We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finding paradise on earth”
Review of Borgo di Carpiano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Borgo di Carpiano
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Finding paradise on earth”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Its nickname is the UNPLUG hotel because this is where you discover peace, serenity. A unique total escape from the world's busy-ness. Fabulous food wondrous wines and quiet solitude. The owners built a beautiful boutique hotel from a pile of stones from crumbled down church. Its one of a kind with pool, jacuzzi, vegetable garden . Want to escape the crazy world and relax then this is #1 place to do it.

Room Tip: All renovated rooms- only 9 of them so all are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
185
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Torino, Italia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

This was our fourth stay with Marilisa and Riccardo, this time making the journey from Michigan. For Borgo di Carpiano it was definetly worth the trip. Beautiful, relaxing with wonderful hosts. In lovely Umbria nestles this renovated property with rooms in the main house and several seperate fully serviced cottages. Infinity pool with views of the hillsides, relaxation area with a very gifted massage therapist, pretty outside seating for meals and the incomparable cuisine of Riccardo.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slpitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A Medieval hamlet in the middle of nowhere, with exquisitely breathtaking views and comfortable, quality peaceful accommodation. Every night we had drinks an appetizers in the 16th century chapel, converted into a living room, chatting with other travelers from all over the world. Marilisa and Ricardo took care of all details, counseling us on important sites and villages to visit. . So many... so little time...
Gastronomic breakfast and supper, served daily, with Ricardo orchestrating proceedings. Rarely will you find meals of such quality and authenticity. Ingredients sourced locally, expertly prepared and served.

Out of so many countries and situations visited world wide, I honestly have to say that this has been one of the most memorable. A glorious 4 days in Umbria, not nearly enough.

Room Tip: All room are located in small cottages and all have beautiful view with fields and rolling hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsoklis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Borgo was truly one of the most spectacularly beautiful places we have stayed. My husband and I traveled in late May and spent six memorable nights at this amazing B&B (a 16th century chapel) that was lovingly and painstakingly restored by Marilisa and Ricardo. Ricardo, Marilisa and the entire staff of the Borgo are beyond hospitable. They truly seem to love what they are doing and convey that to their guests in every way. The food is DELICIOUS - every meal is a wonderful adventure. The setting is so peaceful - be sure to visit the Relaxation Space for a memorable massage and the infinity pool for a leisurely afternoon. Although the Borgo is fairly remote (you definitely need a car) you are within easy driving distance to the fascinating towns in the area: Gubbio, Urbino, Assisi to name a few. Stay as long as you can at the Borgo --- you won't regret it!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Try to take the whole place with friends. There is nothing to add to the other reviews. Riccardo and Marilisa are true masters of their craft. Our annual visits are highlights of the year. Somehow they always beat expectations. Daniele is really coming into his own as a chef, their garden now more varied. Elisa and Emmanuela always there.

Room Tip: each room is different and good. Best views from rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galliardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

There are not enough words to describe the truly special nature of the Borgo. Riccardo and Marilisa are the proprietors who have painstakingly restored the beautiful chapel--which is clearly a labor of love. Their taste is exquisite but more importantly, the environment they have created for their guests is magical. You will fall in love with this place and the amazing staff instantly.

Our "room" was basically a lovely cottage which had it's own lounge area in the front. As I said, Marilisa's design and decor taste is divine. The room was perfect, private, comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The photos of the website don't do this place justice. The pool overlooking the hills of Gubbio is divine. They also have a beautiful little zen spa that is tucked away in the side of the hill with unbelievably reasonable rates. We got massage treatments two days in a row with Stefania, who was fantastic and sweet!

The food at the restaurant rivals some of the best restaurants in Italy--REALLY! All the vegetables are directly from their organic garden right on the property. It was so delicious that we had no desire to eat anywhere else for dinner (or lunch or breakfast for that matter). Dinner is a pre-fixe menu with the highest quality ingredients. Even their house wines were absolutely incredible! Make sure to book a reservation for dinner--every night if you can! (As a side note, the breakfast croissants are some of the best I've ever had--and I've been visiting Paris since a teenager.)

It is no surprise that we met some wonderful guests who we hope to see again. It's only natural that such a special place attracts sweet, warm people. And last but certainly not least, Marilisa and Riccardo have two rescue dogs, Lucky and Harmony, who will melt your heart! They are truly the luckiest dogs in the world. Eliza, Manuela, Chef Danieli and the rest of the staff, we can't wait to see you again!

Our only regret is that we did not stay longer! The Borgo is one of the most magical places on earth, full of warmth and love! Riccardo and Marilisa are the most generous and loving people you will ever meet! You won't want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DP234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

You can find bits that might be done better (but not much)
but you really need to understand the ethos of love and care that
makes the Borgo a one off special place.
Ricardo as front man wants to make your stay a great one.
This isn't a job as much a dedication.
Marilisa does a lot of unseen background work and this ensures smooth running in a mountain retreat.
The chef Danieli and team that serve the food which is of the highest quality
is backed up with a wine list that is good value with quality at whatever level you want to spend.
You can have the best in a setting perched in a hidden valley using the pool or
massage or just chilling.
Add 2 days on to any planned stay just to soften the blow of leaving !!

Room Tip: Individuality is the key here. Some rooms have terraces. But rooms in the main Borgo are as good i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
2.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
7.9 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11.0 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
13.2 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
11.1 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#4 of 71 in Assisi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo di Carpiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo di Carpiano

Property: Borgo di Carpiano
Address: Localita' Carpiano, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ancient castle of Carpiano is among the hidden treasures of beautiful Umbria. This small hamlet is located at only 12 Km from the medieval town of Gubbio and 22 km from Perugia. In this pleasant place simplicity, elegance and warmth of genuine hospitality are ideally combined. The Borgo is surrounded by secular olive trees and lush woods in a pristine valley crossed by the Ventia stream. The three stone buildings that comprise it are perched on a spur of rock that ends with an infinity pool of salt water overlooking the valley. In the main building, the old church has been restored keeping the original frescoes and has been now converted into library and conversation room hosting classical music concerts and events. During the winter months meals are served in the large dining room in front of the warmth of the old fireplace while in the summer are served in the small square with breathtaking view over the valley.Home made bread, cakes and biscuits, vegetables from the vegetable garden and a search of quality ingredients, all strictly "seasoned with our own olive oil" ....The Borgo has only eight rooms all renovated respecting the original architecture and materials of the time. Get lost in the woods, plan to do very little, get accustomed to the silence are recommended activities!Borgo di Carpiano is also an ideal setting for an exclusive place to celebrate with your friends a special occasion. In house wine, cheese and olive oil tasting, cooking classes, therapeutic treatments and relaxing massages can be arranged. Horse riding, golf, rafting can be found in the nearby surroundings. The Borgo is in a strategic position to visit all the major Umbrian towns. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borgo Di Carpiano Hotel Gubbio
Borgo Di Carpiano Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing