We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Appointed Hotel With Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Situated just 1 kilometer from the center of Gubbio's old town, the Park Hotel Ai Cappucini is designed with convenience in mind. The huge property is a former convent, turned into a hotel primarily designed to business travelers. It features large rooms, huge and private public spaces, a massive spa, gym, and pool complex featuring Aveda products, and ample parking. The rooms could use some updating but feature excellent sleep quality and great views if you are located on the front side of the hotel. The staff are so kind, helpful, and very attentive. Extra towels or any other service request are honored within minutes.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STYLEONTHEGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights during a 10 day trip in Liguria, Tuscany and Umbria this Easter. Gubbio is a lovely town that one should visit during a trip in Umbria. The hotel is 3 minutes by car from the historic centre on the top of a small hill. Therefore, it is very quiet. The rooms are spacious, not exactly my style but that is a personal opinion. The breakfast was good. The food at the restaurant was one of the best i have experienced in Italy...and i have visited italy dozens of times...i ate maybe the best proschiutto ever and although i had always considered the italin way of cooking meat as below average..i admit that in Gubbio and especially in the hotel i ate excellent quality meat.
The hotel has a very well equipped gym and a big indoor pool which we enjoyed. Last, i have to mention the amazing service and the polite people at the reception which i thank for the smiles and the good heart. They make you fell really at home....

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zoomendoscopist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2010

I travel very often to Europe. I always choose five star hotels. However, in most cases five star hotels in Europe are the equivalent to a three star hotel in the US or in Latin America. The Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini is truly a five star hotel! The decoration and architecture are unique. The staff is wonderful. Food is healthy and nice. The location is perfect and very quiet! The restaurant view is very nice and relaxing! The bed one of the best I have tried in a hotel! For meetings is excellent! I would go back to this just to rest! It really my exceeded my expectations!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerTrecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2009

This is a posh hotel with very nice public areas (the bar and the lounge are just great). There's a very nice pool. The rooms are well-appointed. It's not really a detriment that they are in a somewhat less-than-up-to-the-minute style (the rooms are not sparse and the latest electronic gadgets are not as plentiful as in other upscale places). Sure, they charge for wi-fi and also have indirect fees for the use of the pool (you have to buy slippers). But this is rather par for the course. The food at the restaurant is well-prepared and not overly expensive. This is the benefit of staying at a very good hotel in a town less touristy than, say, Siena. Our overall enjoyment was also boosted by the fact that all the other guests at the hotel were actually Italians, and there were not that many of them either (at check-out time they called the restaurant and asked how much did "I americani" owe for lunch). The front desk personnel and the porter spoke effortless English, were always available and eager to help (no problem with allowing a very late check-out; parking allowed not 10 yards from the front door, etc.). Of course, it helped that the hotel was not full. But all in all, this was a great experience, and if one can find a good rate (as we managed to do, I think) this hotel is heartily recommended as a base for "shuttle" sightseeing in Umbria.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SergeiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2009

This hotel is fabulous. It's in a converted monastery about ten minutes walk from the ancient centre of Gubbio. The accommodation was lovely and the pool was a huge plus. The staff were very helpful and kind. This is a genuinely luxurious and welcoming hotel - I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennethwidmerpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

I honestly think that the structure is great, but I don't really know if that kind of luxury is what I like to find in a region like Umbria.
The location is great, 10 minutes walk from the center of Gubbio. The rooms are clean, although we had a standard room overlooking the inner structure of the hotel and slightly beneath the common terrace, guest could see throught our window if the curtain was open.
One great flaw of this hotel is that you have to pay for anything, including a Trukish Bath of 6 sq. meters! They charged 15 euro each for a 10 minutes usage (with other people!). i asked for the newspaper in the morning and they charged me that one as well! You can't swim withouth a bathing cap and they sell them for 5 Euro each...The list is long.
Internet is expensive and I still find it pretty absurd that you have to pay to access the internet in a structure where they have to pay for a connection anyway.
The swimming pool is nice but we got pretty pissed off by a girl who screamed like an eagle, she was probably the P.T. of a lady who was gasping in the water. It was really impossible to relax.
The guy at the reception suggested a restaurant I would never recommend to an Italian guest, I'll write my review on it!
Overall the place is really nice, the staff are kind but it looks too modern and too business oriented for a hotel in Umbria. It is a convent converted into a modern Congress center.
Any villa or B&B in the region would offer much more; my point is do never waste the requested fare of over 200 Euro for a night there, it's not worth it. Look for a villa and rent a room on the way to your destination. it will be much better!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2008

I am a full time wheelchair user so travelling in Europe is not straightforward (unlike the USA where it is very easy). I also travle a lot and stay in Hotels around 150 nights per year so I have very hgih standards and am not easilly imopressed.

I can honestly say that the Cappuccini Hotel is, in every respect, one of the best I have ever stayed in anywhere in the world. It is also very accessible for anyone in a wheelchair and their handicapped access rooms (that have 2 en sute bathrooms in each of them) are fantastic..

Fom service through to value-for-money (not cheap but excellent) I can honestly say the hotel was faultless.

The staff deserve a special mention; from the director down to the bell boy and from the front desk to the wine waters I have rarely had such good, polite, helpful and discrete service anywhere.

The hotel is just a few minutes from the centre of Gubbio (I will write a review of this wopnderful town later) and for those days when you jsut cant be bothered to leave the idilyc hotel, their restaraunt serves food of the very highest quality.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CliffLeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
0.7 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gubbio
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 24 in Gubbio
575 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#5 of 24 in Gubbio
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
565 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sporting Hotel
Sporting Hotel
#8 of 24 in Gubbio
485 reviews
1 mi away
Beniamino Ubaldi
Beniamino Ubaldi
#22 of 24 in Gubbio
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini

Address: Via Tifernate, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: £116 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Gubbio
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing