We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel in Ideal Location”
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #19 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This lovely old Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of historic Perugia, with everything you need within easy walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful and the continental breakfasts were very good. Every room is different and some quite quirky. Some of the single rooms are very small but then you don't spend that much time in your room! My small room was clean and comfortable and had everything I needed, although the shower ceiling was rather low and anyone who is taller than about 5ft 7ins tall would probably find it rather difficult. I was on the third floor next to the rather splendid lounge with its vaulted ceiling and frescoes. Outside was a lovely small roof terrace from which to see the sun set. This was both a plus and a minus for me as my window opened onto the terrace and it was to my dismay a smoking area. I was woken early every morning and treated every night to the unwelcome aroma of cigarette smoke from a fellow guest who took his daily nicotine fix directly outside my window. As there is a very large and pleasant roof terrace on the 5th floor which does not adjoin any rooms, I suggested to the management that they restrict smoking to the large terrace. To their credit they said they would certainly consider it. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Footlooseatlast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is in the center of Perugia. It is easy to find it. You can find coffee shops, bars, restaurants etc. around the hotel. Our room was clean; we had good breakfast Hotel staff was helpful. The lift is too small but it is not a big problem I think. I recommend this hotel with good price and good location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IpekKutbayGode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Hotel Fortuna has it all. Outstanding location tucked down a side street close to the main piazza in Perugia, QUIET, gorgeous rooms, wonderful bath, great price/value, beautiful sunny breakfast room with nice European breakfast (fruit, breads, pastries, eggs, etc.). Excellent Italian coffee. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Also -- very very clean. We really felt like we hit the jackpot with this hotel, and we'd definitely recommend it to others. My favorite hotel of our two-week trip through Italy.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor had a ceiling mural with birds, just beautiful. Room was large with big ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoreBounceInCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

No better place to stay if you are looking for a way to suck in all the atmosphere of the town. Its in the heart of old town. A 3 min walk from everything that is worth seeing. Splendid view over the city and the region. Get a room with a view. Ask for it because as any midevil town the windows usually face the wall of the building next to yours.Lovely setting, very helpful and friendly staff, good breakfast. Rooms are adequate.Small but nice and clean bathrooms. A good experience, very authentic. Wifi is good. If in Perugia you should consider staying there.

Room Tip: Top floor, make sure you ask for a room with a view in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The Fortuna Hotel is very well located in the heart of the old town of Perugia, but the counterpart is the difficulty of reaching and especially parking. The hotel is very nice, room 502 has a splendid view over the city and the region. The rooms are very large (at least 502!) Very comfortable and the breakfast is fine. The reception staff is very cheerful, friendly and efficient ... a very good place in Perugia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chalupin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This is a happy place where you'll get a warm welcome. The hotel is mere steps from all the sights of medieval Perugia, as well as good restaurants (try Ristorante Altromondo for instance or the enoteca across from the Fortuna for a nightcap). My family had two executive rooms. Room 502 is on the fifth floor with a large private balcony over the rooftops - great if you don't mind walking up the stairs (the lift only reaches the 4th floor). And room 309 on the third floor, which is large and has two small bathrooms, but most importantly, a fantastic painted ceiling. Outside 309 is a large common seating area and access to a communal balcony. We were sorry to leave!

Room Tip: In summer, opt for an executive room offering a private balcony and city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Queen_of_NW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

Dear Guests,

we are very happy to read your review and we hope to welcome your beautiful family again.
Yours truly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Lovely setting, very helpful and friendly staff. good breakfast. Rooms small, but adequate. Close to all the action and walking distance to anywhere you want to go. Instructions on how to get there are a bit limited.

Room Tip: If you arrive by bus, ignore the instructions on how to get there. It's tricky. Turn left up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#7 of 65 in Perugia
1,560 reviews
4.7 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#15 of 65 in Perugia
280 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#29 of 65 in Perugia
589 reviews
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 65 in Perugia
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Address: Via Luigi Bonazzi 19, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perugia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Perugia
Hotel Fortuna Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing