We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“100% excellence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellaugello

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bellaugello
Ranked #8 of 39 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“100% excellence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Bellaugello is one of the best gay guesthouses we stayed in. A beautiful accommodation in a fantastic scenery. Alec and his team understand what visitors like and request being on a holiday. The dinners/BBQ were definitely highlights during our stay. Excellent food and presentation. The accommodation is clean and the property is well looked after. Do keep in mind that Bellaugello is in a secluded area. All in one... we booked for next year and that covers it all. A top gay destination.

Room Tip: We loved DUCA room for the atmosphere and for being cool in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterDelft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
68
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We enjoyed 4 days here for R &R during a very busy trip to Italy - Venice, Rome and a family Wedding. Can only give the highest recommendation to Bellaugello. Alec is the perfect host from pre arrival suggestions as to Car Hire, Taxis, travel directions, Supermarkets etc. to local information when you are there. The property is rural but within easy reach of Assisi, Gubbio and Perugia and can only be described as a retreat from the stresses of life. 5 suites / apartments with wonderful gardens and a large infinity pool with fabulous views to the valley below. Quite amazing to be in the pool looking down the valley and seeing a light aircraft (local Alitalia pilot on his way to work) flying below you.
The apartments are well equipped if you are wishing to cater for yourself and have good Wi-Fi reception. Alec provides dinner some nights which is a real treat. Sitting with other guests enjoying good food, good wine and good company – the fireflies are a real bonus as are the bats. Alec has two dogs who potter around and greet you on arrival from your travels which is a real treat.
Assisi is great but would suggest you visit early am or late pm as it gets very busy – you will see the bus / coach park on departure it is a sight to behold! Parking (paid) is readily available outside the city walls and we parked behind the town walking down to just behind the Basilica of St Francis. We preferred Gubbio as it was more of a working town than Assisi. Strange to be in Gubbio, in the Coop and to be asked for you Coop (Divvy) card!
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: All rooms have their individual charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2-guys-glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Bellaugello 2 years ago. The experience was so memorable that we were very keen to return and this was possible in June 2014. I can honestly say that we enjoyed our recent stay just as much as the one in 2012. The location is really exquisite and Alec is the most helpful and charming of hosts. I can only agree with the positive comments of recent reviewers. Having explored the area before we were content to lie by the pool and do some walking in the immediate area but Gubbio and Perugia are easily visited. It is essential to have a car, however. I have absolutely no complaints and hope to have the opportunity of returning for a third time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revitalise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just had 8 days in heaven, courtesy of our wonderful host Alec. Bellaugello feels very remote, but is only a short drive on one of Umbria's famous (and very bumpy) 'white roads' from the main Perugia-Gubbio road. It is perched on the edge of a huge valley, with amazing views to the river, the hills and the mountains beyond. There are only 5 rooms and this feels more like visiting an old friend's summer retreat. Alec makes you feel right at home and appears to have all the time in the world to help and advise you, yet somehow everything runs like clockwork: the place is like a dream, a labour of love that apparently took 3 years to develop as a perfect oasis. If you prefer peace and quiet he's also very happy to leave you on your own. The gardens are immaculate. IN May when we visited everything was green and fresh after a rather wet spring - but in bright clear sunshine by the time we arrived. The breakfasts are generous and several nights a week he prepares dinner if you want it - a great time we had chatting to the other guests. Alec subscribes to Italys slow food movement and the produce is local (or even from his own garden) with home made bread, jams etc - and cordon bleu standards.
We stayed in the Giardino Suite, which is split level with a very private terrace, a large well equipped kitchen (which suited us as we cooked on the nights that Alec didn't) and a huge four poster bed with panoramic views across the valley. I will always remember waking up one morning and thinking we had been thansported to the sea side. The valley below was entirely filled with mist, while up top everything was perfectly clear and sunny.
Top marks to Alec and his assistants. Paul just started while we were there and made a very good impression.
This is a place to really get away from it all. There are great places to visit nearby (ancient towns and beautiful countryside walks) but we were inclined just to relax by the pool, or on our terrace, with a bottle from Alec's excellent organic wine selection, and watch the light change hour by hour.

Room Tip: They all have their qualities Alec gave us a tour - Giardino maybe best if you want a secluded terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keithuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were told about Bellaugello by two friends who'd just come back and, now that we're back ourselves, we've just thanked them profusely for their recommendation. Rambling Robert says it all, but the place really is a gem - the view, the building, the garden, the seclusion, the comfort, the pool, the food and the hospitality. All thanks to the perfect host, Alec. We loved every minute of it. It's almost a pity that Umbria has so much to offer to drag you away from the place; we'd happily have spent the whole week lolling around. Our Friday supper there was the best meal we had anywhere in Umbria - and Monica's deep-fried courgette flowers are the best we've had anywhere! Any gripes? The slightly hair-raising approach-road... and the fact that we couldn't stay longer. It's beautiful. If you're anything like us, you'll love it.

Room Tip: We were more than happy in the Specchio suite, though maybe the Diva and the Giardino have better vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePatientEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, cozy, clean and comfortable apartment, a warm host, delicious food. Perfect for a leasurly relaxing holiday with some nice day trip options and country walks. Stunning pool but i will have to return in a warmer season to enjoy it fully! A lovely garden surrounds the apartments and there is a magic view over the umbrian hills. Thank you for another brilliant holiday! I'll be back in spring or summer ;-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank barhythmically
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

If you like a great holiday, it is an excellent location!

Bellaugello did meet all our expectations.

We stayed 8 nights (5 in Azzurro Suite + 3 in Specchio Suite).

Both rooms are great, but the preference depends really of your needs. Although Specchio is better equipped with separate dining room, we preferred Azzurro, since we don’t want to do any cooking during our holiday.

The rooms are nice, cosy & clean, nice bathroom, equipped with a fridge and a equipped kitchenette, dvd-player... A plus-point is that each room gets a daily cleaning and the beds are made.

The garden is huge and is well maintained.

The pool is the most beautiful we have ever seen, the infinity gives you the impressions of swimming in the clouds. The sun beds are comfortable.

A wide variety of drinks can be bought, and a couple of times a week you can have dinner if you want. The other days we had lunch at Il Panaro, about 10min driving with great food at great prices (we had 2 apero + antipasto + 2 pastas + ½ l red wine + 1 l San Peligrino + 2 coffees for 30€) Il Panaro also sells bread / charcutterie and wine to take away.

The host at Bellaugello is Jennie. She is a lovely dog and really looks well after you. In her shade you can find Alec, a lovely guy with great humor and who is a real host. He is there when you need him, helps with all kind of excursion-info and gives you further all privacy you need.

Last but not least, the area around Bellaugello is great to make walks. Alec has made a fantastic map, of which you find now the original in the MoMA in NY. You can make beautiful walks between 30min and 4h.
Bellaugello is well situated to make trips to discover Umbria (Assisi, Perugia, ...)

To get there we flew into Rome and reached Bellaugello after 2h30min (why spend a holiday in a nice luxury guesthouse and the fly low-cost, so we chose for Rome and flew in style)

Erik & Patrick

Room Tip: Don't be scared for the driving, although a first arrival during daylight makes it easier, or ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erik_coremans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
2.5 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
5.6 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 39 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Residenza Le Logge
Residenza Le Logge
#4 of 39 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Villa Finetti
Agriturismo Villa Finetti
#1 of 1 in Ponte d'Assi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.9 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellaugello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellaugello

Property: Bellaugello
Address: Frazione Valdichiascio, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Focused at the Gay Community, Bellaugello is a home where diversity and respect are valued. A warm and relaxing oasis between Rome and Florence and Rimini. The main house, recently restored offers individual luxury suites each with comfortable double bed, kitchen corner, sumptuous bathroom and outside a private terrace.Breakfast is served daily, Dinner with guests seated together is served three nights a week at our antique family table or on the terrace under the stars. In the large fragrant gardens, a 15 x 5m infinity salt treated clothing optional swimming pool.  In cooler months we operate a wood fired Finnish sauna. Bellaugello is gay owned and managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bellaugello Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing