We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time travel in Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Petroia
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We arrived on a rainy day. Incredibly atmospheric. As per the other reviewers, the castle is wonderfully restored in-and-outside. Friendly staff, who was very understanding in resolving a booking snafu. At night, looking through the window at the moon over the surrounding forest, or walking outside, one could imagine being there hundreds of years ago. Nice pool in great setting. Large rooms. Classy stuff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenkvH v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed in Castello di Petroia for 2 nights in September 2011.
This was a great experience much beyond our expectations. The castle is not only a spectecular fairy tale building from outside, but the inner parts are also very successfully renovated. The needs of the modern traveller are very well met, while preserving the medivial soul of the castle.
We found out that the castle dates back from 12th century. It originally belonged to the duc of Urbino Federico da Montefeltro who was born in the castle. If you have visited Uffizi Galleries in Florence, then you may remember his profile with a very caharcteristic nose which became one with the Uffizi galleries.
Breakfast is served at the room where the original fire place dating from 12th century still stands. The pastry is delicious and the coffee is extremely good in quality (best Americano we had in Italy).
Dinners are served in a mediveal environment. The chef is prima. Ask for tagliatella with truffle (don't miss it).
We thank to Leonardo, Virginia and especially the beautiful Lucia (who always smiled warmly) at the front desk.
Dr. Carlo Sagrini is the owner who created this wonderful place to become true. We thank him for his warm hospitality which made us feel very special.

Room Tip: Ask for the Duchess's suite :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alternatif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed 8 nights at the Castello and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The rooms are large and well appointed. The staff is great and I will avoid mentioning names in fear that I will miss someone! Everything is very low key to the point that you think the castle is all yours. Breakfasts are served in a room that looks like it is out of a hollywood movie and the dining room is cozy and inviting. The staff is very helpful in planning out your daily adventures. This is the place to stay for Gubio!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler60ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My handsome son and his beautiful fiance were married here in June, and the wedding was nothing short of a fairy tale. The two families reserved the entire castle for 3 nights for friends and family, enjoyed two dinners and two breakfasts, one lunch, and of course the wedding ceremony and reception. It could not have been more perfect. Where do I begin?
Petroia sits atop an Umbrian hill overlooking green valleys and hills in all directions, pretty much as far as the eye can see. It is peaceful and serene. It is also very old with a long and interesting history. The buildings are of stone, and the small street that runs between is cobblestone. They have deeply set windows upon which bouquets of trailing blue and white flowers were set, and there are old iron sconces between the windows. The evening of the wedding the sconces were lit with candles and the effect was absolutely magical.
There is so much more to be described. But more importantly, as anyone who has enjoyed a delicious meal or stayed in a beautiful hotel knows, there must be good service or the enjoyment is greatly diminished. All aspects of service at Castello di Petroia were flawless. Because this was a wedding there were many details to be taken care of... from bouquets of fresh flowers and chocolates in guests' rooms, to the dinner and breakfast services, and even to fireworks the evening of the wedding. All was taken care of exactly as requested.... (thank-you Leonardo!).
There is a pool on the grounds which served as a fun gathering point for guests. There is a real life tower where the newly married couple spent their wedding night, and where they enjoyed a special breakfast, at the top of the tower, overlooking the entire castle and surroundings. We were treated to an expert guide who walked us through the countryside to an ancient abbey, and showed us the crumbling frescoes inside while describing it's history. The meals were all delicious. One young Italian guest declared the gnocchi to be the best he had ever tasted, and at breakfast, the cappuccinos are prepared one at a time, just for you, to be enjoyed with the freshly baked, still warm, chocolate cake. Each room is unique and well-thought out.
Our young prince and his princess had a fairy tale wedding at a real life castle in hidden away in the hills of Umbria, and it could not have been better.
Everyone had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmcclure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We cannot recommend this wonderful castle highly enough.....from the incredible level of service from all the staff, including the charming owner Carlo, to the fantastic, peaceful location, the amazing room, the unbelievable views, the scrummy breakfast's' & dinner's.........just brilliant.........simple as that......!!

Room Tip: Just ask Leonardo, Virginia or Luchina......they will help you find the perfect room for you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SB4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I just got married at Castello di Petroia, and must tell all fellow travelers what a wonderful experience it was. My husband and I had picked the castle as the venue for our wedding about a year ago because of its breathtaking location, its luxurious rooms, spacious common spaces–which would provide a space to hold the ceremony and dinner in case of rain–, and the very positive vibe we got from Leonardo, and the rest of the staff.

A year later, I was clearly showing signs of bridezilla syndrome a few days before the wedding. Everything had to be PERFECT. But, as it turned out, I had no reason to worry. The wedding was absolutely wonderful, exceeding even my inordinate expectations.

Leonardo assisted us with every aspect of the event, aided with great dedication and enthusiasm by Lucia and Virginia. He found us anything from the florist to the hairdresser (both of which did a marvelous job). He even advised us on where to get the wedding cake, which was so good it literally disappeared within minutes (I believe every single guest had seconds). He also designed the dinner menus, and managed to reproduce on them the drawing we had on our wedding invitations. The menus were different for each dinner table, and each narrated the story of a historical character who lived the castle during the time of Federico da Montefeltro, the duke of Urbino and magnate of the arts who was born there in 1422.

Dinner, cooked by Massimo, was very good, and light. He can manage gourmet cousin and typical Umbrian dishes, but he keeps it light. We ate four courses, and didn't at all feel weighed down by the food after dinner.

After dinner and the wedding cake, we went on to... fireworks! That was a treat of my mother-in-law, who wanted it to be a surprise–and what a surprise it was! They were some of the most beautiful ones I've seen.

The day after the wedding some of the guests went to visit Gubbio, which is a 20 min drive away. Others opted for Assisi, also a short drive away, and the rest of us hung out by the pool, enjoyed a good book on the terrace, or took a walk on the gorgeous hills that surround Petroia. We had 50 guests (a few of which we had to host at a nearby hotel for lack of space) and spent three nights at Petroia.

My husband and I were staying in the Tower, a room carved out of the oldest structure of the castle, a medieval defense tower dating back to the year 1000 AD. The room is divided on three levels connected by admittedly very steep stairs. Leonardo had warned us about the stairs, but the view from the top was well worth having our calves hurting by the end of the stay. From the rooftop terrace of the tower one has a 360° view of the Umbrian hills, something you'll never see unless you take a helicopter ride. We simply couldn't get enough of it. We even had breakfast there the morning after the wedding.

In short, the Castello di Petroia is a dream location for anyone looking to have an intimate and unforgettable wedding. The staff is so helpful and resourceful there's no need for a wedding planner, even if you're managing things from abroad (in our case Canada). With minimal supervision, they set up an event that was flawless–breathtaking without being tacky. It was special, without being a show-off.

The castle is also a great venue for a vacation or a weekend outing. The suites are all carved out of the ancient rooms of the castello. You'll find a pleasant mix of antique furniture and prints and nice modern treats such as large jacuzzi bathtubs (in most of the rooms). Each room is uniquely furnished.

Finally, I must shed a word about the owner, Dr. Carlo Sagrini. He and his wife were exquisitely hospitable. Dr. Sagrini would often stop by and chat with us, and he took such an interest in the wedding, we were starting to feel as though he was part of the family–a sentiment we also felt towards Leonardo, Lucia and Virginia.

We wholeheartedly recommend Petroia to anyone planning a trip to Italy, and are looking forward to going back soon ourselves.

-Erica Alini

Room Tip: Don't miss the view from the Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ealini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I cannot say enough good things about this place. Carlo and his beautiful wife were such wonderful hosts and made us feel like part of the family. Virginia was also incredible. They accomodated us in every way and one of the staff even took our clothes to her home and washed them and pressed them for us. The food was some of the best we had in Italy. The castle is stunning and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank electkottkamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
8.6 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
870 reviews
8.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 24 in Gubbio
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
6.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Montegranelli
8.3 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 24 in Gubbio
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petroia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petroia

Address: Localita Petroia, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: £140 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway through the ancient road that links Gubbio to Perugia, stands on the horizon the severe and majestic Petroia Castle. A path through woods and meadows leads to a huge gate, beyond which Petroia opens in all its beauty.The origins of the Castle of Petroia are to be found between the IX and X century, on the 7th June 1422 was born in Petroia Federico da Montefeltro, the most famous Duke of Urbino. The Castle of Petroia is composed of medieval buildings enclosed within the Castle's walls. The three buildings that make up the Castle welcome guests in spacious rooms: The ancient and authentic rooms are carefully furnished to create an elegant setting and a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello di Petroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Petroia Gubbio, Italy - Umbria
Castello Di Petroia Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing