We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven in Umbria”
Review of Bellaugello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellaugello
Ranked #9 of 36 Gubbio B&B and Inns
London UK
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Heaven in Umbria”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just had 8 days in heaven, courtesy of our wonderful host Alec. Bellaugello feels very remote, but is only a short drive on one of Umbria's famous (and very bumpy) 'white roads' from the main Perugia-Gubbio road. It is perched on the edge of a huge valley, with amazing views to the river, the hills and the mountains beyond. There are only 5 rooms and this feels more like visiting an old friend's summer retreat. Alec makes you feel right at home and appears to have all the time in the world to help and advise you, yet somehow everything runs like clockwork: the place is like a dream, a labour of love that apparently took 3 years to develop as a perfect oasis. If you prefer peace and quiet he's also very happy to leave you on your own. The gardens are immaculate. IN May when we visited everything was green and fresh after a rather wet spring - but in bright clear sunshine by the time we arrived. The breakfasts are generous and several nights a week he prepares dinner if you want it - a great time we had chatting to the other guests. Alec subscribes to Italys slow food movement and the produce is local (or even from his own garden) with home made bread, jams etc - and cordon bleu standards.
We stayed in the Giardino Suite, which is split level with a very private terrace, a large well equipped kitchen (which suited us as we cooked on the nights that Alec didn't) and a huge four poster bed with panoramic views across the valley. I will always remember waking up one morning and thinking we had been thansported to the sea side. The valley below was entirely filled with mist, while up top everything was perfectly clear and sunny.
Top marks to Alec and his assistants. Paul just started while we were there and made a very good impression.
This is a place to really get away from it all. There are great places to visit nearby (ancient towns and beautiful countryside walks) but we were inclined just to relax by the pool, or on our terrace, with a bottle from Alec's excellent organic wine selection, and watch the light change hour by hour.

Room Tip: They all have their qualities Alec gave us a tour - Giardino maybe best if you want a secluded terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
71
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were told about Bellaugello by two friends who'd just come back and, now that we're back ourselves, we've just thanked them profusely for their recommendation. Rambling Robert says it all, but the place really is a gem - the view, the building, the garden, the seclusion, the comfort, the pool, the food and the hospitality. All thanks to the perfect host, Alec. We loved every minute of it. It's almost a pity that Umbria has so much to offer to drag you away from the place; we'd happily have spent the whole week lolling around. Our Friday supper there was the best meal we had anywhere in Umbria - and Monica's deep-fried courgette flowers are the best we've had anywhere! Any gripes? The slightly hair-raising approach-road... and the fact that we couldn't stay longer. It's beautiful. If you're anything like us, you'll love it.

Room Tip: We were more than happy in the Specchio suite, though maybe the Diva and the Giardino have better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatientEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, cozy, clean and comfortable apartment, a warm host, delicious food. Perfect for a leasurly relaxing holiday with some nice day trip options and country walks. Stunning pool but i will have to return in a warmer season to enjoy it fully! A lovely garden surrounds the apartments and there is a magic view over the umbrian hills. Thank you for another brilliant holiday! I'll be back in spring or summer ;-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barhythmically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you like a great holiday, it is an excellent location!

Bellaugello did meet all our expectations.

We stayed 8 nights (5 in Azzurro Suite + 3 in Specchio Suite).

Both rooms are great, but the preference depends really of your needs. Although Specchio is better equipped with separate dining room, we preferred Azzurro, since we don’t want to do any cooking during our holiday.

The rooms are nice, cosy & clean, nice bathroom, equipped with a fridge and a equipped kitchenette, dvd-player... A plus-point is that each room gets a daily cleaning and the beds are made.

The garden is huge and is well maintained.

The pool is the most beautiful we have ever seen, the infinity gives you the impressions of swimming in the clouds. The sun beds are comfortable.

A wide variety of drinks can be bought, and a couple of times a week you can have dinner if you want. The other days we had lunch at Il Panaro, about 10min driving with great food at great prices (we had 2 apero + antipasto + 2 pastas + ½ l red wine + 1 l San Peligrino + 2 coffees for 30€) Il Panaro also sells bread / charcutterie and wine to take away.

The host at Bellaugello is Jennie. She is a lovely dog and really looks well after you. In her shade you can find Alec, a lovely guy with great humor and who is a real host. He is there when you need him, helps with all kind of excursion-info and gives you further all privacy you need.

Last but not least, the area around Bellaugello is great to make walks. Alec has made a fantastic map, of which you find now the original in the MoMA in NY. You can make beautiful walks between 30min and 4h.
Bellaugello is well situated to make trips to discover Umbria (Assisi, Perugia, ...)

To get there we flew into Rome and reached Bellaugello after 2h30min (why spend a holiday in a nice luxury guesthouse and the fly low-cost, so we chose for Rome and flew in style)

Erik & Patrick

Room Tip: Don't be scared for the driving, although a first arrival during daylight makes it easier, or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erik_coremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After making a living as a writer for more years than I care to admit, words now fail me. How can I adequately convey all the qualities of Bellaugello -- the spectacular setting, the plush accommodations, the breathtaking views, the delicious food, our knowledgeable and friendly host Alec -- that made my visit there so wonderful and memorable? I traveled with two close friends, and we had many opportunities to hang together at Bellaugello and enjoy the place and each other's company. But when I wanted to relax with a book, I could curl up in the plush easy chair in my room and alternate between reading and gazing out over the mountains and valleys surrounding Bellaugello. My best friend and I even jumped in the pool, tho Alec our host thought we were nuts. But when I see a stunning infinity pool glistening in the sun and overlooking the lush Italian countryside, I'm going in! If you want a very special place to visit in Italy that at times feels like your own private villa, the only choice is Bellaugello!

Room Tip: In booking my room, I foolishly requested a room "with a view." The entire resort comes wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RamblingRobert3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Just got back from four nights her and just wish we have booked more nights! This place is perfect. At the end of a long lane you turn into the perfect grounds. The house if in a amazing location and Alec really has created something fantastically special. Beautiful, Lavender and fantastic lawns, Fig trees where I picked my own dinner. Then the wonderful infinity pool. Such a relaxing place.

The accommodation is of a really high standard. I saw two of the rooms and both were amazing, fantastic bathrooms, great beds and then living space to sit and relax. The rest of house is beautifully decorated. Honestly cannot believe how lucky we were to stay here.

Then there was he food. Home made bread, freshly cooked at breakfast. Then there is the home made jams to accompany it. We had two dinners when we were there - some of the best food we ate in Italy! Alec and Monica served up amazing meals, with local ingredients, puddings to die for.

The area is great - rural and beautiful. If you have time then spend a day in the nation park and go up Mount Cucco, a great walk, with some amazing views. Gubbio is well worth visiting and walking round.

I really cannot recommend this place more highly, it's perfectly relaxing, beautifully presented in every way, with an attention to detail that I not seen matched. Alec and his team work hard to ensure that you have a fantastic welcoming stay. Thanks for sharing your home with us Alec.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MiddlemLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent 4 nights in September at Belaugello. The location is stunning, amazing views in the quiet of the countryside. The infinity pool needs to be seen to be believed, and the accommodation is luxurious. Alec is a great host and will keep you entertained with stories or leave you be. It is useful to have a car bot the get to the guesthouse and for trips out to some of the beautiful Umbrian towns and villages around. It's a great location for your visit to Umbria.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBruceA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
2.5 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
538 reviews
13.9 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
821 reviews
6.6 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 36 in Gubbio
302 reviews
10.5 mi away
Nikis Resort
Nikis Resort
#13 of 36 in Gubbio
57 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coldimolino Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellaugello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellaugello

Property: Bellaugello
Address: Frazione Valdichiascio, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focused at the Gay Community, Bellaugello is a home where diversity and respect are valued. A warm and relaxing oasis between Rome and Florence and Rimini. The main house, recently restored offers individual luxury suites each with comfortable double bed, kitchen corner, sumptuous bathroom and outside a private terrace.Breakfast is served daily, Dinner with guests seated together is served three nights a week at our antique family table or on the terrace under the stars. In the large fragrant gardens, a 15 x 5m infinity salt treated clothing optional swimming pool. In cooler months we operate a wood fired Finnish sauna. Bellaugello is gay owned and managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellaugello Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing