We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Bosone Palace a Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Bosone Palace
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Bosone Palace a Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I and four other family members stayed at the Hotel Bosone Palace in early June. Knowing our family comes from Gubbio, we were very excited to visit the city and the hotel was an added plus. It was well appointed and whiledecorated in an old fashioned manner, the decore played to the fact that the hotel is a 14th century palace. Breakfast was great and the staff always warm and friendly. We hope to travel back to the city in the future and will hopefully be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WellyWoo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    170
    55
    17
    16
See reviews for
75
220
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pitigliano, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2010

Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.My wife and I stayed in the suite ( more expensive) and worth it. Very centerally located to the centro and the parking and the mountain lift to S. Ubaldo Church. Basic amenaties but all we needed or asked for. Would repeat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

If you stay in the Bosone Palace, book enough in advance to ask for one of their two suites. They are extremely reasonably priced and very worth every single penny you pay for them. We asked for the suite with frescoes on both ceilings (there is a sitting room) based on a Frommer's review, and we got what we asked for. The suite was huge--the size was quadruple most hotel rooms in Italy. The ceilings were utterly gorgeous. The location is excellent; breakfast is served in a beautifully frescoed and paneled dining room; the service is wonderful. Our teenage daughters stayed in a much simpler room on the standard category which was small, but for the price it was still really worth it for this hotel's location and service. Breakfast is the standard Italian fare of crescents, breads, meats, yogurt, cereals, and fruit. Truly a wonderful hotel and location. Its partner hotel is the Relais Ducale. The Ducale is bigger with nicer public areas, but the suites at the Bosone are worth it to stay even one night there. The experience is unbelievable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2010

We had a longstanding booking for this hotel (made on Expedia more than 1 month prior), and were extremely distressed to find the hotel closed and our reservation moved to the Relais Ducale Hotel instead with no prior notice. This was also a 4-star hotel (I think with the same management, but I'm not sure about this), so the change itself wasn't unreasonable. It's just that I would have expected a 4-star hotel to give advance notice along with an opportunity to cancel the reservation. A simple e-mail would have sufficed.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mwgCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Rarely have we experienced an act of such extreme kindness and selflessness as was given to us by the employee Filippo. On 9 Oct 2009, after checking in and depositing our bags in Hotel Bosone, we could not find the car park. After driving thru Gubbio for quite a long time, by chance, I saw Filippo walking on the street about 200 meters from the hotel. He had finished his work day and was rushing home to be with his family. I stopped him and told him we were lost and could not find the car park. Without hesitation he jumped into my car and guided us there. Knowing the location of the parking lot was good enough for us, but then Filippo insisted on driving us to our restaurant. Not only did he deposit us at our restaurant’s door, he then returned my car back to the car park. All of this took a lot of his precious personal time. It was a great sacrifice he made as he was surely in a hurry to get home to his family. After all, he was off duty and all we really expected was a little verbal help. Now that's service. That's Filippo.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RomanConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UTDBOY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

A great Hotel and excellent value in fascinating Gubbio
.
This hotel is centrally located in Gubbio and very handy for local shops ranging from traditional traditional stoneware to delis and bakeries.

We stayed in a huge room which had some great artwork on the ceiling. Air conditioning took the edge off the summer heat when we arrived. Looking out of the windows we had great views over the golden coloured tiles of the town and across the valley. Breakfast was served in a room with some frescos on the ceiling.

Service at check in and breakfast was prompt and efficient. Staff were very helpful in providing information about local attractions.

We were fortunate enough to stay here during the Ceri Festival which meant there was always something going on and we could hear the music from our room..

The only minor drawback, for us, was the fairly steep climb up the street to get to the hotel after we arrived by bus. Overall our stay in Gubbio and in particular Hotel Bosone Palace gave us a great contrast to Rome.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UTDBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Classic older style Italian hotel. Staff couldn't have been nicer; directed us to a free "safe" parking space at the end of XX Septembre. Rooms had good air conditioning, and free "Sky TV". Nice to get a dose of news while on the road. Breakfast could have been more extensive, but the dining room was stunning. Excellent location in the town and since it seems to be a "day trip" visit from other places, staying the night and enjoying Gubbio without many tourists, it was a very nice stay. Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank citroenbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
0.1 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gubbio
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 24 in Gubbio
536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
532 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#5 of 24 in Gubbio
456 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Montegranelli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bosone Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bosone Palace

Property: Hotel Bosone Palace
Address: Via Venti Settembre 22, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bosone Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bosone Palace Hotel is located in the historic centre of Gubbio, a few steps away from Piazza della Signoria and all the main attractions. This warm and welcoming 4 stars old-style hotel occupies the central Palazzo Raffaelli, where in the past the old patrician family Bosone had also Dante Alighieri as a guest. Exquisite the two suites in Renaissance style boasting impressive frescoed vaulted ceilings and beautiful period furniture. Breakfast is served in a romantic frescoed room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bosone Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bosone Palace Hotel
Bosone Palace Gubbio
Hotel Bosone Palace Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing