We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Choice for Perugia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sangallo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Chardon, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Nice Choice for Perugia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

On our tour of the Umbria region we stayed 5 nights at the Sangallo Palace Hotel. Overall we found it to be a very positive experience. The staff were friendly and helpful.the room we had was fairly large, clean and comfortable. The Internet was the best of our trip as we found it to be dependable throughout the facility and fast enough to allow us to send pictures. Our only negative was the quality of the food in the breakfast room seemed to go downhill on the weekend as more guests arrived. The coffee that came out of the beverage machine was terrible when it worked.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower vs a tub if you have trouble high stepping in and out of a high tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    496
    139
    32
    10
See reviews for
264
599
67
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at the Sangallo Palace one night, after visiting Rome and Florence. The hotel was a pleasant surprise with all the amenities of a four star hotel in the USA. The bathroom was very modern and well-equipped. The staff were very helpful, making recommendtions for restaurants, shopping and sight-seeing. The neighborhood was quiet and safe, and a pleasant change from the hustle and bustle in Rome and Florence! I would definitely stay here again and for a longer period of time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I quite liked this hotel. As I was there for work, it served the purpose of being modern, and accessible for cars. However this was a disadvantage as you wouldn't want to walk out of it on your own after dark - a bit cut off from the historic centre. Though during the day, as other commenters say, there is a city escalator that takes you to the the city.
My room was nice with a little balcony - you wouldn't really want to sit on it as it overlooked a bus station though the distant view was nice. Big and well-furnished. Appealing to the eye with a coherent design concept based on Renaissance motifs and colour schemes. The bathroom was lovely. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was OK - I can't really remember it as I was in a different hotel every day for work. Staff were quite distant and not particularly friendly. There were plenty of places to sit if you wanted to sit in the public areas and work though the wi fi was patchy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarrOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Excellent location just a 5 minute escalator ride/walk from the old town center (tons of restaurants, shops, etc). Our room on the 5th floor had awesome views. The room was large with updated bathroom.

Front desk staff was extremely helpful and courteous. They spoke excellent English

Large breakfast room with a nice variety of food choices and coffees.

Parking was right outside of the hotel (extra 15 euros a day)

Overall this hotel was a great value and in a superb location. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Nothing great but had one of the bigger rooms we've stayed in Italy. Very handy to the hill escalators and the post office and bank are in the bottom levels of the building. Post office opens at 8.30 by the way. There is a fairly wide range for breakfast and the rooms are quite comfortable although ours was a bit warm. Would try somewhere different if back one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed two nights and next trip will stay longer.
At front desk both Andrea and Umberto were very helpful and spoke excellent english.
They were helpful in giving us directions and a bus schedule to go up into Centro and answered any questions we presented to them.
The gym and pool are wonderful and the dining experience was five star!
The food for both breakfast and dinner was excellent and the wait staff very accomodating to our every need.
We would highly recogmend this hotel, its staff, service, food and location.
Within walking distance there is alot to see and explore in Centro.
U.S.A. visitors can't wait to return!

Room Tip: King size room was the best if available, but single was great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very comfortable and all the staff were very helpful and cheerful. The location is excellent and the swimming pool provided a welcome respite at the end of a long day of sight-seeing. The bedrooms and en suite bathrooms were large and well appointed and we really enjoyed having a balcony which overlooked the Umbrian countryside. All six members of our group thoroughly enjoyed staying at the San Gallo Palace.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#17 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
4.7 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
3.5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sangallo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sangallo Palace Hotel

Property: Sangallo Palace Hotel
Address: Via Luigi Masi 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Perugia
#2 Business Hotel in Perugia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sangallo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An upscale hotel in the center of it all! Our beautifully renovated Sangallo Palace Hotel is located in the historical centre of Perugia a short stroll from the fascinating and historic Rocca Paolina Fortress. Visit the monuments and tourist attractions of the city centre on foot; relax in the covered swimming pool and use the fully equipped gym that the hotel offers you; enjoy the genuine Umbrian cuisine in our well known Restaurant "Il Sangallo". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Sangallo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sangallo Palace
Sangallo Palace Perugia
Sangallo Palace Hotel Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing