We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Hotel has two parts - Jazz and Wine areas connected under the road. Some of the rooms in Jazz area has massage chairs. 5 kinds of croissants at breakfast. Espresso (coffee) or cappuccino better to ask at breakfast, then you will have the best, it is free.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with massage chair!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanislavs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Hotel Gio has a Jazz area and a wine area. We stayed in the wine area. Rooms and large, but in general unconfortable. The chairs are wine barrels. Fun, but not nice to sit in. Balcony to the north - no sun and no furtiture at the balcony. Breakfast was noisy and quality wise below average. The restaurant was to expensive and we never found the wine bar.
Metro is close to the hotel, but htey close in the evening. If you want to go to the city centre you have to drive by car - not practical. Lot of parking space - remember your Garmin. Perugia is not an easy town to drive in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jensen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The room is ok and the free parking was great!

Besides that, everything was so dissappointing!
- Really small pool area
- Awful food in the restaurant and slow service.
- Fitness room was not well equipped
- The hotel was difficult to locate

We had chosen this hotel because of its facilities which is why, it was so dissappointing.

The restaurant served gnocchi with a rubber-like texture. The meat tasted like tender beef which had been glued back together, and the truffle was not freshly grinded but instead a paste which had been mixed with some kind of sauce depending on the dish. We had to send two dishes back as they were so poorly prepared. We certainly will not recommend neither the hotel or the area in which the hotel is located to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mi1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

After a long delayed train journey, this hotel was a lovely surprise. A little out of the way if you are travelling from Perugia station, so probably wise to take a taxi. The building looks very plain from the outside, but as soon as you walk in, it is a quirky assortment of jazz-related items, such as vinyl records, pianos and everything music.

Check-in was friendly and quick. It was later at night, so a kind gentleman quickly arranged our room and took our particulars so we could relax. He was also good at helping us purchase a bottle of wine for the room, and opened the wine, providing glasses.

The room was lovely, quirky and fun. Jazz themed, it had a CD player on the wall, huge comfy bed and whirlpool bath. The room was spacious, with a good big TV. The only downsides to the room were the dated curtains, and the headboard was uncomfortable with large dominos hanging from a metal rail.

The bathroom was good, however the shower was not wall mounted, and there was no shower screen, which resulted in a soaking wet bathroom if you tried to shower yourself. However, the quirk if the whirlpool bath was great.

Breakfast was lovely. Large choice, with coffee, tea, pastries, biscuits, cakes, meat, toast, etc. Massive dining room was jazz themed. The only let down was that coffee was available to order, but staff didn't offer this, and talked amongst themselves instead of paying attention to guests.
The day staff weren't quite as friendly as night, but overall great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel has two reception.
Our reception & room were Jazz area.

The room was basic.(not bad for €70 per night! ), free parking space & free wifi including breakfast.

The air-con was not working at all but we fixed ourselves by putting the two card into the room's key slot. (even though it's not effective.)

The hotel location was good as we could get to the old city (Top of the hill) by "Mini Metro" and the station is close to the hotel.
We walked down the hill to the hotel using the iPhone apple map & GPS. It's only took 15mins.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomHattty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Are there other jazz hotels? All three daily meals superb in this hotel.Eight, count 'em, 8 pianos in the lobby. State of the art 300 seat theatre in venue, plus enormous wine cellar. Really cool wall-mounted cd player in rooms with old timey amp-like pull-down starter string and great sound. Unique piano keyboard floor in tunnel connecting the two different buildings. Really a treat to stay, eat and play in one place.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bsmithSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room was great and very large and the staff was friendly and helpful. The double room has a massage chair so after a day of work it was blissful, plus the cappucino served in the lobby was the best I drank in the city. The hotel is very close to the train station, mini-metro and the Old Town so it was convenient. If i would ever come back to Perugia I would chose the same hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gabriela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#7 of 65 in Perugia
1,525 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,222 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#9 of 65 in Perugia
1,470 reviews
5 mi away
Relais San Clemente
3 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £59 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing