We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castello di Petroia
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My Wife and I spent 3 nights at the hotel as part of a trip to the are THe whole experience was one of the beast we have ever had on our journeys throughout the world.
The friendly welcome was continued throughout our stay and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The views from our bedroom and the rest of the castle were amazing. We ate in the restaurant for the three nights and the food was superb with a good selection of wines.
Describing our experience to friends, they all want to visit just to sample the food and atmosphere.
Certainly a Hotel we would recommend to anybody

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the first floor with amazing views. It was furnished in keeping with the p...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
There are newer reviews for Castello di Petroia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is one of the best hotel experiences I've had. The staff are genuine and warm, and very professional. Lucia managed our arrival and made sure everything went smoothly. We arrived past midnight and the owner stayed up to let us in. We stayed in the deluxe suite, on two floors: absolutely charming. The style is classic and fresh. The windows are small so there is less natural light, but that goes with it being a castle! Very spacious and high quality furnishings. The breakfasts are plentiful and the home made apple marmelade is remarkable. The service was great both mornings we stayed. Isabella was so kind, made our morning! The walk around the castle are not too groomed, and feel quite wild, which I loved.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessicaLorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_di_Petroia, Proprietario at Castello di Petroia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear JessicaLo,

your review it's just beautiful! Thank you for highlighting the value of the Castle in all of its aspects (rooms, breakfast, greens around the fortress). We are very proud to be the best hotel you have ever experienced. Definitely the Castle walking paths are a bit wild but, as you said, that’s exactly how we want them to be, cause we are in an untouched environment and we really want to keep it as much “authentic” as possible (very glad you loved it!).
We hope you’ll keep the memory of your stat at the Castle in your hearth and look forward to welcoming you on your future trip to Umbria.

Carlo Claudio Sagrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Castello di Petroia is great for those seeking something different and historical. The service was great- when we got lost at night in the rain heading to the hotel (at midnight), hotel staff offered to drive out and meet us and guide us back. The location is good for exploring Gubbio (15km away) and other quaint Umbrian towns. The views over the valley are exceptional, and the pool is a peaceful retreat. The Tower was wonderful, and we didn't mind the stairs, but the big minus was a hand-held shower head instead of an actual shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower- very unique and cool, but don't book this if you have trouble with steep...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyDonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night on our honeymoon as we passed through Umbria and had an amazing time. It was a Monday night in low season so we were the only guests in the castle but they were so nice to us and even opened the restaurant just for us. The food was spectacular...one of the best meals we had on the whole 9 day Italian trip. We stayed in the tower which was really interesting and unique with amazing views. It works better if you're short rather than tall though! :-) The pool area looked lovely though of course it was not open in March. If sleeping in a castle has been a lifelong dream then definitely give Castello di Petroia a try.

Room Tip: Try the tower for something different!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank staceyd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have stayed in lots of castles before in Spain and Portugal, and this is the real deal. You need to be prepared for the authenticity--stone walls and rooms that can be a bit noisy if you have upstairs neighbors. You are also in the middle of nowhere, but if you like that, as we do, it is wonderful. You are away from city noise and crowds. The restaurant is quite good so there is no reason to travel elsewhere once you check in. Beware of the tower room. Although folks recommend it for the view, it is not as comfortable as the rooms in the main castle. Additionally, the tower has 3 floors with the bathroom two floors below the bedroom---not very easy for going to the bathroom at night.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main castle are great. Spring for the few extra e if you can for a suite room. Bewa...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

From the moment we entered, we took a step back in time. Staff were great, the junior sweet with its three levels, internal balcony and loft spa took us back to medieval Italy. The surrounding 600-year old olive trees and acres to explore were so special. It is close to Gubbio for day trips, but we also enjoyed simply lying under the big shady trees enjoying the most divine Tuscany landscape. This hotel and everything that comes with it are truly magical. We have recommended this hotel to several friends, who have experienced an equally great service there. Ps: check out the tower room for something completely different...

Room Tip: junior suite
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteffiPaul2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

From the moment we stepped in through the castle doors, I knew this was going to be an unforgettable experience. It was the best stay throughout our whole adventure across Europe.

We stayed 2 nights in early December in their classic room which was very clean and comfortable. It was in the main building where the reception and dining rooms were, so definitely very convenient. I love that the room had kept most of its rustic charm and yet it comes with every modern amenity that one would need today. On arrival, we had iced grapes and hot chocolate, much like a fondue as a welcome gift…perfect for the cold weather.

The views from the castle were simply breathtaking. The colours of the valleys meeting the mountains with the mountain peaks touching the sky…just heavenly. Take time to explore the grounds in and around the castle…it is well worth the slight trek.

The owners and staff were so warm and helpful throughout our stay. They were ready to give us tips on towns to visit, directions to/from the hotel.

Last but not least, i must mention that the food was amazing…definitely one of our best meals throughout our trip. We had dinner in the castle on both nights and had tried both the degustation and ala carte menus and they were both just as good. It's what you would likely get or even better than any world class restaurants. Service was impeccable and the ambience was perfect with the fire place and old world charm.

I would definitely recommend this to anyone travelling up to Perugia and would love to return here again in a different season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
8.6 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
844 reviews
11.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Castello di Petrata
Castello di Petrata
#6 of 70 in Assisi
520 reviews
8.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
587 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petroia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petroia

Address: Localita Petroia, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#2 Family Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range: £142 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway through the ancient road that links Gubbio to Perugia, stands on the horizon the severe and majestic Petroia Castle. A path through woods and meadows leads to a huge gate, beyond which Petroia opens in all its beauty.The origins of the Castle of Petroia are to be found between the IX and X century, on the 7th June 1422 was born in Petroia Federico da Montefeltro, the most famous Duke of Urbino. The Castle of Petroia is composed of medieval buildings enclosed within the Castle's walls. The three buildings that make up the Castle welcome guests in spacious rooms: The ancient and authentic rooms are carefully furnished to create an elegant setting and a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Petroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Petroia Gubbio, Italy - Umbria
Castello Di Petroia Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing