We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Roma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Roma Hotel
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Florence, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I highly recommend staying at Hotel Roma. The location is fantastic--right next to the Church of St. Claire, and a 5 minute walk to the other main sites. The hotel's service is excellent. Daniele and his staff went out of their way to help me, even letting me use their main computer at the desk when the one in the lobby had a temporary glitch. I ate at their restaurant in the evening, and the food was fantastic. I was a little scared of ordering the pork loin with tuna sauce, but I am so glad I did. It was great, and so was the presentation. The breakfast was also very nice, and substantial. I plan on staying here again when I come back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeLois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    126
    68
    21
    19
See reviews for
100
122
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This was a great place to stay in Assisi. The staff was very helpful, and spoke English. Rooms were comfortable and quiet, there was free wifi in the rooms and a computer available in lobby, they put out a nice buffet breakfast, and the location was perfect--walking distance to the bus and to all the sights in Assisi. We loved the town, the people watching (always a lot of tourists there both Italian and foreign), the views are spectacular down to the valley below. The town has a very spiritual "vibe" to it. We enjoyed the cathedral and some smaller churches, as well as art galleries and shops. Also a fun thing is to see the Botero exhibit--he is a sculpture from Columbia. Travel tips--you can get to Assisi from Rome by train. Many trains require a change on the way, but some go straight through. At the train station there is a bus station that drops you very close to this hotel. No need to take a cab. One day we walked down the brick sidewalk that leads from Assisi to the town below. It was a couple of miles. In town there is a supermarket if you want your own groceries, and also a public indoor swimming pool. Even a McDonalds, which had one of the few meals we could afford in Italy. Shamefully, we ate there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaSlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Everything about this place was excellent..friendly helpful English speaking man at the front desk who pointed out there was a Botrero exhibit nearby, which we would have missed if he had not told us about it,, plus he gave us discount coupons to get in.., central location, close to bus and attractions, we did not eat at the restaurant but I wish we had.people said it was very good...the breakfast was generous and varied..buffet included fresh rolls, cheeses and meats, yogurt, fresh friuts, sweet rolls..orange juice...all included in the reasonable per night fee..room and bathroom spotlessly clean,,it was very quiet, good for sleeping
I have not a single complaint..would go again..highly recommend it...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chriscarolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katrineholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Fantastic location. Easy walking distance to most sights. Room very comfortable with a great view over the square outside. Beds very comfortable. Overall, a very satisfactory stay and very helpful staff, would recommend, free Internet, good Restaurant, central, excellent service, fair breakfast

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The Hotel location was amazing - right in the center of town.While the rooms are very basic, they are extremely clean and comfortable. Good breakfast in the morning included. Walking distance of most of the sights in town, and to the local bus stop. Loved It! Spoke good english which made things easier.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cox
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

The hotel staff consisting of one lady was very, very nice. The room was super clean and very well done up. The location was near Saint Claire - very conveniently located close to the prime sight seeing places. They have some of the best restaurants in the area. They also allow for one to store the heavy bags while we are sightseeing and then pick them up later on in the day when it is time to leave Assisi.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BiggiCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens Village, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This hotel was right in the town and very close to everything that we wanted to see. It is also very close to the underground parking garage (not the one near the bus station but the other that is right next to the escalator) and you can walk to it easily from the hotel. Breakfast was included and very rich.The restaurant was surprised, very good. The bathroom was perhaps a little small, but very clean. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#7 of 71 in Assisi
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 71 in Assisi
455 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vignola Assisi
Hotel Vignola Assisi
#15 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#24 of 71 in Assisi
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#16 of 71 in Assisi
157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Grazie
Hotel Le Grazie
#11 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Hotel

Property: Roma Hotel
Address: Piazza Santa Chiara 13-15, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Roma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing