We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Hotel Berti!”
Review of Hotel Berti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Berti
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Bertil while we were in Assis, I had spent some time searching the available hotels on booking.com and chose the Hotel Berti because it looked so charming and there were reproductions paintings of angels and cherubs in all the rooms! :-) I/we were lucky to have hit spot on and when we arrived the Berti was as nice as we had hoped for. Our double room was just above the front of the hotel, with a view over the square and the small restaurant outside. The sun shone in during the morning and the atmosphere was just delightful. The bed was very comfortable and in spite of facing out toward the square etc. we slept very well. The bathroom was bright and modern, tiled from ceiling to floor and very clean. Wi-fi in the room did not function but worked fine downstairs in the bar/reception. Breakfast was served downstairs by the reception/bar and there was a buffet selection of cheeses and yoghurts, marmalades, cold cuts, a variety of breads etc. and cereals. The Berti is a family-run hotel and quite small, just 10 rooms. Service was very good and English was spoken quite well, but as my partner speaks fluent Italian that made life easy :-) On booking.com the Berti is listed as being a 2*, but you really get a lot more for your money, we think it should be considered as a 3* hotel. The location is ideal by the old city gates, just a 5 minute stroll along some very picturesque streets up to Saint Francis' Basilica. We would absolutely stay at the Hotel Berti the next time we are in Assisi!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Berti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

Berti is located just inside the ancient san pietro gateway into the city and 5 minutes uphill walk to San Francesco Basilica. This makes it a great hotel to visit the Basilica first thing in the morning before the tour buses when you can use the time to soak up the atmosphere without falling over anyone's feet. The hotel is small and has an old world charm, with attractive dark wood doors and window shutters. I had the single room on the first floor; this nevertheless is at street level. If I opened my shutter I could shake hands with fellow pilgrims and tourists in the street! This was fine in October but may not be so fine in the summer when fresh air is wanted( there is aircon).
The breakfast is good but repetitive and could have improved with fresh juice for example. The young lady in charge in the morning was outstanding and very helpful, endlessly cheerful and friendly. I enjoyed my stay here and , for the location, it was very good value. I do not think you could be disopointed in a budget style stay here.

Room Tip: A good view can be had from higher floor rooms; as a single traveller I think that will mean booking...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaDLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel Bertie is situated just inside the arched gateway into the town, just across from the carpark. Well positioned to explore this most enchanting village, the most beautiful of our five weeks in Italy. The rooms are fine, breakfast ok, and staff friendly. It's a small, charming little place, well suited to its environment. The only negative was the poor wi-Fi, which was pretty slow, and only really worked in the lobby area.
Overall, highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hugbug23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

To be recommended.

Located at the bottom side of Assisi, nearby to secure underground parking.

Spotlessly clean. Friendly. Simple but adequate breakfast.
Only negative is terribly slow wifi.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edrichseibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We arrived around 3 pm and checked in. This hotel was absolutely charming with a beautiful patio with lots of green plants and shady. The fact it had an elevator was a main reason for picking this hotel. The room was very roomy and the bathroom was one of the biggest we encountered in our European travels which included 6 hotels. The front manager and his assistant were extremely kind and spoke English which was a help for us.

We sat on their patio and had a couple of beers in late afternoon. We were able to people watch as they are located right next to the Porta S. Pietro (sp?). Also right next to the post office.

The hotel also has a restaurant just a few doors down the road which has rave reviews on tripadviser. We ate there that night and it was delicious and very Tuscan. Talked with a couple from Australia and had one of the nicest nights of our trip. The next morning we came down for coffee and breakfast (included in room price). Delicious croissants and cold meats and more food that we expected.

Only regret is that we didn't stay longer. We loved the peace that seems to envelop Assisi. And God willing when I return to Assisi we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The room was accessible by stairs or elevator and had air conditioning. Very nice large bathroom ens...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cajunmom&wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

While this little hotel has little rooms and a little elevator, it was more than adequate.
With its location across the street from the bus station I thought it would be noisy, however, once you closed the windows they blocked out all sounds, so we had a very quiet sleep.
The family-owned restaurant nearby was very good.
Note that Assisi is a very hilly town, and since this hotel is near the bottom of the hill in the old town, your legs will get a workout.
But Assisi is a great place to visit, you will want to allow a full day there.
I note that from Assisi we travelled to Siena. The train takes some 4 hours to make this trip, while the bus is only 1 1/2 hours. However the bus ticket recently went up from 12 to 19 Euros, which is unusually expensive for Italy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GCCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Convenient to parking and bus stops and tourist sites and restaurants in a medeival building part of the wall right next to the entrance arch. Clean comfortable rooms. Nice breakfast and private outside seating when the weather permits. Friendly staff. The private outside seating is a nice place to bring some wine and cheese before dinner and just watch the world walk by..

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
4.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 70 in Assisi
471 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#8 of 70 in Assisi
751 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Properzio
Hotel Properzio
#29 of 70 in Assisi
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Umbra
Hotel Umbra
#24 of 70 in Assisi
236 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Ideale
Hotel Ideale
#4 of 70 in Assisi
571 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 70 in Assisi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berti

Address: Piazza San Pietro 24, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 70 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: £61 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Berti 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our little hotel is located at only 200 mt. from St. Francis church. All bedrooms with private bath, direct telephone, TV color with international channels by sat., heating/air conditioning, hairdryers, lift. A convenient parking, at 50 mt, allows you to visit Assisi on foot. In summer you can consume your breakfast in the garden in front of the hotel. In our restaurant "Da Cecco" there are special dishes to offer our guests a chance to taste Umbria's traditional cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Berti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing