We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An ideal Italian country retreat”
Review of La Cuccagna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gubbio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Cuccagna
Ranked #2 of 37 Gubbio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Sometimes you just discover somewhere to switch off from the day to day hustle (and hassle) without having to travel to the other side of the world.

Tucked away and very much off the beaten track is La Cuccagna, a delightful B&B, nestled between Perugia and Gubbio in the heart of Umbria. It’s hilltop position give you some of the finest views of the rolling hills and valleys of the idyllic Italian countryside.

Whilst it’s billed as a B&B, La Cuccagna offers much more. Set in 11 acres, there’s a stunning swimming pool with an infinity edge with panoramic views beyond, beautiful gardens with a variety of herbs growing in the rich soil and a covered terrace offering shade from the midday sun – and a place to sip those sunset views with a glass of chilled wine.

Sarah and Salvatore make you incredibly welcome and offer a wealth of knowledge on where to go and what to see locally and further afield. They are happy to recommend places for dinner from a simple pizza to a stunning gourmet meal and they will also make the reservation for you too. You may be lucky to be at La Cuccagna for one of Salvatore’s weekly “Pizza Nights” when the stone baked oven is fired up to produce delicious bread and pizza for guests.

Breakfast is simple and Italian style and the large refectory table in the farmhouse is a great social meeting point and a chance to meet and chat with fellow travellers.

We stayed in the recently completed La Cisterna (The Outhouse) which had a small sitting room, kitchenette and bathroom on one floor, a large double bedroom on the first floor and a sunny private terrace area to the front. A perfect retreat - especially when you’re sitting on the terrace overlooking the forest with some bread, cheese, antipasti and a glass of wine for a light lunch.

In the main farmhouse are the four main b&b bedrooms, all individually and stylishly decorated and there is another separate building “La Stalleta” which is another self contained unit with a double bedroom, bathroom and open plan kitchen/living room.

Whist there was no TV at La Cuccagna (which is a good thing), there is Wi-Fi, a well stocked honesty bar and a chance to catch up on life, a good book, a movie or two on your ipad and to just relax in the quite surroundings that La Cuccagna offers.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jonboylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for La Cuccagna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

La Cuccagna is a tipical italian-style house in the middle of the beautiful Umbrian hills.
The view and the lndscape are just amazing and lavanders, rosemaries and olive trees inspirite the garden.
I felt very welcomed and it's a very special place with stunning sunsets.
The rustic rooms do have a lot of caracter and are made with a lot of love for the deatails. The whole area is spick and span: The rooms, the pool-area and the garden.

The hosts, Sarah and Sal are very special people with a lot of heart. They're giving you a lot of advice what to do, or what to see. They also know a few of the best restaurants in the surrounding area, where they can book you in if you want.
Every morning you weak up and you already can smell the wonderful coffee aroma. The breakfast is delicious with home-made (!!!) yoghurt and marmelade.

I had some of my most relaxing weeks up there and I highly recommend everybody to go there! I'll come back for shure =)

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anom888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Sarah and Sal's hideaway is glorious - up in the Umbrian hills, set away from any of life's usual chaos and with a wonderful view. Also close enough to Perugia and many other villages and attractions that Umbria has to offer.

The hosts are on hand to ensure that everything is as it should be - very comfortable, nicely decked out, they went to great lengths to make sure our stay was perfect. We even had homemade jam from home grown oranges! There's a blissful secluded infinity pool as well, which we had to ourselves during our visit. I really don't think our stay could have been improved - we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHoldaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Three night stay in June. amazing place, stunning pool and views. Even with the weather not so great.!

Rooms spacious and ours no.4 had a lovely view outside looking onto the Valley.
we loved the breakfast each morning just outside our room, Sara & Sal planned our evening meals for us in terms of where to go, which was great and all were fabulous places to go to. Umbria has definitely got our vote and so does la Cuccagna.

Even though we put our sleep was average, it was only because we were so hot and to be expected but I am sure if we had asked for a fan, Sarah probably had one! they were so accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The most beautiful sight is the clouds below the mountains from the porch of this fabulous
get-away. And, of course, the delicious air. I can breathe in now and remember how it felt.
Spent four days at La Cuccagna with hosts Sarah and Salvatore in this B and B in Umbria. Sarah and Sal had great suggestions for our daily jaunts to the surrounding areas, and also places to have dinner. Breakfasts were delicious, with jams from her kitchen. Sal shared some of his homemade olive oil from his trees and of course, we brought it home. We didn't want to leave after the four days were over, and it was obvious that our hosts felt the same.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent 4(four) days at La Cuccagna enjoying the wonderful landscape of Umbria. Sarah and Salvatore are wonderful hosts, advised us where to go and what to see. Overall, a great accommodation , very quiet, fresh air, good company. What else can you ask for ?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victor_ancelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

La Cuccagna is a charming Italian retreat set in a beautiful location. The hilltop position offers stunning, unspoiled views which you can drink in from an infinity pool!

Sarah and Salvatore are a delightful and welcoming couple, who have a vast knowledge of the surrounding area. If you wish, they can offer sightseeing recommendations, complete with directions and places to park. The couple also have an extensive knowledge of local restaurants - a few of which are just a few minutes journey away from La Cuccagna.

The continental breakfasts each morning were delicious and notable for the homemade preserves. La Cuccagna is spotlessly clean, excellently run, and offers an authentic Italian experience.

We cannot wait to return to this tranquil place in Umbria and would highly recommend you go and stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CurlZzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahandSal, Owner at La Cuccagna, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you very much for your thoughtful review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy so much of the local area during your stay with us and we are always happy to help with any recommendations and arrangements for our guests.

We hope to see you again soon,

Sarah and Sal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
9.2 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
4.1 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
547 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
587 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Baccaresca
Castello di Baccaresca
#1 of 37 in Gubbio
315 reviews
9.2 mi away
Residenza Le Logge
Residenza Le Logge
#4 of 37 in Gubbio
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Cuccagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Cuccagna

Address: Frazione Santa Cristina No. 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Gubbio
Price Range: £62 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Cuccagna offers boutique style B&B and self-catering accommodation, finished with the highest quality luxury linens, plush towels, fluffy bathrobes and organic artisan toiletries. Our rooms are rustic and simple in harmony with the natural surroundings. Furnishings are mostly handmade locally in the original style of an Umbrian farmhouse and we have used local artists, ceramics and textiles in the finishing touches. Our hilltop position offers peace and tranquillity with stunning, unspoilt views over the hills and valleys. Our horizon pool has an infinity edge that drops off into the rolling Umbrian countryside with views that stretch into neighbouring Tuscany. We are an English / Italian couple who decided to find a little piece of paradise in Umbria and open our home to offer guests a unique and authentic experience. Our guests receive a warm welcome and we pride ourselves in ensuring that they receive the highest level of personal hospitality and enjoy the most relaxing stay possible. We love the Umbrian way of life and all it has to offer and it gives us great pleasure to help our guests enjoy the very best stay in our stunning surroundings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Cuccagna Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing