Vescovado around hundred meters from the Albergo. Nice place, very clean, good breakfast. The Hotel was empty, and in spite of being the only customers, they gave us a room with a front wall view and a poorly kept small garden, but overall we liked the place. Bottom line a nice experience. For somebody who does not know Assisi to enter with the car is very difficult. They should do something to help customers to find the place, for example, write instructions and send them to customers by Internet.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Our family of 4 had a great stay here for 3 nights last August. The location is fantastic, right near the centre of this beautiful medieval town. Our rental car barely fit though the narrow streets, many of them one-way, but it added to the adventure. We had the small-but-nice family room in the attic. The hotel is very clean, great breakfasts and dinners served in the restaurant in the hotel. Luigi at the front desk was very helpful with suggesting places to see in and around Assisi and giving directions. The whole medieval town is almost surreal in beauty, cleanliness and atmosphere, even if one were not particularly interested in the life and history of St Francis I imagine. Great place to stay to discover Assisi and surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank endre b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2011

Del Viaggiatore is a perfectly good option for a short stay in Assisi, the location is perfect being only metres from the main square and heart of historic Assisi. The rooms were well kept and mine 47 had a lovely view of village rooftops which oddly was very pleasant. Breakfast is more than adequate with a pretty good choice overall. The owner was very willing to assist with any needs that arose and also the younger man on the desk as well. I am delighted to recommend this accommodation which represents reasonable value.

Room Tip: You might need to book. Oh! and the have use of a computer totally FREE.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wannadanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
62 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very nice hotel right in the center of Assisi. A bit too difficult to locate at first, though then you find it's quite close to St.Chiara church and piazza del Popolo. The staff is excellent, especially Cristina who was extremely helpful and even managed to buy us tickets to Calendimaggio Final! As for accomodation, we had a small room with some high painted ceilings, very impressive and it was situated in a medieval arch above the street. Breakfast was nice too, even some cold cuts, which is rare for 3 stars hotels in Italy. And Assisi itself is a must see!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V0lta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2011

The hotel is within Assisi ZTL, so you need to ask for a "green paper" from a policeman before entering the gate. It's not very easy to find, so make sure you have good directions. The owner offered to park our car in a private parking lot very close to the hotel at 10 euro a day. The room was smallish but not indecently small and had no view. There was a minibar in the room. The Internet was only available near the reception desk, but the owner said they were in the process of making WiFi available in all rooms. Good location withing walking distance of all main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

We stayed for one night having reserved from booking.com for a 4pax room. Unfortunately our reservation was missed and we have provided 2 rooms; one single (for me) and one triple (my wife and kids). Anyhow we survived and the reward was to have free parking in their private parking space close to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#25 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#23 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Berti
Hotel Berti
#24 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 72 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pax

Property: Hotel Pax
Address: Via Sant'Antonio 14, 06081, Assisi, Italy (Formerly Albergo del Viaggiatore)
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pax 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Pax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Viaggiatore Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing