We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Great room and facilities. Made my family and I feel very welcome and offered lots of helpful advice.

Provided unbelievable support to resolve a local traffic issue almost a year after our stay !

Cannot recommend highly enough

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

224 - 230 of 1,561 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

Good location for jazz festival, in between the big arena and Giardini Carducci with free music all day and evening. Walking distance to the historic centre.
We had a room with a very nice small balcony where we could listen to the jazz music from the big areana and look at the fantastic view of the town and landscape aorund.
The breakfast was OK, but if you want to skip the breakfast and sleep instead, the staff in the hotel starts calling you on phone and knocking on your door just to make sure you wake up despite that we had selected "DO NOT DISTURB" on the door. We would not recommend this hotel for people allergic to dust because we found a thick layer of house dust underneath the bed. We have travelled a lot and are used to friendly and service minded staff but this hotel is different. As all hotels in Italy, the beds was very hard.

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2_music_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My friend and I just returned from Italy. We spent five nights at the Sangallo Palace Hotel in Perugia.
We had a great experience there. The reception staff was welcoming and helpful especially Umberto
and the two Andre's. We had several problems come up not connected with the hotel and they went
out of their way to help us, They made excellent suggestions on ways to get around the area.
The location is not in old town but just at the base of it across from the bus station and near the
escalator tunnel which leads you right up into the city center of Perugia. Our room was clean and
comfortable. If you want a soft bed however you will be disappointed. The breakfast area is light and
roomy and there are lots of selections. I highly recommend the Sangallo Palace where I feel we
made some nice friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Although the rooms in this hotel are fairly basic, the hotel is centrally located and the staff were very helpful. The gym & pool area are in great condition and the rooms are clean and tidy. The staff at front desk recommended some delicious restaurants for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R_BMACD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

The hotel has its own parking (reasonable fee of 12 Euro per day with in out feature whenever wanted. It is air conditioned (a necessity in the summer). Our room on the 5th floor had a balcony with table and 2 chairs + magnificent view. The staff is very friendly and eager to help out with any questions. The fact that it is almost adjacent to the escalator leading to the main street is certainly an advantage. We found that the mattress and pillows were very hard (a detriment). All in all would recommend. The breakfast could have been enhanced for a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: room with balcony on 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The room was a resonable size and the bathroom more than adequate. Air con worked. Great View. The location was good and very central. At the bottom of the hill but could use escalators to go up into the old town - so easily accessible. Adjacent to bus station so very handy for getting about. Could be a bit noisy at times with the window open given the location. But would be very happy to stay there again.

Breakfasts were ok but not the best we've had in Italy so far.

Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Nice hotel situated at 10 walking minutes of the center of Perugia. At the reception desk, SANDRO did an outstanding job: taking care of our car, giving us good tips for restaurants and sites to be visited, made copies of timteables and much more. He never made us feel that he was busy ... Thanks to him, we would recommend the hotel even if the breakfast buffet needs to be improved (only lukewarm black tea available!).
André and Johanna

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andre_K_13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,240 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
866 reviews
4.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#19 of 65 in Perugia
557 reviews
3.4 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
766 reviews
0.2 mi away
Locanda della Posta - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Address: Via Luigi Masi 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#2 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £70 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia
Sangallo Palace Hotel Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing