We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country House Hotel Tre Esse
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“In need of improvement”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed at this hotel with 3 friends as part of a walking trip. First impressions were very positive, in particular the location outside the city walls and with excellent views over the countryside. The gardens are attractive, as is the pool (although this was just being filled and the weather was too cool anyway). My room was basic, no better than 2 star in my view, as was the small showerroom. The beds were OK. The room looked on to an olive grove which provided the highlight of the stay: the glorious sound of the birds who seemed to sing for 24 hours.
The terrace provides a pleasant spot for drinks but the selection is very limited. Breakfast was basic - I felt I was back in 1980's Italy. We had dinner on one night which was acceptable but unremarkable.
Service overall was adequate but there was no sense that the hotel was pleased to have us as its guests.
If I were to return to Assisi, I do not think that I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    105
    44
    17
    6
See reviews for
48
115
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have just stayed at Tre Esse for six nights and had a wonderful time. Other reviewers have paid tribute to the attentive staff, delightful grounds with breathtaking views, and occasional (but excellent) dinners. Add to that exceptionally clean rooms and inexpensive wine and you have a really outstanding value-for-money B&B. One other reviewer remarks on the disappointing breakfast - dismal by comparison with everything else that's on offer here - and really this needs to be upgraded, even if the owners have to charge a couple of euros more.

But all in all, very highly recommended - and an ideal place to stay while discovering the glories of Umbria and Assisi. Our grateful thanks to the owners and staff for a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A great property in a beautiful setting.This room had a pleasant view of the valley and olive trees. We were fortunate enough to stay on an evening when they offered a wonderful prix fixe dinner, which added to the experience. Breakfast was outstanding - a plentiful spread and the best capuccino of the trip. Best of all was waking up to the smell of freshly baked cornetti!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene_and_Marcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel is outside the city walls requiring a good uphill climb, but then that's what one will do in Assisi anyway. Nice pool and outside terrace for breakfast. Breakfast was pretty basic. The staff are nice. Our chief problem was with a tiny bathroom and small shower unit with a jerri-rigged shower.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This hotel is really lovely. It's in a beautiful spot overlooking countryside and very close to Assisi. The room was adequate and we had a table and chairs outside it so we could sit with a bottle of wine there in the evening. The breakfast was just as you'd expect in this sort of place in Italy....fresh fruit, bread, croissants and cold meats. The coffee was delicious. You could walk to Assisi if you wanted but we always drove. There are plenty of car parks there. All in all, a very nice place to stay in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We certainly got some exercise for our 72 year old bodies walking to the town each day. It is approximately 3/4 of a mile walk and all uphill. My wife and I stayed 3 nights at this comfortable hotel. All of the employees were very nice and wanted us to enjoy our stay and we did. Beautiful views and comfortable rooms. We particularly enjoyed the patio both covered and uncovered for our evening wine and conversation. Recommend this hotel to any fit travelers or those who enjoy touring by car.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Country House Hotel Tre Esse. Our room was in one of the out-buildings, Room 235, down by the pool. The room was modestly appointed--not luxurious, but clean and once again, I marvel at how Italian bathrooms can be so space efficient and fit in all the fixtures: smaller corner shower (but totally adequate), toilet, bidet, sink all in a very compact space! Instead of the large terry towels we are used to in the States, they have large linen sheets in the bath, which I thought would not do a good job. I'm now a convert! Had I the space, I might have actually bought some in Assisi to bring home. There are lots of terraces...you can relax by the pool (tho not swimmable in early Oct), or at the main building. And some rooms, both at the main building as well as the building we stayed in, had private patios.

The breakfast was adequate...nothing special.

It turned out that the location was very walkable into Assisi. It was a 10 to 15 minute walk to the outside wall of the city and they are downhill from the town. So be prepared to climb a hill going into town. The road is not lit at night and there is a fair amount of traffic. If you decide to walk back at night, make sure you have flashlights.

Room Tip: Our room was in one of the out-buildings, Room 235, down by the pool. The room was modestly appointe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
0.4 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
724 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Assisi
Grand Hotel Assisi
#16 of 71 in Assisi
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frate Sole
Frate Sole
#8 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country House Hotel Tre Esse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country House Hotel Tre Esse

Property: Country House Hotel Tre Esse
Address: Via delle Valecchie 41, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Country House Hotel Tre Esse 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Country House Hotel Tre Esse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing