We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Petroia
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, WI
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night on our honeymoon as we passed through Umbria and had an amazing time. It was a Monday night in low season so we were the only guests in the castle but they were so nice to us and even opened the restaurant just for us. The food was spectacular...one of the best meals we had on the whole 9 day Italian trip. We stayed in the tower which was really interesting and unique with amazing views. It works better if you're short rather than tall though! :-) The pool area looked lovely though of course it was not open in March. If sleeping in a castle has been a lifelong dream then definitely give Castello di Petroia a try.

Room Tip: Try the tower for something different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staceyd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    72
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
82
357
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Healdsburg, California
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed in lots of castles before in Spain and Portugal, and this is the real deal. You need to be prepared for the authenticity--stone walls and rooms that can be a bit noisy if you have upstairs neighbors. You are also in the middle of nowhere, but if you like that, as we do, it is wonderful. You are away from city noise and crowds. The restaurant is quite good so there is no reason to travel elsewhere once you check in. Beware of the tower room. Although folks recommend it for the view, it is not as comfortable as the rooms in the main castle. Additionally, the tower has 3 floors with the bathroom two floors below the bedroom---not very easy for going to the bathroom at night.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main castle are great. Spring for the few extra e if you can for a suite room. Bewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Main Beach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

From the moment we entered, we took a step back in time. Staff were great, the junior sweet with its three levels, internal balcony and loft spa took us back to medieval Italy. The surrounding 600-year old olive trees and acres to explore were so special. It is close to Gubbio for day trips, but we also enjoyed simply lying under the big shady trees enjoying the most divine Tuscany landscape. This hotel and everything that comes with it are truly magical. We have recommended this hotel to several friends, who have experienced an equally great service there. Ps: check out the tower room for something completely different...

Room Tip: junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteffiPaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2013

From the moment we stepped in through the castle doors, I knew this was going to be an unforgettable experience. It was the best stay throughout our whole adventure across Europe.

We stayed 2 nights in early December in their classic room which was very clean and comfortable. It was in the main building where the reception and dining rooms were, so definitely very convenient. I love that the room had kept most of its rustic charm and yet it comes with every modern amenity that one would need today. On arrival, we had iced grapes and hot chocolate, much like a fondue as a welcome gift…perfect for the cold weather.

The views from the castle were simply breathtaking. The colours of the valleys meeting the mountains with the mountain peaks touching the sky…just heavenly. Take time to explore the grounds in and around the castle…it is well worth the slight trek.

The owners and staff were so warm and helpful throughout our stay. They were ready to give us tips on towns to visit, directions to/from the hotel.

Last but not least, i must mention that the food was amazing…definitely one of our best meals throughout our trip. We had dinner in the castle on both nights and had tried both the degustation and ala carte menus and they were both just as good. It's what you would likely get or even better than any world class restaurants. Service was impeccable and the ambience was perfect with the fire place and old world charm.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling up to Perugia and would love to return here again in a different season.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Just finished a wonderful three nights at this property. Everything was perfect. We were delighted to enjoy their dinners each night of our stay, and as many reviewers have pointed out for themselves, they were among our best meals in Italy. The public spaces were very historical. Our room - Deluxe "del Cavaliere" - was modern in appearance but well-appointed. Cannot understand the reviewer who said "if your expectation is luxury of any kid, this is not it." We are fortunate enough to travel to luxury destinations now and again, and we thought this was true 4.5 star accommodations. Dinners were home-cooked regional fare, breakfast was ample European sort with cured meats and cheese in addition to baked goods. Service outstanding at breakfast, dinner and at front desk. It is a boutique hotel, so slightly quirky, but we found nothing to complain about. We enjoy non "cookie-cutter" destinations like this.

The setting and scenery was stunning (especially this time of year with the fall colors). Enjoyed looking at the views each morning "over to the next castle" (yes, there is at least one in visual distance from this one).

Umbria is a wonderful region and Castello di Petroia is a great base (though perhaps a little too far for cities in Southern Umbria, like Orvieto). We easily visited Gubbio (of course), Assisi and Perugia. Hope to return.

Room Tip: They seem to give great descriptions of the rooms on their website and in the course of the reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanks_in_Dixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_di_Petroia, Proprietario at Castello di Petroia, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We have such a good memory of you: all the words you wrote about us are so special Thank you for your appreciation!

The Castle is such a beautiful historic building, and cannot be compare to any luxury city hotel for sure (luckily); our antique living hall, the fireplaces and all our room have their own soul, and this is why our guests usually find this Castle so special.
The fact that you have enjoyed the room you stayed in, our service and our staff is the best satisfaction for us.
My staff and I look forward to have you back soon.

Carlo Claudio Sagrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here 6 years ago, and would just like to say, people pay thousands to go to sandals resorts etc. we stayed for a week in July 28 2007, it was fantastic! So much so we hold the memories of the settings, staff, dinners and romance in our hearts forever and will return! In total including flights, and car hire it came in at £1050 for a experience that I promise will beat any sandals resort bollox!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iritis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This is a historic 12th castle. An amazing complex of several buildings. You reach it from the road to Gubbio via a short drive on a dirt road with onsite parking. The staff is very friendly and explains all the features. The Superior room is very rustic as one would expect in an old castle. Stone flooring, wood beam ceiling, antique furniture etc. It is large, with a desk, fridge, chairs, nice bathroom with tub and shower.

Breakfast is served in a common room with coffee made to order, fresh boiled eggs, cheese, cold cuts, breads, cakes, croissant, juices, fruit etc.

Wifi internet is available in the common areas but not in the room except that one can rent a Wifi modem for 2 Euro a day.

We met the owners of the castle several times, they eat dinner with the guests every night and often show up at breakfast too. A nice older couple. He speaks very good english. The castle has some great history, unfortunately we did not get a chance to read the book about it.

The pool was closed in October.

The restaurant is outstanding with great service and candlelight dinner. We even took a private cooking class with the chef which was fun.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravelers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
8.6 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
822 reviews
11.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#5 of 71 in Assisi
500 reviews
8.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
567 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petroia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petroia

Property: Castello di Petroia
Address: Localita Petroia, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
#2 Family Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway through the ancient road that links Gubbio to Perugia, stands on the horizon the severe and majestic Petroia Castle. A path through woods and meadows leads to a huge gate, beyond which Petroia opens in all its beauty.The origins of the Castle of Petroia are to be found between the IX and X century, on the 7th June 1422 was born in Petroia Federico da Montefeltro, the most famous Duke of Urbino. The Castle of Petroia is composed of medieval buildings enclosed within the Castle's walls. The three buildings that make up the Castle welcome guests in spacious rooms: The ancient and authentic rooms are carefully furnished to create an elegant setting and a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Petroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Petroia Gubbio, Italy - Umbria
Castello Di Petroia Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing