We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Familiarity breeds contentment”
Review of Borgo di Carpiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Borgo di Carpiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Having hit gold last year and I am delighted to report that nothing has changed to alloy our enjoyment of this hallowed destination upon return. This wonderful retreat sets the standard for personal service and atmosphere where one can join the Chef in the kitchen while he preps the evening meal, exercise in a group session by the pool or just chill out on the terrace waiting for a light lunch.
One can visit Perugia, Lake Trasimeno or the wonderful hilltop village of Panicale before scurrying back to the Borgo to rejoin one's fellow guests who, like you, know that this place is indeed unique!

Room Tip: Caution if booking the lower half of the garden suite if guests are in residence above. The sound ef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdTheLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

During this last trip to Italy, my wife and I found a truly extraordinary hideaway in the hills of Umbria, Borgo di Carpiano, which we want to pass on to our friends and guests in Rome. The Borgo is owned and operated by the lovely Riccardo and Marilisa Parisi, who have many years of experience managing luxury resorts in the Caribbean and elsewhere in Italy, before opening the Borgo. The Borgo has only 10 individually appointed luxury rooms [many with individual terraces] in what was once a country church. A beautiful infinity pool overlooks the lush forests of Umbria. The food is truly amazing: even the breakfasts are unusual repasts [see attached]. If you want to visit the Renaissance sites of Umbria [Assisi, Perugia, Gubbio, Urbino] this is a peaceful and unusual escape to use as a base. www.borgodicarpiano.com. Exceptional quality at very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the most beautiful property, the most comfortable beds, the most wonderful food, and the nicest staff! We stayed four nights and could have stayed ten. We had breakfast and dinner every day, one of them being Easter Sunday -all were magnificent, but the Easter brunch was a standout! They pay special attention to every detail, and will make any changes to their menu so that you will enjoy your meals. It is located outside Gubbio far enough that you really can't go into town for dinner, but after your first dinner, you won't want to anyway. The rooms are large, the bathrooms are large, and the pool is gorgeous - we weren't able to use it only because it was so cool, but we will plan our trip next time so that we can - we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and had the room shown on their brochure - it was great - large room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

A place off the beaten track at 15km from Perugia. This small16th century hamlet in the Umbrian hills has been converted into a small holiday resort, to relax, away from any noise but the birds' song. The ancient church converted into hotel lobby and restaurant is impressive! Amazing local food is served. I warmly recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is our favorite place. We keep returning again and again for the charming atmosphere and the fantastic food.
We simply love Marilisa and Ricardo, the dogs (harmony remenbers us!!), the cats and the staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Family-Kierkegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I have been at Borgo di Carpiano and it has been a magic experience from the first until the last second of our stay.

Marilisa and Riccardo are the best hosts I ever met and made me feel at home.

Let me start from the place: Borgo di Carpiano ia an ancient "pieve" that has been restructured by Riccardo to become a small luxury hotel. Particular attention has been devoted to keep the original style and flavor. Moreover, the attention to details is absolutely amazing.

The atmosphere is great. You feel at home, far from the every-day stress, noise and pollution you can experience some days of pure relax, by walking in the countryside or relaxing by the pool or having a great massage!!!

Last but surely not least, the food is wonderful. Riccardo is a very experienced chef and a true lover of natural ingredients and traditional recipes that he reinvents every day for his clients.

All the above for a more than reasonable price.

I strongly recommend the Borgo di Carpiano for whoever is looking for relax, great nature and good company.

Room Tip: Room with private gardens are top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChiquitaRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

During our recent trip to Italy, we stayed in some wonderful places and made sure we wrote a review for the places we stayed in Florence and Polignano. Regarding Borgo di Carpiano, I am trying to think of something to say that has not already been said. This may be difficult because this was one of the most memorable stays we have ever had in the many years we have travelled to Europe. When we travel, we put together our own trip and look for unique places, not medium or large chain hotels, because we want to experience the culture. Marilisa and Riccardo provide an experience that not only allows you to soak in the culture but they make you part of their family.

We had the pleasure of staying at Borgo during the same time that Barton and his friends stayed and what he wrote is exactly correct. Our stay started with Riccardo taking our luggage to our room located in a beautifully renovated building separate from the main building and with a stunning view of the surrounding hills. He explained everything about the room, including the fact that the floor was heated. We then had our welcome aperitif on the patio overlooking the olive groves and watching the hummingbirds in the flower garden.

The meals were unforgettable - from the perspective of the setting in the dining room with the working fireplace along with the view of the surrounding hills, to the meals and their presentation which is something you experience in a 5 star restaurant, to the attentiveness and professionalism of the house staff. The meals were expertly prepared and explained on presentation. The last night we were there, the chef was asked to make an appearance so all of us could express our appreciation to him.

We also took advantage of the opportunity to have a massage in this setting. The therapist did a wonderful job and the location was perfect. The building was on the edge of the woods and one wall was glass to allow the surrounding environment to be part of the massage. One especially nice touch - no music. You relaxed and listened to nature. One other note, while waiting for my massage, I was sitting on the patio and was joined by one of the cats who occupied my time prior to the massage by sitting on my lap and allowing me to pet him.

With all this said, the best part of the stay was that Marilisa and Riccardo made us feel as we were part of their family. We sat with Marilisa in the main room and in the dining room, just talking about different things, like we had known each other for years. Our last day, Riccardo tried to make arrangements for us to return our car to Perugia rather than Florence but wasn't able to. Riccardo, we very much appreciated this. The "happy hour" that Barton refers to is something that makes Borgo special. Everyone staying at Borgo gets together about an hour before dinner for drinks and within a few minutes, everyone has introduced themselves on their own to the other visitors, getting to know each other. We had the pleasure of meeting Peter and Carole and have continued the friendship after the Borgo. This is because of Marilisa and Riccardo.

When we were returning to the States, we put together the ideal trip to Italy, the places that have been most memorable to us over the years. Borgo di Carpiano is on that itinerary. Thank you Marilisa and Riccardo for everything. We treasure our personalized bottle of olive oil.

Room Tip: We stayed in the building opposite the parking, on the first floor. It was wonderful and had a perg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
2.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
566 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Agriturismo Borgo San Benedetto
14.2 mi away
Agriturismo Foglie
Agriturismo Foglie
#7 of 79 in Gubbio
175 reviews
7.7 mi away
Agriturismo Le Casacce
Agriturismo Le Casacce
#4 of 79 in Gubbio
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo di Carpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Carpiano

Address: Localita' Carpiano, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range: £115 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient castle of Carpiano is among the hidden treasures of beautiful Umbria. This small hamlet is located at only 12 Km from the medieval town of Gubbio and 22 km from Perugia. In this pleasant place simplicity, elegance and warmth of genuine hospitality are ideally combined. The Borgo is surrounded by secular olive trees and lush woods in a pristine valley crossed by the Ventia stream. The three stone buildings that comprise it are perched on a spur of rock that ends with an infinity pool of salt water overlooking the valley. In the main building, the old church has been restored keeping the original frescoes and has been now converted into library and conversation room hosting classical music concerts and events. During the winter months meals are served in the large dining room in front of the warmth of the old fireplace while in the summer are served in the small square with breathtaking view over the valley.Home made bread, cakes and biscuits, vegetables from the vegetable garden and a search of quality ingredients, all strictly "seasoned with our own olive oil" ....The Borgo has only eight rooms all renovated respecting the original architecture and materials of the time. Get lost in the woods, plan to do very little, get accustomed to the silence are recommended activities!Borgo di Carpiano is also an ideal setting for an exclusive place to celebrate with your friends a special occasion. In house wine, cheese and olive oil tasting, cooking classes, therapeutic treatments and relaxing massages can be arranged. Horse riding, golf, rafting can be found in the nearby surroundings. The Borgo is in a strategic position to visit all the major Umbrian towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Borgo di Carpiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Carpiano Hotel Gubbio
Borgo Di Carpiano Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing