We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booysen I & G”
Review of Ilgo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ilgo Hotel
Ranked #18 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Booysen I & G”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We stayed at Illgo hotel for one night, we had not booked and were lucky to get the last room available. We were warmly greeted by Andrea at reception who was very friendly and helpful.
The room was very comfortable and homely and the restaurant serves a very good meal.
We enjoyed our stay, the setting is beautiful and peaceful. We would definately stay here again if we visit the area next time we are in Italy

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    297
    149
    36
    20
See reviews for
150
301
17
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed at the hotel for 3 days in mid-august. It turned out to be the best hotel AND location out of the various hotels during our trip to Europe. The hotel is extremely quaint, hotel very clean, restaurant superb and favorably priced but most importantly, the staff is truly courteous and very helpful in every way.

The room was well appointed with a mini-fridge stocked with items you can purchase (great for the midnight craving!). The internet was free with very good speeds (just ask for access at reception). Once again, for a 3 star hotel, we found the hotel is in excellent condition and very, very clean.

Ilgo hotel is located within a brisk walk to the city (Corso Vanucci),making the location ideal for those wishing to explore the serenity of the mountainous region while having access to the city center.

During our stay, we had daily breakfast which consisted of cereals, cheeses, breads, milk and juices to the traditional cafe and cappuccino. The selection was more than sufficient to make our breakfast different on a daily basis. At night, the hotel front entrance has a courtyard allowing for evenings at night to enjoy you apperitif and or some wine. In fact, the hotel has a great selection of wines and the General Manager - Fabrizio helped us to choose a fantastic wine made of Sagrantino grapes. Don't hesitate to inquire about wines.

I can go on and on and on but as stated above, it was truly an outstanding find. P.s. The parking was also FREE!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinsdale, IL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Our family of 3 stayed for 4 nights during the Jazz Festival, which was fabulous. The rates were very fair and included a great breakfast, A/C, WiFi and parking. The hotel is on a hillside so the walk into town takes 20 minutes uphill which is perfect exercise considering the amount of pasta and gelatto we love! Parking is hard to find and very expensive in the city center so this was a great alternative. The hotel does have a shuttle but you must check the schedule. It's easy to take the shuttle to town, enjoy the sites and then walk home downhill. The hotel needs to be refurbished and updated, but the staff is excellent with knowledge and charm. We would stay again there when in Perugia.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank beachwalk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I stayed at the Ilgo Hotel for 7 nights during a business trip to Italy. The hotel is quite far away from the city center, but the neighborhood is very quite. The room I stayed in (#411) was spacious and clean. The air conditioning was working properly. The worst thing about it was the floor of the shower cabin. Also the fixed shower head was quite annoying. One of the problems I had was the ants in the room that I could not get rid off although I informed the reception. As far as the breakfast served in Italian hotels is oncerned the breakfast was very rich. The staff were very polite, spoke fluent English and were very willing to help. If you have a car, you might consider Hotel Ilgo, otherwise I would suggest you to stay in a central hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a balcony are more spaious. Also if you stay in summer, I would suggest you to stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canertas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warschau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed only one night in the hotel, but we enjoyed our stay.

As it was winter (early February) the hotel was almost empty and maybe that was the reason the staff seeemed to be a little bored. But still, they were very welcoming and nice to us. Room was better than in other 3* hotels that we stayed in Italy, plus our double bed was a one mattress. Bathroom quite clean and nice - the only issue was the shower outflow hole, which - due to the inclination of the shower floor - looked like it was going to collapse down...

The weather during our stay was quite unusual as for Italy. The whole area was covered with snow, and to get to the hotel by a car you must drive down a very steep unpaved road which is not beeing much serviced during the winter. When you get down the road you must take a sharp right turn to the hotel - which because of the icy and still steep road we weren't able to take! Our rented car didn't have winter tires (yeah, it's Italy..) so with all the snow on the road we also couldn't drive back up the hill and we had to drive all the way around the area to get again to the top of the hill for a second (this time successful) attempt.

But again, for the price we stayed (less than EUR 45/night) I would stay there again

Plus:
- well maintained and comfortable room (shower could require some works)
- nice view on the park and valley
- tasty breakfast

Minus:
- as there were almost no other guests in the hotel, the hotel restaurant was closed in the evening and the staff advised us to look for a restaurant outside the hotel, which considering location of the hotel would require walking a least 15 minutes to the nearest place...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view on the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gregggor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sotogrande, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This was the 2nd time we stayed at this charming Hotel Ilgo because we remember the excellent service in a very calm environment yet close to everrything in Perugia. It was again a delight to have comfortable and very clean rooms, enjoy one of the best cuisines and the fabulous warm service that Italians can deliver better than everyone, when they want. What makes it a very rare experience nowadays is that the prices are those of a 3-star but you receive more for your money. It is sad to say so but more often than not you seem to receive less for more so when you are satisfied that the price/quality relationsjhip is in your favour you have to write and express it if only to compensate for other dissapointing experiences we have commented on. Well done!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaristi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My friend and I loved staying at this hotel. Located in one of the quietest spots in Perugia, very close to the city medieval centre by car or by the hotel’s shuttle service, this is the idea lodging for a relaxed and pleasant visit to the city and Umbria.

From the hotel’s privileged location, we were able to visit other towns such like Assisi and Spoleto, and take daily pleasant country drives, always coming back to a warm reception by the owners and the staff.

The rooms are well appointed with beautiful views and the restaurant offers varied and well prepared dishes with that delicious taste of the Italian cuisine. We enjoyed every meal we had at the hotel as well as the cordial and accommodating service. We are planning to go back to Perugia and staying at the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CocoTravels38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Signa
Hotel Signa
#13 of 66 in Perugia
509 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
1,413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#4 of 66 in Perugia
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Perusia
Hotel Perusia
#23 of 66 in Perugia
911 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#14 of 66 in Perugia
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ilgo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ilgo Hotel

Property: Ilgo Hotel
Address: Via Agostino di Duccio 1, 06122, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ilgo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the day while staying Perugia and in Umbria. Its strategic location in downtown Perugia yet surrounded by a quiet and green area is one of the reasons of its success. Lively and spacious rooms, equipped with all comforts, will make you feel at home. All superior rooms have a balcony facing the surrounding hills and the quiet green area in which the hotel is located. You will be able to have room service in the room upon request. Ask the reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ilgo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilgo Hotel Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing