We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a unique place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Petroia
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
gold coast
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a unique place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We travelled with our boys 7 and 9. The castle is incredible in terms of its uniqueness.
Staff were warm and welcoming, young Isabella was so sweet, having our table set for breakfast with hot choclate ready for the boys.
All the staff were great though and Carlos for suggesting the frasissi caves, he thought our children would enjoy, we hadn't even heard of them and they did love them, so did the adults.
At at hotel for breakfast and dinner and food was great do was the wine.
Had wine on the terrace one afternoon and that was a great way to spend the afternoon before dinner.
Pool was a delight to lounge around, or take some food and sit at the table and have some wine.
Such a special place, need a car to access anywhere, which we had, but wouldn't suggest busting without your own vehicle. It was very secluded and tranquil and at times the kids were very loud and boisterous so would hope to come back when the kids are a little older or without them.
Thank you for a great visit.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank terrortots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    68
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
76
345
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time at the castle. Excellent service, food and hospitality! A fantastic view of the Umbria area. The castle has been preserved for over 1000 years and it's still in great shape. Worth visiting! We really enjoyed our visit. We highly recommend it. -Campos Family, São Paulo, Brazil

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GiuliaCampos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Staying in this castle was amazing, the cobbled central path /street linking all parts of the castle, the tower, then just outside among olive trees and fruit trees was a swimming pool. The owner was a charming gentle man , a true treasure himself. The food really good and all the staff charming. I was travelling with my daughter , but would like to return with my partner as this hotel had a real romantic ,wow factor. There was a small wedding there when we arrived and it just seemed such a perfect setting.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

My wife and I recently spent four days in this astonishing castle, with its compelling medieval atmosphere, lovely country views and amazing restaurant. The staff and owners of Castello di Petroia are welcoming and attentive, while giving guests space to enjoy the castle and grounds as their own private space. Our comfortable junior suite in the main castle looked out on the stone courtyard on one side, and the wooded hills on the other; the lovely rustic furniture was offset by a modern, comfortable bathroom with large shower. Arrive your first night before dark to get oriented to the unpaved access road (well marked off the main road).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack_d324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

My Wife and I spent 3 nights at the hotel as part of a trip to the are THe whole experience was one of the beast we have ever had on our journeys throughout the world.
The friendly welcome was continued throughout our stay and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The views from our bedroom and the rest of the castle were amazing. We ate in the restaurant for the three nights and the food was superb with a good selection of wines.
Describing our experience to friends, they all want to visit just to sample the food and atmosphere.
Certainly a Hotel we would recommend to anybody

Room Tip: We had a superior room on the first floor with amazing views. It was furnished in keeping with the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is one of the best hotel experiences I've had. The staff are genuine and warm, and very professional. Lucia managed our arrival and made sure everything went smoothly. We arrived past midnight and the owner stayed up to let us in. We stayed in the deluxe suite, on two floors: absolutely charming. The style is classic and fresh. The windows are small so there is less natural light, but that goes with it being a castle! Very spacious and high quality furnishings. The breakfasts are plentiful and the home made apple marmelade is remarkable. The service was great both mornings we stayed. Isabella was so kind, made our morning! The walk around the castle are not too groomed, and feel quite wild, which I loved.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaLorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castello_di_Petroia, Proprietario at Castello di Petroia, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear JessicaLo,

your review it's just beautiful! Thank you for highlighting the value of the Castle in all of its aspects (rooms, breakfast, greens around the fortress). We are very proud to be the best hotel you have ever experienced. Definitely the Castle walking paths are a bit wild but, as you said, that’s exactly how we want them to be, cause we are in an untouched environment and we really want to keep it as much “authentic” as possible (very glad you loved it!).
We hope you’ll keep the memory of your stat at the Castle in your hearth and look forward to welcoming you on your future trip to Umbria.

Carlo Claudio Sagrini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Castello di Petroia is great for those seeking something different and historical. The service was great- when we got lost at night in the rain heading to the hotel (at midnight), hotel staff offered to drive out and meet us and guide us back. The location is good for exploring Gubbio (15km away) and other quaint Umbrian towns. The views over the valley are exceptional, and the pool is a peaceful retreat. The Tower was wonderful, and we didn't mind the stairs, but the big minus was a hand-held shower head instead of an actual shower.

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower- very unique and cool, but don't book this if you have trouble with steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyDonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gubbio
11.4 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
8.6 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
11.6 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.3 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Gattapone
Hotel Gattapone
#3 of 23 in Gubbio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Petroia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Petroia

Property: Castello di Petroia
Address: Localita Petroia, 06020, Gubbio, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gubbio
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
#2 Family Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Petroia 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Midway through the ancient road that links Gubbio to Perugia, stands on the horizon the severe and majestic Petroia Castle. A path through woods and meadows leads to a huge gate, beyond which Petroia opens in all its beauty.The origins of the Castle of Petroia are to be found between the IX and X century, on the 7th June 1422 was born in Petroia Federico da Montefeltro, the most famous Duke of Urbino. The Castle of Petroia is composed of medieval buildings enclosed within the Castle's walls. The three buildings that make up the Castle welcome guests in spacious rooms: The ancient and authentic rooms are carefully furnished to create an elegant setting and a welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castello di Petroia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Petroia Gubbio, Italy - Umbria
Castello Di Petroia Hotel Gubbio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing