We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why waste time going elsewhere?”
Review of Astor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Astor Hotel
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Sai Kung
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Why waste time going elsewhere?”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My experience says "Cruiserman", "Sweetwater" and "Cathy J" have got it right. The Astor Hotel is convenient, clean, comfortable, friendly, with good bathroom facilities and pleasant breakfast with great coffee, but I would imagine it could get noisy.

It takes 2 minutes to walk to the Astor Hotel after getting off the train at Perugia’s main station. Perugia has several train stations but the main Italian State Railways (FS) station is named simply "Perugia" and is in the area referred to as "Fontivegge".

The hotel is just across the rather busy road to the right, leaving you free to go exploring within 15 minutes of arrival.

After checking in, to get to the summit of the town, the Mini Metro cable car leaves every minute from just north of the station for the best trip up at the cost of a bus ticket, and buses leave from outside the station door. The “G” bus goes up to Plaza Italia.

The Fontivegge area is not so thrilling itself but there are some restaurants and a bars nearby if necessary, as well as a MacDonalds.

Room Tip: Best not to get a room facing the train station as I reckon they'd get traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eat-no-fat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    83
    44
    18
    4
See reviews for
35
58
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel. I just wanted to say that it was a wonderful experience. Our grown kids and grandkids had never traveled internationally before this trip and the hotel and its staff made it a great experience for them,
It is very centrally located by the bus and train station. Very easy to navigate to and from. The prices were great. The breakfast was superb and Paola brought us cake that she "homemade". Marco made the best cappuccino in the whole country (we went to several other cites to do the historical experience and the coastal ares too).
Their English was superb and their children were so well behaved, we hope they will visit us in the US one day!
Thank you for the wedding suprise gifts for the newly weds and all your help in navigation while we were there.
Great rooms, great service and location and amenities were superb!

Room Tip: any available would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

The location is great and just next to the Perugia station. Easy to get the MiniMetro into the centre but it stops at 9 pm.Our  room was very spacious,clean and adequate which fulfilled our needs. Supply of bathing amenities is available. Breakfast is good. Staff is really nice and we've really liked Mrs. Rossi!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruiserman1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
386 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

wont recommend long term. in center of township near railway stn and the mini metro. very basic room, avg breakfast, free wifi, free parking ltd.

Room Tip: higher floor please
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
343 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

For a one or two night visit the Astor is well located across from the train station and very close to the MiniMetro. Staff was very helpful. Rooms very clean and on the small side. Decent breakfast. Excellent Wifi in rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel was cheap compared to others in Perugia but the service was great and the room was clean and spacious. Also free wifi in room. Even though it is in front of the train station no noise could be heard from the room.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Pretty convenient location, just across from Perugia main train station ("Pontivegge"), as well as from the stops of several main city bus lines (town center 10/15mn ride, service starts at 5 a.m.), and a 5mn walk to the automatic "Minimetro" which will take you every 5/10mn (10/15mn ruide) to the city center and the tourist office, as well as to the two main "piazze", for regional coach lines (to Assisi etc). NB Perugia is all steps and escalators to reach the town certer, and it is not too easy to drive around either. The day staff of Hotel Astor (2 ladies) was very nice and helpful, whereas the night warden (an elderly gentleman) was "out" without notice at 10 p.m. when we and other clients needed help -we had to go down as nobody was answering the phone, but there was no one at the reception; and he was nowhere to be seen, having a smoke or chatting with a friend outside. Apparenty he came back from outside some time later ???! Also we had to ask to change rooms because there was a very bad sewer smell in the room we had been given (apparently common "when it rains", sic). The disinfectant and the deodorizer that the cleaning lady sprayed down the drains and in every corner of the bathroom did not do much more than irritate our lungs, and a full airing day was not of much help either; in fact the perfume plug near the entrance should have been a warning in itself. There was no such problem in the other room. Not much choice restaurant wise in the neighborhood (business district) besides fast food restaurants and pizzerie, except for an "osteria" located a block away from the hotel, with good food and good service for reasonable prices, "El Mangiafuocco".

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#12 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.7 mi away
San Ercolano Hotel
San Ercolano Hotel
#31 of 66 in Perugia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Centova
Hotel Centova
#11 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bonazzi
Hotel Bonazzi
#50 of 66 in Perugia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#14 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Hotel

Property: Astor Hotel
Address: Piazza Vittorio Veneto 1 | Perugia Train Station, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Astor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staff friendly and helpful and Good location to reach historical center of Perugia. The hotel is wery well located for train travellers because it is in front of Perugia train station, but also for guests who reach us by car because is close to the highway (exit San Faustino). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Astor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Hotel Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing