We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandri dal 1860

Sandri dal 1860
Ranked #3 of 14 Bakeries in Perugia
Price range: US$5 - US$22
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Yavne
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The place is in the city centre and was very crowded. We tried several pastries, chocolates & some cookies but didn't find them exceptional as some of the reviews indicated. Maybe we just didn't try the right pastries , but our experience was just average.

Helpful?
1 Thank dave_kent_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    179
    91
    69
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“highly recommended.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

you will definitely find it in your way, since it's right in the city center. you will be amazed by its vitrine and then by its interior. coffee and sweets are great and the prices are cheaper than you would expect from such a place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank gkont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Triste Notizia, Sad News”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

For over a year, I have looked forward to going to Pasticceria Sandri for breakfast when I arrived in Perugia. I had read numerous extremely favorable reviews about this landmark on Corso Vannucci. When we arrived for the Jazz Festival there was a closed-chiuso sign on the door. What a travesty . It is finished after opening in 1860. It is my understanding it closed for financial ( costs management) reasons. I am sorry to report this at this time. Hopefully, it will reopen soon.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelQueenSRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This place stole my heart.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

This cafe has been in the same Swiss family since the early 1800 with original painted vaulted ceilings and wooden placards. I felt as though i had been taken back in time. Waiters in red jackets and waist coats and service to match. Hand made cakes, buns, chocolates, candid sweets and much more. I have not seen this sort of business and service for years. I do like quality and value for money but this whole experience just blew me away.

I looked for the on trip advisor as soon as i could but found it difficult to find.

With a coffee we had free nibbles, i had a proseco which was smooth and we both had patisseries. The bill was 6.90 euros and i would happily have paid more.
Its clearly a passion for the current owner.
Go and seek it out and be transported back in time. Chat to the lady owner in her booth with the till.
Outstanding!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yorkslasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Hot chocolate, oh my goodness!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

This place is fun to visit. It's a small pasticceria, but they also serve sandwiches and simple savory food. The walls are lined with as many licquers as you could name, and some pretty amazing looking candies too. The thing that really knocked off our socks was the hot chocolate, a thick, dark chocolate brew, laced with a bit of cinnamon. It was probably the best hot chocolate we have ever had. Their cappuccino and macchiato were average, in our opinion. Same with the one pastry we ate, a chocolate tart. The shop was quite crowded on the two occasions we visited, filled with locals wanting their coffee or a swallow of grappa or a snack. The atmosphere was indeed old time, and it was also fun to look at the fantastic pastries in the window display.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank noahsmomhwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandri dal 1860 also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 
Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Sandri dal 1860? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing