We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely place to stay in Perugia!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Fortuna

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Fortuna
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in Perugia!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

A remarkable 13th century building located in Perugia's historical district.Beautifully appointed guest rooms, arched stone roofs, frecos, beautiful wood floors, stunning breakfast room, fantastic library and roof top terrace. Every room that I visited was extremely clean. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful; breakfast staff not so much. This was by far the best hotel that we stayed in during our 2014 italy trip; and the least expensive by over $100/night.

Room Tip: Our friends had a 5th floor room with a terrace. Our room was to the front of the hotel along the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ranunculalus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear kind guests,

in a very few words you describe perfectly our building and its peculiarities, this hotel has a great history and we are very keen to recall it.
Also cleaning and hospitality are at the basis of our work , we try everyday to do the best, we thank you to have point it out.
We are extremely happy to have been your best hotel in Italy!
All the staff thank you and we hope to see you soon here in Perugia.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    236
    58
    10
    10
See reviews for
68
229
30
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This was a first trip to Perugia, so figuring out which hotel to book was a small challenge. With a central location as a primary factor, we chose Hotel Fortuna. The hotel is located just steps off the main street, Corso Vannuci and was a perfect location. The staff was very friendly and very helpful when it came to booking a tour of the Perugina Chocolate Factory. The room was spacious and clean and the bed comfortable. We had a room that faced the street and while you could hear people sometime, the noise was not a problem.Breakfast was your standard fare. The roof deck on the 5th floor was a wonderful place to sit and soak up the sun and the sights on a sunny day. Sunset from the roof deck was also quite impressive. Definitely worth a stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EL_BOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear kind guests from Boston,
we are so glad for your beautiful words...we hope that your stay at the Hotel Fortuna was pleasant and relaxing, we always try to make our guests feel "as at home".
We hope to welcome you again here, maybe in summertime!
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

The location of the hotel is very good and the staff is friendly in a businesslike manner. The breakfast room is pretty, the breakfast itself mediocre. Everything else about the hotel was not up to par. We had booked an economy room and therefore did not expect too much luxury, but what we found in room 203 was not what we would expect from a 3 star hotel. The bed was the worst I had during our two week round trip. The bathroom was ok and clean enough, but not great. The ventilation was bad. One day the air from the air conditioning smelled like a sewer! Even for an economy room, I would expect much better than this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbergoFortuna, Direttore at Hotel Fortuna, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mrs Patricia,

we thank you for your opinion, it is very important for us and thanks also to have appreciated our position and staff.
We are really sorry that you haven't got the chance to try our new memory foam, latex or synthetic top and pillows, maybe for the next time!
You stayed in one of our Economy rooms, we inform you that the hotel is provided of 52 rooms, all of them are different, we suggest to try maybe a Standard one, our staff is always at disposal to help you to choose the best room for you.
We hope to welcome you again in the next future.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

A great way of starting an Italian holiday is to begin in a regional city. Perugia and the Fortuna combine to make it a fabulous introduction to a wonderful country.

The Fortuna is situated in the historical centre of the old hill town amid the rich history which combines Etruscan, Roman, Medieval and Gothic. It is on Via Bonazzi, which puts you very easy walking distance to everything in the old city. Modern Perugia is on the flat land surrounding the base of the hill. The hotel’s rooms are comfortable, many quite large, with good bathrooms. You can choose between being on Via Bonazzi, or at the back, facing towards hills and a courtyard. It is useful if you state your preference in your booking. Continental breakfast is included and there are good choices of cereals, breads, cheeses and meats, plus some hot choices. They make great coffee which is made by the staff and brought to your table. The staff are friendly and very obliging.

The hotel also has a gorgeous library/lounge, decorated in 18th century style. It’s a restful and tranquil space. Better still, there is a roof terrace on two floors which gives you not only sun and fresh air but also wonderful views to the valley below. The hotel also has apartments.

A few steps away down Via Bonazzi, you enter Corso Vanucci, an enormous pedestrian, paved space with several cafes and restaurants, clothing and beauty stores as well as pharmacies, and tourist shops selling paper goods, cards etc. The key historical buildings are located here, including the cathedral (built in the 15th century), Collegio del Cambio, (Corporation of Money Changers established in 1452), Palazzo dei Priori (the Priory, building commenced in 1292), the Merchant’s Guild building and the Fontana Maggiore (fountain). Palazzo dei Priori became the National Gallery of Umbria in the late 1800s and houses a vast collection as well as modern exhibitions, including photography. At the opposite (closest) end is Piazza Italia and access to bus transport both at the piazza as well as down escalators the take you down three levels to Piazza Partigiani and the regional bus network which basically takes you anywhere in Umbria. The bus also provides easy access to the rail station and the train network of Umbria and wider Italy.

I’ve stayed at the Hotel Fortuna twice and have found its service consistent and its location unbeatable.

Room Tip: stipulate your preference for street or hill facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

My family and I stayed here for 3 nights in December 2013. Absolutely perfect location, really close to the city center (although Perugia is a small town and nothing is really too far!). Staff at the front desk was very helpful, rooms were spacious. Had to book 2 rooms for a family of 4. There are different terraces on different floors, great if you are a smoker or just want to enjoy a night of fresh air. Breakfast is awesome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days over Christmas 2013. Our rooms were warm and comfortable with lots of storage space. The staff were very friendly and extremely knowledgable about local services. The reading room was a very good place to gather and we were able to use it with our own wine for an evening drink, as the hotel was not too full over Christmas. Other guests were frequent visitors because of the hotel's central position, cosy,welcoming atmosphere and very reasonable charges. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, choose a room not overlooking the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia9_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in Oct. As someone earlier mentioned, some of the rooms are a little odd. Would recommend you ask for a room with a view. The breakfast is excellent. There is a really nice roof terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manslick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.1 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Castello di Monterone
Castello di Monterone
#1 of 66 in Perugia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#31 of 66 in Perugia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primavera Mini Hotel
Primavera Mini Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fortuna

Property: Hotel Fortuna
Address: Via Luigi Bonazzi 19, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perugia
#14 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Fortuna 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Fortuna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortuna Hotel Perugia
Hotel Fortuna Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing