We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little hotel in middle age environment”
Review of Hotel Gattapone

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gattapone
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Gubbio
Certificate of Excellence
Bari, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Charming little hotel in middle age environment”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Little hotel located in a middle age structure in the center of Gubbio. Very pleasant stay with excellent location in the center of town. Very good hosting, a good breakfast with very friendly treatment. Nice common areas, clean and confortable rooms but quite little. We had a corner room, (374) very little but pleasant with sight on church and open horizon. Bathroom very little but ok. The most negative situation is that the bells on municipality tower rings every 15 minutes !!! Also church beats his bells... it's a war , so if you don't like bells sounds.... you are warned !!

Room Tip: Buy ear-taps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandro58it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    260
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
122
298
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I'm just back from Gubbio,and even if the weather was terrible (raining....for three days!) I had a wanderfull experience at Hotel Gattapone. First we book a special offer (available on their website) that was very convenient, OK in Italy november is the off-season..but even in this case I've spent just 167€ a head for 2 nights and 2 dinners.
The hotel is placed in a historical palace, just close to a little church, and it's possible to reach monuments and churches in 5 minutes. I was nicely surprised by the kindness of the staff: they were always smiling ..and they provide any kind of tourist info. Please remember that this is a small family-run hotel, so you'll be able to enjoy Gubbio as a local and to relax...but dont' expect high level services, or huge and modern rooms.
Of course you have to leave your car outside the historical centre, there are two parking, one completely free but quite far from the hotel, the second just 5 minutes far, you can pay just 8€ at day, it's a special contract for Gattapone's clients.
Just to be honest, because I'm Italian, I don't know if the staff speaks English. Check other reviews for this.
if you're searching for a simple, clean and real local hotel, Gattapone is perfect.

Room Tip: They provide a special offer with two dinner included, that is very cheap. We had two amazing and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mari1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
180 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Nice small hotel in the old town. We had Suite 256, one of two in the hotel, large bedroom and sitting room strangely with an exercise bicycle but no second TV. Did not matter, as no English stations..a downer but the free wi-fi is great and a nice continental brekkie included.
Parking about 100 yards away advertised at 8 euro a day but from 4PM and leaving the next morning at 11AM it was 14.90 euro and the cashier machine only took 5 euro and 10 euro notes, it rejected my 20 euro note. No tea maker or kleenex in room, plastic glasses, good but small shower and bidet. All in all we recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We had a corner room, over the front entrance -- which was beautiful. The room was small but very nice. The breakfast was fine. Service was very good. They stored our bikes for us in their garden, and were very accommodating. And the price was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 night during a bike tour of Le Marche. I did a google search before we arrived in town so I had an idea of the location. Very easy to find! The breakfasts were great, staff very friendly. The room was clean and fairly large for Italy. Location in Gubbio was just perfect for walking around the city, and there was a really good Gelato store just down the street.

It rained while we were there, and they had umbrellas by the front door for guests. We used one when we walked to dinner.

Only complaint was a barking dog, but they couldn't control their that!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pueblogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Central, quiet hotel, with helpful and hard-working staff (although little English is spoken). It is not a luxury hotel but we thought it good value. Our room was fairly basic, but clean, and had a large bathroom. Typical buffet breakfast - there are fresh oranges with a juicer if you want fresh orange juice. If you are driving, the car park by San Francesco church is quite close to the hotel. The hotel will stamp your car park ticket to get a reduced rate of eight euros for 24 hours. It is not possible to park here on a Tuesday which is market day. However alternative parking is available in the car park at the Roman Amphitheatre, which is free and not too far away.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Hotel Gattapone for three nights and did not want to leave. The situation was ideal for us with lovely views over the town and rooftops to the distant hills. Very central, but quiet and secluded; the staff were all obliging and friendly. Our room was clean and comfortable and very good value. We would love to return there if ever the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandMCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gubbio hotels
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel Ai Cappuccini
0.1 mi away
Relais Ducale Hotel
Relais Ducale Hotel
#4 of 23 in Gubbio
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#5 of 23 in Gubbio
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sporting Hotel
Sporting Hotel
#7 of 23 in Gubbio
392 reviews
8.3 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bosone Palace
Hotel Bosone Palace
#8 of 23 in Gubbio
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gattapone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gattapone

Property: Hotel Gattapone
Address: Via Beni 11, 06024, Gubbio, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Gubbio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gubbio
#4 Family Hotel in Gubbio
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gubbio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gattapone 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gattapone is a small lodging option right in the heart of Gubbio which has been recently fully renovated. The hotel is right in the center of the historical Gubbio and it opens at two street levels. It features sixteen double rooms and two suites. Rooms are endowed with minibar, TVC sat, direct telephone, air conditioning, private bath/shower , many with sight on the town or the inner garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gattapone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gattapone Hotel Gubbio
Hotel Gattapone Gubbio, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing