We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to the old city walls.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed here for a week over the new year period with our 5 yo. The hotel is in a perfect location just outside the old city with a 5 minute walk away. It offers parking too. We stayed in a triple room that wasn't huge but was adequate, clean and comfortable. Best of all was our window faced onto the area where the huge fireworks display was set up. These went on and on at midnight to the excitement of our son.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2011

We definitely spent a great time in Perugia at the Sangallo Palace Hotel.
Staff is professional, kind and dedicated.
Service is excellent and facilities greatly enjoyable.They include a swimming pool and a fitness centre.
Rooms are clean and the hotel is conveniently located downtown at a walking distance to all main sights and attractions.
Also, Perugia is a wonderful medieval city in a cosy and friendly environment.

I have been very satisfied with it and I will recommend the hotel to anyone who wish to spend some time in Perugia.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I stayed there a few times while in Perugia for business, and found the hotel clean and confortable, with a very helpful and professional staff and a nice pool. Breakfast was good too and the rooms large. Being modern, it lacks a bit the atmosphere you could expect in a medieval town, but IMHO its problem is the location, outside the historical center, even if close. In Perugia you have to walk a lot and the few minutes more (and uphill) it takes to go from the hotel to the center can be demanding. So I wouldn't exactly recommend it to families with little children or to elderly people, there are more convenient options in the center at the same price. I'm giving it a 3, but my real rating is a 3 and a half, because the hotel itself is all right

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clafromitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Thank you, Sangallo Palace staff, for making our visit to Perugia so special. We have been staying in your hotel at Christmas and New Year's since 2003, but haven't been there for about 4 years. The hotel renovations and room upgrades are totally up-to-date and make it even more pleasurable to stay with you. Thanks to Sandro and Andrea and everyone else for information about Perugia. The traditional Christmas Fair inside the Rocca Paolina walls was so much fun, we went several times. Very convenient to step out of the hotel and be inside the walls within minutes ... and on to excellent restaurants, art galleries, churches, etc. We will be back soon! (The Jacuzzi tub was a wonderful bonus!) Other guests we spoke with at breakfast were equally enthusiastic about Sangallo Palace -- particularly about how helpful and kind all the staff are! Buone feste!

Room Tip: All the views from rooms are great, as we have stayed on both sides of the hotel, but we especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bpoynter77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Not right downtown but close enough. Not too expensive but confortable. Not too dressy but casual enough, we were looking for a place just like Sangallo. Friendly staff, Humberto gave us good directions and recommendations on how to visit the city and where to go for dinner and shopping for pottery. Good breakfast, service with a smile. Highly recommended for a relaxing stay in Perugia.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rejane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

The Sangallo Palace is just outside the old city of Perugia. From the train we took the bus to the depot, at a square right across from the hotel. It took no more than 4 minutes to walk from the hotel to the city itself. The staff were extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Very good size room and bathroom. We were two women and were very comfortable in the room. If I returned to Perugia, this is where I would stay again. Very, very convenient in every way.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaritab710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Excellent location for city tour, only few minutes walking to the escalators, leading to old cities' main street and main attractions, museums, restaurants end shopping center. Central bus station is next door (only about 2.5 travelling hours to Rome by bus) . Comfortable and clean room and helpful staff. Very good price value et current season.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabizolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,226 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
861 reviews
3.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#19 of 65 in Perugia
547 reviews
4.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
3.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Masi 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#2 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £70 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia
Sangallo Palace Hotel Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing