We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Battery recharge”
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Ranked #2 of 37 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sleaford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Battery recharge”
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We have just spent the most enjoyable week at La Cuccagna. This simple B& B, situated on an Umbrian hillside, boasts wonderful veiws of the surrounding countryside and is ideally placed for an assortment of day trips or a lazy day by the well -maintained pool.

Sarah and Sal are most welcoming and made our wellbeing their priority, advising on places to visit ,with directions and even maps provided,and places to eat , with reservations made for us. We thoroughly enjoyed the festival at Gubbio and the car rally in Assisi and all our meals out were superb.

The continental breakfast was notable for the homemade preserves, especially the apricot. I'm afaid their stocks of the latter are rather depleted but the apricot season is not far off and more will be made to add to the strawberry, plum, fig and citrus - all delicious!

The rooms were clean and the beds very comfortable and the peace and tranquility made La Cuccagna the perfect place to recharge our batteries after the longl winter.

Room Tip: All the rooms have small differences, but are equally attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole_RSleaford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Many thanks for your kind review.

It was lovely to meet you both, you were such a pleasure to host and the other guests really enjoyed your company.

You will be pleased to know that we made a fresh batch of apricot jam a few days ago so there will be plenty waiting for you for a return visit! (We also made a batch of delicious cherry jam yesterday using cherries freshly picked from our trees and a local recipe passed down through several generations).

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
51
90
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

My husband booked La Caccagna for the first part of our honeymoon a year and half ago. I desperately wanted to go to Italy and was hoping for a truly amazing honeymoon. It was only a half hour drive from Perugia airport and Sarah and Sal had provided us with directions to La Caccagna before we left, which were spot on and the drive was very pleasant. We arrived to a very warm welcome and the place just took my breath away, I couldn't have wish for a more picturesque location! Their attentiveness and local knowledge truly enhanced our experience as we took their the advise on which surrounding cities to visit, which churches to see and most importantly where to eat!! Not only did they advise on where to eat but happily made the reservations too. We were not disappointed and couldn't wished for a more perfect week. We truly had a wonderful time, so much so that we returned with our parents this May 2013. Once again we were not disappointed, the weather this time round was not so perfect but for us the well deserved break was! We truly felt at home and comfortable, it was more like staying with close friends than at a B&B. We cannot wait to return to this 'little piece of paradise'.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebony143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We were thrilled that you enjoyed your honeymoon at La Cuccagna and so pleased to see you both again this Spring.

It is always a pleasure to help our guests with suggestions and recommendations which hopefully add to the experience of being in this special part of Umbria.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I stayed for a long weekend with a friend in October 2012. We flew into Rome and travelled up for another long weekend at La Cuccagna. The welcome was fabulous and our hosts couldn't do enough for us. The weather was not fabulous with quite a lot of rain, but we had some wonderful trips to the local old monastery and Gubbio. All in all a relaxing weekend and we'll be heading back this year - perhaps a little earlier in the season.

Room Tip: I've only tried the rooms on the pool side, but both are very good. The room with a door to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlSpackman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
We were so pleased to have you with us again last October, you are always such delighted guests and a pleasure to host.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Pardon me for intruding here but while reminiscing about our delightful 5-night stay at La Cuccagna just one year ago, I decided to check it out again on Trip Advisor only to see this bad review by EV--the only one in a long list of glowing reviews including ours (gaddisgadabout) submitted in June of last year. I think Sal's response was perfect but I have to say that EV - with just two quibbling reviews - cannot be taken seriously as a TripAdvisor source. He (or she) waits six months to complain about being asked to move the car? When we arrived, we too went down the wrong driveway. Sal told us politely to move our car to the drive more conveniently located to unload luggage for the guests. Such an ordeal (not!) As for a welcome drink, tea and coffee gratis and the kitchen was well stocked with snacks and drinks at very modest prices. The breakfast is billed as continental and it was more than adequate. Fruit, cold meats, cereals, yogurt, juices, coffee, tea, etc. As for restaurants, Sarah arranged reservations within a 15 to 30 minute drive to some of the best dining experiences I have enjoyed in Italy. The folks who wrote this bad review sound like a couple of cranks - any innkeeper's nightmare. Don't be put off--La Cuccagna is a gem.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judgefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you so much for your supportive comments, we are overwhelmed by your kind support for our little piece of Umbrian paradise.

We so enjoyed your stay with us last year and we do hope to see you here again soon.

Best wishes,

Sarah and Sal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We have stayed here approx 1/2 year ago. I was my worst experience ever in a b&b. I was never planning to write about it, however i can not believe all positive reactions on this website.
Upon arrival, the first thing which was said to us was to move our car (after driving hours with a baby). A welcome drink was not offered and the breakfast was awfully poor and was measured till the crumb. The photo's on the website are very nice, and do reflect the place, however you need to realise that the first restaurant is 25 minutes by car.
The room is way too dark and we can not find ourselves in the "perfect hostess" we find described here.
We left early, which than again they took sympatically.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
We are very sorry to read your review, especially as it seems your motivations are because you are upset that so many others seem to have enjoyed their time at La Cuccagna and written us such nice reviews.

We remember your stay well and your young daughter for whom we provided all sorts of toys and extras including free drinks and snacks. We remember how disappointed you were that we were unfortunately experiencing an unseasonal spell of bad weather when you arrived and seeing how upset you were we made extra endeavours to ensure your utmost comfort here at La Cuccagna.

When you were with us you made no complaints at all and you were very complimentary about La Cuccagna, your room was spotlessly clean and we extended you all the personal services and attention we offer all our guests. When you approached us about leaving early because of the rain we were most understanding and did not charge any cancellation fee.

We are sorry if moving your car offended you but we saw you had made a wrong turn and had not come into La Cuccagna's driveway so we politely directed you to our entrance and guest car park.

When you arrived we showed you where to find free tea and coffee at any time and we gave your daughter a free organic snack from the bar.

We are not sure we understand your comments about breakfast as we serve a full continental breakfast, buffet style with many organic and homemade compliments, which guests can help themselves to as much as they like.

We are lucky enough to have at least 7 or 8 lovely restaurants within 15 mins drive, two of which are within a few minutes. Dining at some of these restaurants is an authentic experience that most guests claim add to their stay in our part of Umbria.

We are a young couple who have opened our home because we are passionate about sharing our little piece of Umbrian paradise and offering our guests the opportunity to experience the 'real' Italy.

We are truly saddened by your review and are struggling to understand what could justify a one star 'terrible' review. We strongly feel this does not reflect La Cuccagna and the services we provided for you. We do hope that potential guests will find a better reflection of La Cuccagna in the other reviews so many of our other guests have kindly written for us.

Kind regards,

Sarah and Salvatore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2013

My civil partner, kids and I enjoyed a fantastic three night stay at La Cuccagna last September. The rooms are lovely, as are the patio areas and dining room. Breakfast was delicious - especially the homemade fig jam. The swimming pool is stunningly situated overlooking the Umbrian valleys. We spent far more time lounging around the pool reading and chatting than we had planned - simply because we couldn't drag ourselves away.
Our hosts, Salvatore and Sarah, could not have been more welcoming, hospitable or informative. They took so much trouble to ensure that we had organised where we were dining in the evenings and which towns we chose to visit during the daytime. It's a great location for exploring the nearby villages and towns. We will definitely return to stay at La Cuccagna.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2013

On arrival, Sarah couldn't have been more welcoming and booked us into a local restaurant for that evening. Throughout our stay, both Sal and Sarah were great hosts, managing to be available for questions and assistance, without being intrusive.

The room was lovely and the breakfast delicious, plus the pool was stunning.
Having said that, there was plenty to do in the local area, so we went out most days and even got to meet some of the locals down at the deli in Casa del Diavolo and at a festa in a hamlet nearby. We also went wine tasting, which Sarah organised for us.

We wished we'd stayed longer and wouldn't hesitate to recommend La Cuccagna!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennysnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
4.1 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
543 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Ristoranti Locanda del Duca
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
573 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 37 in Gubbio
308 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residenza Le Logge
Residenza Le Logge
#3 of 37 in Gubbio
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Property: La Cuccagna
Address: Frazione Santa Cristina No. 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Cuccagna Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing