We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I could have stayed here longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mini Resort Fontana Maggiore
Ranked #22 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Perugia
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Wish I could have stayed here longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed 3 nights in the Perla apartment – a fantastic, top floor apartment with a great view from the pretty terrace. Apartment was modern, bright, nicely furnished & clean - just perfect really. Eva the owner could not have been nicer – she was extremely welcoming and helpful. As other posters have mentioned if you are over 5 ft 5 you will have to duck slightly to get into the bathroom and small dressing room as they have a sloped ceiling, but the ceilings in the other rooms are normal heights. My 6ft husband said it was worth it for the amazing view, location and cosy atmosphere. The location could not be better, just a few steps away from the Fontana Maggiore. This apartment is a real find and I would recommend it to anyone going to Perguia.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Litzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in October and found the Pearl apartment perfect in all categories.
The only negatives as others have mentioned is the bathroom height at a strategic location and the steps. Its small but has everything you need plus Eva is great and even helped with luggage!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie34094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Stayed in the pearl for three days after a few days outside perugia in July and having read the trip advisor review about it being low-ceilinged! Would strongly recommend it. So much better then any of the hotels we tried - the position is just perfect in the centre of the historical centre of the city, the view from the balcony is truly great right over the city and beyond and supper cooked at home in the (admittedly small) kitchen was a real highlight. Eva was always on hand and answered any and every query. This is a gem and I have only delayed in putting this up on the site as I thought it will then get visited by too many people. It is still looking very fresh after just one year. Don't bother with the breakfast as there are great pastries etc in cafes just minutes away, although the Nespresso machine is a nice touch. Th bed is comfy, shower is all brand new (although if you are well over six foot may be a tad cosy) and looking out of the window straight at the National Gallery on one side (bedroom side) and the city on the other (small balcony) made it a real success for us even if it is not huge.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moet2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

I vacationed in Perugia and stayed with my friends in the Silver Unit. The view over the city is breathtaking. The rooms are comfortable and clean and artfully decorated. The kitchen was stocked with the basic necessities and the attention to detail was amazing. The location was perfect in the heart of the historical center and everyone in the building and surrounding area was very kind and welcoming. Our host Eva was always within close proximity and responded to our inquiries promptly. There are three units and they are well maintained and comfortable. A gem of a find.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

Spent 4 nights here in the "Pearl" apartment. Chosen mainly for the convenience of having a washing machine (unfortunately no clothes dryer) and because all the hotels in the historical center seemed (from the photos on TripAdvisor and their own websites) to be overdue for renovations, especially the bathrooms. Incredible view from the terrace, as well as from a window at the dining table. Nice historical building in the best part of the city. Small kitchen but it suited our needs. Very basic breakfast provided, with a nespresso machine and plenty of capsules; a nice touch over the "welcome pack" that some apartments provide. A slow but serviceable elevator for up to 3 persons (or 1-2 persons and luggage) to the 6th floor (7th in US). Very good sound insulation with the windows closed, and completely settable AC and heat (spring can be a bit tricky and we ended up using a bit of both). A few stairs to reach the elevator on the ground floor and some more stairs inside this particular apartment (apparently not in the other 2 apartments). One downside is that the "Pearl" apartment is at the very top of the building, with sharply sloping ceilings and some very low doors, so at 6 ft (181 cm), I ended up hitting my head a bit, and the need to slouch sometimes put a bit of strain on the lower back. This would be something to consider if you are tall, and especially if you are both tall and have a heavy build. We would definitely return, but next time we might consider selecting one of the other 2 apartments, forgoing the incredible view for a bit more headroom.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OsakaWino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.1 mi away
Locanda della Posta
Locanda della Posta
#24 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Priori Hotel
Priori Hotel
#55 of 66 in Perugia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#12 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Umbria Hotel
Umbria Hotel
#49 of 66 in Perugia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#17 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mini Resort Fontana Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mini Resort Fontana Maggiore

Property: Mini Resort Fontana Maggiore
Address: Via della Gabbia 11, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mini Resort Fontana Maggiore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mini Resort Fontana Maggiore Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing