We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of paradise at the top of Umbria”
Review of Borgo di Carpiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo di Carpiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We just returned from a 2 week vacation in Italy and we are still talking about the incredible food and hospitality we received at the Borgo. Though the drive there is a challenge (and breathtaking the whole way) the destination is worth it. Deep in the Umbrian hills, Ricardo and Marilisa have lovingly restored a centuries-old property to a perfect combination of character, history and modern comforts. Each evening begins with drinks and an appertivo in the comfortably restored nave of the old church. We then proceeded to the dining room, where we enjoyed a four course dinner that exceeded anything else we had on our trip. The food was a delight to the eye and palette and you could tell that Ricardo took much pride in literally everything that came out of his kitchen. While the food and dining room were exquisite, the atmosphere was never stuffy, and there were plenty of opportunities to enjoy the company of the other guests. My parents stayed in a cottage room with a private patio that had all the comforts you'd expect. I enjoyed the unique bell tower room, that sits below the old church bells and is an astounding use of space - cozy, creative and the most memorable and fun room I've ever stayed in. Ricardo and Marilisa are the perfect hosts and have hired an incredibly friendly and competent waitstaff, especially Elisa, who served us two of the days we were there. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Borgo. Be sure to plan to have at least 3 nights there, as it's quite a trek to get there. And it's worth taking at least one day to totally unwind, and enjoy the simple pleasures of the house, the owners, the staff and the grounds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for Borgo di Carpiano
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Other guests may have found this awesome. While very good it is not worthy of 5 across the board. Give credit to the restaurant which can compare to the best. The rooms and service need a bit of shaping up. Evening turn down did not include fresh towels. Small items of personal touch missing through out the stay. Suggest more personal lighting in the common areas. The Internet access is superior. You might find some minor annoyance in the toiletries. Minimal is the best description. At these rates, they could do better.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chaucer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Perfection in every way. Attentive staff, to-die-for meals, panoramic views of hills beginning to break out in full blossom, joyful guests who return every year to share the Borgo with owners Riccardo and Marilisa. Needless to say, I'm booking my second trip for the year 2014.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This place was recommended to us by a friend. The first time we stayed there was for our first anniversary and then again few months ago. The weather was still nice (late September) so we could enjoy the swimming pool. It's a fantastic place with great food and wine selection, very professional staff and amazing hosts! Make sure you have dinner there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

WOW, what a beautiful place to stay!!! Once you actually get there (the road will make you want a strong drink) it is such a calm and wonderful place to stay. Perfectly clean, immaculately restored, this is the place to use as a base to see the area .... or just stay there and use the pool, soak in the view and get a massage. And eat there, the food and service is better then any other place around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our stay at the Borgo was nothing less than heaven! The owners, the cats Louis and Armstrong and their servants, Riccardo and Marilisa, made us feel like family from the first second. Moreover the food was beyond good, an absolute must for every traveller to this part of Italy.

We have read a review that it would not be possible to reach the Borgo with any other car than a 4x4. However, the attached picture of our stay proves this review wrong (although it was a bit of a challenge to get this Italian beauty there...).

See you next year!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We travelled with friends to this Borgo set in the Umbrian hills and to revisit our hosts Riccardo and Marilisa who are not only delightful but two of the most professional hoteliers that you could wish to meet on vacation.The infinity pool overlooked a beautiful Umbrian valley and a welcome massage was given free upon arrival. Each evening freshly prepared food of the highest quality was served at a bargain price of 35 euros accompanied by local wines at reasonable prices.The towns of Assisi and Gubbio are both within half an hours car ride down country roads with marvellous vistas at each bend.
It is the perfect place to relax and my wife and I will make a return visit in the short term.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
2.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
547 reviews
11.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
842 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
22.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
485 reviews
14.3 mi away
Le Silve di Armenzano di Assisi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo di Carpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Carpiano

Address: Localita' Carpiano, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range: £122 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient castle of Carpiano is among the hidden treasures of beautiful Umbria. This small hamlet is located at only 12 Km from the medieval town of Gubbio and 22 km from Perugia. In this pleasant place simplicity, elegance and warmth of genuine hospitality are ideally combined. The Borgo is surrounded by secular olive trees and lush woods in a pristine valley crossed by the Ventia stream. The three stone buildings that comprise it are perched on a spur of rock that ends with an infinity pool of salt water overlooking the valley. In the main building, the old church has been restored keeping the original frescoes and has been now converted into library and conversation room hosting classical music concerts and events. During the winter months meals are served in the large dining room in front of the warmth of the old fireplace while in the summer are served in the small square with breathtaking view over the valley.Home made bread, cakes and biscuits, vegetables from the vegetable garden and a search of quality ingredients, all strictly "seasoned with our own olive oil" ....The Borgo has only eight rooms all renovated respecting the original architecture and materials of the time. Get lost in the woods, plan to do very little, get accustomed to the silence are recommended activities!Borgo di Carpiano is also an ideal setting for an exclusive place to celebrate with your friends a special occasion. In house wine, cheese and olive oil tasting, cooking classes, therapeutic treatments and relaxing massages can be arranged. Horse riding, golf, rafting can be found in the nearby surroundings. The Borgo is in a strategic position to visit all the major Umbrian towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Borgo di Carpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Carpiano Hotel Gubbio
Borgo Di Carpiano Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing