We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Assisi”
Review of Hotel Properzio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Properzio
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed four nights at this lovely hotel and we really enjoyed it. The location is very good, right beside the St. Francis Basilica, and close to all the sights of Assisi. The room was very clean, comfortable and nice, and each morning we woke up to a very good breakfast in the cozy breakfastarea. The staff are really friendly and helpfull and we felt so welcome there.Thank you!! We'll come back! Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vibeke_s13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiMuccino, Direttore at Hotel Properzio, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear Customer,
Thank you for being our guest and to have been able to give her our services.
I hope one day to have her again our guest.
thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

Up some rather steep steps from the road, quite a haul up with suitcases, no inside lift to the various floors so more hauling up interior stairs, handrail came away in my hand & I almost went over backwards...poor sound proofing, lot crashing and bashing going on in other rooms at night,

Broken wall lamp by bed, left hanging there with wires exposed, owner knew about it, shower wasn't the best, very small area and has a shower curtain that flaps around your legs...not good.shower curtains went out in the 60's I thought.

Breakfast ok, lots of cake stuff tho, need more savoury items and bacon & eggs wouldn't go amiss, coffee ok. A hotel ? not what I would call a hotel, no bar, reception not manned at night, just has rooms and a adequate breakfast, more of a B & B I believe. Clean & tidy I suppose but
No we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiMuccino, Direttore at Hotel Properzio, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Customer,
thank you for being our guest , I am sorry to note that you forgot to add that she booked into a small hotel , 2-star hotel is 50 meters from the Basilica of San Francesco at a truly fair, in the historic center of a medieval city where it is known that there are ups and downs and stairs,
the room was on the first floor where there were a few stairs to get there but it is also the characteristic of these small hotels . The lamp has broken in those days and if I remember I apologized because the electrician could not be at the hotel in the near future and the next day was a holiday , I ask you to apologize again even if the wires were not discovered but were made safe from me. If you want a breakfast with very salty and other services should perhaps book Hotel in higher classes it is certain that the price for a room can also be two times higher than that paid her ..... in addition to our breakfast pastries we : fruit salad, yogurt , 2 kinds of cake, croissants, bread, jams ham, boiled egg and salami and other sweets I'm sorry you did not make me his criticisms directly to me that I am the director .
The next time write his criticisms in relation to the hotel category that chooses the quality / price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Wonderfully located just few steps from St Francis basilica, this hotel is clean and simple offering good value for money and a good base for visiting Assisi. As in most of Umbria, hotel staff are very friendly and always ready to help with information and tips.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanuele F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Marvellous historic building with simple clean rooms on Via Francesco, a short walking distance to St. Francis' Basilica. The best end of town. At 75 euros a double this 2 star hotel was good value. Lucia served us breakfast & looked after us very nicely, thanks, Peter & Ananda Australia.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location in Assisi. We stayed in the family room which was a good size and spotlessly clean. The owner is a lovely lady and the breakfast was excellent. We would definitely recommend Hotel Properzio.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The hotel is on the main road to St Francis' Basilica at the bottom end of Assisi.Very well positioned. It is very clean and the water is hot and Roberta, the manager is very friendly.We had a very large comfortable bed on the bottom floor which isn't on ground level, as with every where in Assisi , you either go up steps or down on every street, as the town is built on a hill.Assisi is built on 2 levels; the top town, with St Francis's main Basilica at one end and then up hill, churches for St Clare, St Rufino,and many small churches to many saints up and down tiny side roads.Then there is the lower town ,in the valley, which has a basilica to Santa Maria de Angeles,which is beautiful and where St Francis decided to give his life to God, and also where he died, although his body is in the upper Basilica.One has to walk up and down steep cobbled roads to reach all areas of the top town of Assisi.Good cardio vascular work out but hard on the knees.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akelacookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The location is prominent; ~100m from the Basilica of St. Francis and is close to other main attractions in Assisi. The room is clean and standard. The landlady is nice and helpful. Breakfast is standard continental type. If you look for a cozy place to stay, this is a good choice. Nothing to complain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Assisi hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sorella Luna
Hotel Sorella Luna
#3 of 72 in Assisi
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#27 of 72 in Assisi
312 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel San Francesco
Hotel San Francesco
#23 of 72 in Assisi
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Pax
Hotel Pax
#16 of 72 in Assisi
180 reviews
2 mi away
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel
#7 of 23 in Santa Maria degli Angeli
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor Savoia
Hotel Windsor Savoia
#30 of 72 in Assisi
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Properzio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Properzio

Address: Via San Francesco 38, 06081, Assisi, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Assisi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 72 Hotels in Assisi
Price Range: £48 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Properzio 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Properzio is located in the historic center of Assisi just 50 meters from the Basilica of San Francesco. Completely renovated in March 2013. The Hotel Properzio is a small hotel, and offers its customers attention that only a small hotel can offer. The breakfast buffet is served in the ground floor. By car you can get in front of the hotel to stop your bags, then you will be shown the nearest parking and discounted. Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Properzio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing