We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, but take your own fluffy towels!”
Review of San Ercolano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Ercolano Hotel
Ranked #34 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Reviewed 4 January 2013

The owners and staff are welcoming, nice people. Rooms are clean but small, main complaint was the towels, more like a linen tea towel, not very absorbent..it would be nice if they had a few fluffy towels with which we could dry our hair ! I have seen this elsewhere in Italy, Dont stay here if you are alergic to stairs or have massive suitcases...good location not far from the funicular/ railway. Havng said that, we were happy considering the fair price.

Room Tip: if you are elderly or have mobility problems, ask to not be on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

Hotel San Ercolano turned out to be a good budget choice.

Despite its central location - hidden in some alley - parking was not a problem.
The friendly staff directed me to a nearby free-parking location. (There are two, one requiring a permit issued by the hotel).

My single room was sufficient for a one-night stay.
It was basic and clean, furnished with (somewhat worn-down) furniture, featuring a comfortable queen-size bed, and with a simple bathroom equipped with a good shower.

For €30 I did not mind that the room was small, that there was no window - at least, the window of the door leading to a small terrace was cardboard-covered - and that it was somewhat noisy when people were passing through the hallway.
Similarly, I did not expect much from the (€5) breakfast, so I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtiBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We will not hesitate to highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Perugia who do not expect extravagant breakfasts and primarily use their room for sleeping/resting: afterall, breakfast to an Italian is not a high priority and you will want to spend your time in the streets, restaurants and bars of the city! For a 2-star hotel, Sant'Ercolano gives you excellent value for your money, boasting a staff that will go to great lengths to accommodate your needs and slight mishaps :-) Ideally situated in the town center, the hotel also saw to our rented car getting adequate lodgings. Don't miss out on Café Sant'Ercolano Bar Sport round the corner, either (great place to enjoy a "spritz" and observe the city life). We will certainly make a point of coming back here!

Room Tip: Room 53 has a great view of the surrounding hills (Assisi) and Perugia itself, room 51 is not bad ei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanFortissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The room and bathroom were clean. It was very much a budget hotel but a comfortable stay. The first morning we went out for breakfast and the next morning we had breakfast at the hotel. The breakfast was disappointing but then we realised that it was no different anywhere else.

The hotel is very close to the main piazza's - but you do get fit going up and down the steep steps every day.

Free parking was available in via Marzia, just off via Baglioni. You literally had to mount to kerb to go into the street so we missed it the first few times and had to drive around the city again. The parking spaces are limited but when you check into the hotel if you give your details in they give you a piece of paper to put in your window.

The only bad point was the creaky bed springs on one side but there was enough room on the other side of the bed for 2 people anyway!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed in another budget accommodation out of the centre and ended up paying 30 euros in taxis and had to put up with pretty unhelpful staff. It was a mistake.

We moved to Sant Ercolano and the staff were amazingly helpful, it was so very central, right by the minimetro, close to museums, restaurants, bars, late night cafes... everything you could need.

The decor is not so modern but it is not a problem and rooms were clean.

I wish we had gone there straight away.

There was also free WIFI.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

I would reccomend san Ercolano hotel to everyone because of few different reasons.
First, the hotel prices are cheap regarding the fact that it is located in the center of historical core of Perugia. Second, the staff there is extremely nice and helpful. First day I had a problem with closing the doors wich led to the terrace wich was used by other people also. So I told to the stuff that this is unpleasant for me, so they gave me another room-room for double actually, for the price of single. Also, I was feeling very well treated and i could ask them anything without hasitating. The only bad thing is that the object has a bad isolation so if you are trying to rest in your room during the day (for example in the afternoon) it is hard to get sleep. Anyways, very very good service for the price!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank metha003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

close to pincetto mini metro stop, kind folks work at desk, very helpful..highly recommend..at 40 Euros a night cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
Umbria Hotel
Umbria Hotel
#40 of 65 in Perugia
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#24 of 65 in Perugia
380 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vega Hotel
Vega Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponte Valleceppi
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Signa
Hotel Signa
#16 of 65 in Perugia
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Priori Hotel
Priori Hotel
#53 of 65 in Perugia
386 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Perusia
Hotel Perusia
#25 of 65 in Perugia
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Ercolano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Ercolano Hotel

Address: Via Bovaro 9, 06121, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £32 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — San Ercolano Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
S. Ercolano Hotel , is a small hotel located opposite the Pincetto stop of Perugia's mini metro, and a 5-minute walk from the mediaeval historic centre. Free parking is available nearby. The S. Ercolano is a converted 17th-century building with views of the Umbrian hills and Assisi in the distance. All rooms of have a private bathroom with bath/shower and hairdryer. S. Ercolano is just 5 minutes' walk from Palazzo dei Priori and just steps away from the 14th-century church it was named after. Perugia Train Station and Bus Station are both within 10 minutes' walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your San Ercolano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Ercolano
San Ercolano Perugia
San Ercolano Hotel Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing