We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay. Just what we wanted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Ranked #10 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay. Just what we wanted.”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We had a really nice stay here during Umbria Jazz 2014. OK the décor is a little dated and maybe not very chic but the place is really nice and in a very good location. We enjoyed walking into the centro storico whilst it was cooler and took the mini metro when we felt like it. The breakfast was excellent. They have signs up now saying, in English and Italian, that if you are not in a hurry they will bring you fresh coffee rather than have it from the machine (which was awful). Otherwise the breakfast is fantastic with loads of choice and all you can eat. I used the gym and never saw anybody else in there. 2 running machines, 2 bikes and two step machines. So small but adequate. The pool is nice. Located on the roof it was quiet when we first got there but was more crowded later in our stay. We didn't eat in the restaurant as it looked expensive but we had room service one night and the food was very good. The is masses of parking, which for a city hotel is a boon, but having said that we never used our car in 11 days! We were just enjoying Perugia too much. Overall it's pushing it to call it 4 star but it was comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fraser T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServizioClientiApice, Direttore at Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Fraser T for your review. It's nice to know that your stay was the way you expected it.
Hope to see you soon again in Perugia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    538
    171
    52
    12
See reviews for
158
555
37
258
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Spent weekend for the Umbria Jazz festival. Hotel location is great as it's within short walking distance from the small metro that goes to historical city center. Hotel facilities are excellent, rooms spacious and clean, even with a massage chair! Staff are friendly and the whole thing is just perfect, deserves the 4* category. Love it and will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServizioClientiApice, Direttore at Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you R S !
It's so nice to hear that you'll come back! We wait for you soon then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My wife and I came into Perugia for the Umbria Jazz Festival planning on just staying for the day, but it was such an amazing event we needed to find a place to crash so we could stay all night. Hotel Gio Jazz (it has another part called Hotel Gio Wine, which is way too stuffy and also unnecessarily pricey) was just the ticket! A cozy, somewhat oddly (but also charmingly) decorated room with a balcony and a great bathroom served us very nicely. Everything was clean and neat, and the man working the front desk spoke excellent English. The rooftop pool is awesome, especially at night (but also a little chilly), and the continental breakfast...FANTASTIC. Plus they had a free shuttle up the hill to the festival until 2 am, which was perfect, because Umbria Jazz is worth staying up late for!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServizioClientiApice, Direttore at Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you Aaron S for your review!
We are glad that your stay was great, and that you liked Umbria Jazz so much!
come and visit next year too! We look forward to meeting you again in Perugia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Too big and had two receptions.
Ladies in the receptions were truly friendly :)

Restaurant was too posh for us and we wated far too long.
Air condition didnt work in our other bedroom.
No proper blankets in beds.

Four stars? Why?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tepuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServizioClientiApice, Direttore at Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear friend,
Thank you for your review. I am really happy that the Staff was friendly!
In which room did you stay? Did you telle the Staff about the disruption of the air conditioning?
I am sure that, if you told them, they would have tried to find a solution.
What do you mean by saying "proper blanket"? Our blankets have standard measures that fit the italian mattresses.
I am sad to read that, to you, our service and hotel don't match up to four stars. I assure you that our standards comply to the international ones.
I hope you come back soon to Perugia and that you'll stay again at Hotel Giò.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is good for larger parties. Very much on the outskirts of the City. We were 100 people and the hotel was able to accommodate us and plenty of room to move around.
Access into Perugia was via mini metro but path down to it was a bit hard to find.
Positives were very friendly front desk, Breakfast was good quality as well, machine coffee ok, croissants and other Italian cakes were fresh.

Negatives - Some rooms overlooking car park were noisy, and too close to refuse area. We had a frosty reception from the maitre D in the restaurant but maybe that was because we were too many arriving at once and we had not booked.

Easy access to Assisi Spoleto and other Umbrian towns.. and trains to Rome regularly leave main station for 2 hours....

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room higher up than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CotswoldBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Interesting hotel...big but with a homely 'old-style' Italian feel, the hotel is just outside Perugia but only two stops on the mini metro (10 minute walk) to the centre of Perugia.

There are good and not so good things about it.

1) Importantly, the staff were very helpful and available when needed.
2) The rooms were clean but it would have been nice to have better TV (not that we were spending time watching TV)
3) There is wifi - though it could be slow
4) The breakfasts are efficient and more than adequate, though it would have been nice to have real coffee rather than a machine.
5) The way to the mini-metro is rather odd but once you work it out, an adventure of its own.
6) The mini metro is fabulous
7) Perugia is great and theres lots to do and see, plus the trains to places like Assisi are incredibly cheap 2//3 euros at certain times of the day (more expensive 7/8 euros at others).

Room Tip: Dont choose 217! It has twin beds. I was with my partner & we didn't mind, but two friends w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel is located outside of Perugia but still in walking distance if you like hill walking. The other alternative is the MiniMetro, 300m from the hotel. The hotel is nicely decorated and Jazz features in almost every part of their decoration. The rooms are spacious and ours had a massage chair - a very good idea for business travellers! The bed was comfortable and the room quiet. The breakfast was a little less impressive as many items were no longer available after a large group of Russian travellers have been to the breakfast room shortly before us. And there is a trick how to get a good coffee instead of the instant coffee from the machine...
What was a little disappointing was the fact that the hotel prides itself with Wine and Jazz, but there was no option for wine tasting, only for buying. When we asked, we were sent to the hotel bar where a waitress poured a glass of wine (about 100ml) and asked for 3 Euro. No information about what wine we were drinking. This aspect definitively needs improvement. Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bpo-spam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.7 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,421 reviews
1.0 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#9 of 65 in Perugia
1,367 reviews
3.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,150 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
0.6 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#6 of 65 in Perugia
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area

Property: Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Address: Via Ruggero d'Andreotto 19, 06124, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel giò wine e jazz area is a hotel divided into two theme areas, dedicated to jazz and wine. The hotel is in the city centre of perugia, 1 km far away from the railway station, and 200 mt from the minimetrò station. You reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by minimetrò.From hotel giò you can reach the historic centre in 5 minutes by car or in 20 minutes on foot. In the hotel jazz lovers will find a music store and an auditorium with jazz concerts in different dates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gio Hotel Perugia
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing