We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; very small room”
Review of Roma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roma Hotel
Ranked #47 of 71 Hotels in Assisi
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location; very small room”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location if you want to explore the towns of Assisi and Perugia or just relax, however my daughter and I didn't find very much that interested us in Perugia. You could walk around Assisi for a couple of days looking at the breath taking scenery and exploring all the churches and the castle nearby. And the food in Assisi is extremely good...especially the desserts. Make sure you go to the castle Rocca Maggiore. Just when you think the view can't get any better than at Hotel Roma, a short 5-10 minute walk to the castle proves you wrong. :)

We didn't have a GPS, and we only had to stop for directions once to get to Hotel Roma. With a GPS, I'm sure you could drive right up to it. You have to pay 10 euros/24 hours to park about 5 minutes away, but I think that's true of all hotels in Assisi.

Everything in the room worked perfectly (shower, tv, lights,...). The room was very clean and the beds are comfortable, but it was very small. It was about 11 feet by 11 feet. My college dorm room was bigger. We literally had to move one of the two desk chairs around to get to my suitcase, which I stored in the bottom of the closet.

The day staff speaks excellent English; the night staff...no English. I spoke enough Italian to get what I needed, so that wasn't a problem.

If it wasn't for the room size, I'd give this 5-stars, but due to the size, it only gets 4.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeG229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    125
    68
    21
    19
See reviews for
100
121
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

I love this hotel! It is located right next to the Basilica di S. Chiara and our room has a great view of Assisi + Piazza. The hotel room has a comfortable size as well. Breakfast is simple but good for us. Only complain is the weak wifi signal on 2nd floor, we suggest Hotel Roma to use a stronger router for other floors.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JiuJiuAmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Amazing location in the heart of Assisi had the end room with views down the valley recommend getting the bus from the train station hotel was clean staff friendly and again the location !!
Stay here if going to Assisi bargain prices to

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

My wife and I normally only do reviews for really bad or really good places but the Hotel Roma is special, just like Assisi. Also, even though we are from Canada we never expect nor do we want the so called comforts of a chain hotel. The location is fantastic, the food in the restaurant is wonderful, and it is a great value. The only thing is the rooms are really tiny. When we first checked in we thought how cute and clean everything was and couldn’t wait to shut the door to the bathroom and have a shower since the bathroom is the shower stall. There were 2 tiny beds that made loud creaking noises at the slightest movement so each of us lay awake each night afraid to move until the shouting and screaming started in the next room which drowned out any sound for several blocks. Now this could happen in any hotel except the particular acoustics of the plaster walls and room configuration seemed to increase the volume of the adjacent domestic dispute rather than dampen it
When we first arrived we were ready to give up regular life and move permanently to Assisi but after 4 days living on top of each other with sporadic sleep we were ready to leave. We would suggest that a 2 night stay would be ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The location was great - right across the street from the Sta. Chaira church, and all sites in Assisi are within walking distance. While one can walk (with luggage) to the hotel from the last bus stop (Piazza Matteotti), it is much easier to get off at the preceding stop (Largo Properzio) and walk through the city gate directly to the hotel.

The room and bathroom were large and clean. There was WiFi and a TV, and the breakfast buffet was great. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We arrived after a long journey to be met by the night porter, a lovely friendly man who's lack of English was redeemed by his willingness and determination with the computer ! He went abo e and beyond when he checked our planned journey on our departure day, unbidden And showed concern that we hadn't allowed enough time .

The room was cleen, serviced daily and had enough space for us !

Breakfast was of a good standard, the location was excellent

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Binabery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

There's nothing to say about the location of Hotel Rome. It's placed in the very down town of Assisi, just opposite the Basilica of S. Chiara. The room was small for 4 people but since we were there for only one night it was not a big problem. Reception service & breakfast were regular.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porta Nuova
Hotel Porta Nuova
#8 of 71 in Assisi
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#4 of 71 in Assisi
451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#27 of 71 in Assisi
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Giotto Assisi
Hotel Giotto Assisi
#7 of 71 in Assisi
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#19 of 71 in Assisi
153 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Bellavista
Hotel Ristorante Bellavista
#13 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roma Hotel

Property: Roma Hotel
Address: Piazza Santa Chiara 13-15, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Assisi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Roma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Hotel Assisi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing