We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with great food”
Review of Borgo di Carpiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo di Carpiano
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay with great food”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Our family came to Borgo di Carpiano to escape the busy cities of Rome and Florence. The couple that own the borgo, Marilissa and Riccardo, have done a great job in restoring the tiny town of Carpiano and making it a relaxing retreat for their guests. Our stay was perfect, the food was incredible, the rooms were comfortable, the view was to die for and the pool was fantastic to cool down in after a day of exploring Umbria. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend Borgo di Carpiano to any family or couples wanting to escape the touristy locations in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
186
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This place makes you go back in time! You MUST have a car, since it's quite a distance out of town, but it is a lovely, quiet place to stay. The buildings have been beautifully re-done (the lobby is an old church!), the owners are most hospitable and helpful, the food was excellent! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funky052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at Borgo di Carpiano for 7 nights!! It was truly a dream. Everything about it was just perfect. Our room had the best views, the bed was super comfortable with fine linens, very clean, wonderful service and all the people that worked there were delightful!! It felt like being home with a wonderful family! Ricardo and Marilisa are the perfects hosts!! We fell in love with them along with the amazing food, amazing service and amazing grounds. It was the most relaxing week i've had in so long. I canNOT wait to return. Ricardo also accommodated our gluten free needs and went out of his way to create the most delicious gluten free Italian food ever! I miss them!!!
They also made it so easy to get around on day trips anywhere we wanted to go and also suggested some things for us. We would go do a day trip and come home for dinner! ;)) In between our day trips we would stay at Borgo and just get lost in the beauty and serenity. I highly suggest everyone who wants to really experience Italy to go to Borgo di Carpiano!!

Room Tip: We asked Marilisa to pick one with a great view and she did! Just ask her.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuciaSantamassino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Oh Wow!! We too were staying at La Cuccagna (just down the very long and winding road) but were recommended to eat here by our hosts Sarah and Sal. My parents had been the evening before and although delighted did not want to spoil it for me. We arrived half an hour early and were escorted by Lisa to the Garden until our meal was ready. Ricardo brought us Processco and a bean and ricotta appetiser which was outstanding and really whetted the appetite. We were then taken to our table, served Parmesan baskets with watercress and goose carpaccio with a lemon and olive oil dressing - outstanding. A home made pasta course followed which was very tasty and then 50 hour vacuum packed pork with a prune and carrot sauce, accompanied with a lentil stuffed tomato and spinach - totally delicious!!!!! Dessert was creme brûlée!!! The ambience was fabulous and Ricardo and staff attended to very minute detail!! We can not rate this place highly enough and I only wish that we could move in permanently!!! An amazing, beautifully restored building with delicious food and amazing people!! Bravo!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
283 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were staying about ten minutes away at La Cuccagna (and quite happy there.) Our hosts highly recommended the restaurant at Borgo Carpiano and we could not have been more pleased with our visit and the meal. Ricardo, the host, welcomed us cordially and proudly showed us around his villa. Even a kitchen tour. Pre-dinner drinks are served in a restored former chapel. The dining room is spacious and comfortable with Ricardo presiding and attending to every detail. The meal (at least in April it was a prix fixe single menu) was spectacular. The best overall meal we had in Italy. The Borgo's home pressed olive oil was marvelous. Can't say anything about the rooms or the view as it was pitch dark in April but I can imagine the moutainside setting is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaddisGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Thanks to the fantastic reviews on Tripadvisor, we chose to stay at Borgo Di Carpiano during our trip to Europe in April. It was certainly the highlight of our time in Italy. The property is spectacular and Marilisa and Ricardo are the perfect hosts. Following Marilisa's very helpful directions, we turned onto the winding road from where we caught our first glimpse of the Borgo in the distance - perched above a beautiful Umbrian valley. On arrival we were shown to our spacious living quarters - sitting room, bedroom & generous bathroom - which had a magnificent view to the far hills. The restoration of the property is a 7 year labour of love and we enjoyed every minute of our 4 day stay there. Nothing was too much trouble - from drinks by the pool to touring recommendations (neighbouring hillside towns were beautiful). After our first magnificent meal at the Borgo, we decided to eat there every night. Each evening we were treated to aperitifs & canapes in the church followed by a wonderful four course meal in the dining room with a great range of wines. As the only English speaking couple there we were made very welcome, with Ricardo & Marilisa translating for us during the animated dinner conversation with other guests. If you're looking for a relaxing holiday in wonderful surrounds and you enjoy great food and special service - book now! A big thank you to Marilisa, Ricardo & staff. We look forward to coming back with our Australian friends. Regards
Helen & Barry

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We recently returned from a fabulous trip to Italy which included a 4 night stay at Borgo di Carpiano. Just finding the place was an adventure. The views and vistas riding up the winding hilltop was spectacular and then traveling down a long stone road into a valley as beautiful as a picture which landed us in front of a 10th century monastery we knew we had arrived. Our stone cottage with a large storybook key, lead us into a large beautiful room mixed with art and antiques, a large sitting room, spacious batrhroom with all the luxuries and a beautiful outdoor terrace with comfortable furniture, lanterns and a view to die for. Marilisa and Ricardo were the perfect hosts and in their 7 years it took them to restore their home, everything was done to the finest with much attention to details. We enjoyed sitting on the outdoor patio, swimming in the infinity pool and hiking around the grounds. Each evening we joined other guests for a spectacular gourmet meal. Not only was it delicious, but the presentation was beautiful. The Borgo is one of the best kept secrets. Thank you so much Marilisa and Ricardo!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pleasureseekerUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
2.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
532 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
11.1 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#3 of 71 in Assisi
490 reviews
22.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo di Carpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Carpiano

Property: Borgo di Carpiano
Address: Localita' Carpiano, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient castle of Carpiano is among the hidden treasures of beautiful Umbria. This small hamlet is located at only 12 Km from the medieval town of Gubbio and 22 km from Perugia. In this pleasant place simplicity, elegance and warmth of genuine hospitality are ideally combined. The Borgo is surrounded by secular olive trees and lush woods in a pristine valley crossed by the Ventia stream. The three stone buildings that comprise it are perched on a spur of rock that ends with an infinity pool of salt water overlooking the valley. In the main building, the old church has been restored keeping the original frescoes and has been now converted into library and conversation room hosting classical music concerts and events. During the winter months meals are served in the large dining room in front of the warmth of the old fireplace while in the summer are served in the small square with breathtaking view over the valley.Home made bread, cakes and biscuits, vegetables from the vegetable garden and a search of quality ingredients, all strictly "seasoned with our own olive oil" ....The Borgo has only eight rooms all renovated respecting the original architecture and materials of the time. Get lost in the woods, plan to do very little, get accustomed to the silence are recommended activities!Borgo di Carpiano is also an ideal setting for an exclusive place to celebrate with your friends a special occasion. In house wine, cheese and olive oil tasting, cooking classes, therapeutic treatments and relaxing massages can be arranged. Horse riding, golf, rafting can be found in the nearby surroundings. The Borgo is in a strategic position to visit all the major Umbrian towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Borgo di Carpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Carpiano Hotel Gubbio
Borgo Di Carpiano Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing