We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best truffles”

Osteria del Bottaccione
Ranked #3 of 117 Restaurants in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: In un ambiente familiare, Rosita la cuoca e suo marito Aldo detto ''Il Generale'' vi accoglieranno per farvi assaporare i piatti tipici della cucina umbra
Verona, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best truffles”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great pasta, family owned, it is right near the site of the geologic discovery by Louis Alvarez on the road to Scheggia from Gubbio. This was the best truffle dish I ever tasted. I will remeber it forever. Go there and see the books signed by every geologist in the last 40 years. What an experience!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scooper88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    202
    39
    25
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

It would be easy to pass this unassuming roadside osteria - to do so would be a real shame! Seldom these days do you find such a welcoming, family run place serving traditional, seasonal dishes all lovingly prepared using fresh, local produce (& maybe some herbs from the hillside opposite!) served with a smile! Nothing is too much trouble! Rosita's crescia & chicken fricco are a must. Aldo & Rosita's love for their home town, traditions & food make this a real gem, popular with locals & visitors alike.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHappyEaters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“if you asked around Gubbio, they'd send you here”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I'm italian. I first came in Gubbio years ago, I was sent to Bottaccione by friends.
Since then, it is a must when I come back once a year.
Real local food, I feel home for the people and atmosphere.
Good for friends, family, solo, couples and business, in this order.
Non formal atmosphere, relax, great value for money, good people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomaspr73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Atmosphere, GREAT food, good people!”
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We dropped-in with a group of 17 people and were handled with utmost grace and presence. The meal was an outstanding 5-course (typical of this region) with antepasti, wine, 1st plate, 2nd plate, salad and dessert. In an old medieval town such as Gubbio, I was surprised to have such quality and service forthcoming. HIGHLY-recommended!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dispatch006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Neuchatel, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real local cuisine”
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Great value for money. Real local cuisine and great great service. The restaurant is nothing fancy but the atmosphere and the food are above average.
You can definitively feel the owner is passionate by discovering the tradition and the tastes of the ancient local cuisine. The waiters were smily and nice and they carefully explained and described what we were eating. Definitively one of the best choices in Gubbio.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria del Bottaccione also viewed

Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
Gubbio, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Osteria del Bottaccione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing