We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful owners, interesting rooms, very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Morlacchi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Morlacchi
Ranked #12 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful owners, interesting rooms, very good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Hotel (Albergo) Morlacchi is a family-run small economy hotel in a central yet quiet location. The owners have tried to make the rooms characterful, with varying degree of success, and sleep quality is average. Even though not impeccable, however, it is clear that the owners try very hard to make quests feel welcome and comfortable.

This Albergo faces Via Tiberi, a small street that is very close to Piazza IV Novembre, the heart of the old walled part of Perugia. Travelers on cars would park in Piazza Partigiani and take elevators to reach the southern part of the old city, while those on trains would take the Minimetrò that connects the Perugia train station (Stazione Fontivegge) to Cupa or Pincetto stop. Cupa is right outside the walls in central west, and seems closer to the Albergo, but needs further ride on elevators and some extra steps. It is easier to get off at the last stop of Pincetto in central east then walk along flatter streets. Via Tiberi is not only central but also on even ground with most Perugian sights of interest, and the location is suitable for sightseeing as well as attending the Umbria Jazz Festival.

The Albergo, in true Umbrian fashion, has many staircases and steps, even inside rooms. The reception and the lobby are reached via a flight of stairs from the building entrance, and there is no elevator. Each room seems to have a unique feature, like an old fresco on the ceiling or a fireplace. The owners are no interior designers; such a feature does not necessarily go hand-in-hand with other decorations and furnishings to form a cohesive image. Our room felt a little dank, bed mattresses were average, and the bathroom could use a bit of cleanup.

The owner family’s hospitality, however, is remarkable and is what makes this otherwise average economy lodging worthy of your consideration. We had chances to interact with the father, mother, and a son of the household, and they were all very pleasant hosts. The son, Michele, commands excellent English and is proactively helpful. He ran down the stairs upon hearing our footsteps at the entrance to greet us and carry our luggage. He cheerfully supplied a city map and pointed to nice eateries that locals go to, and also gave some sound travel advice. The mother also speaks decent English and is very friendly. There is even a very charming and gentle dog on the premise that you can play with.

To summarize, Albergo Morlacchi is a small hotel of average comfort and cleanliness in a very good location. The owner family genuinely tries hard to make the hotel attractive and welcoming, and while not completely successful, it is the effort that counts. We had good enough impressions to give the hotel the “very good” rating of four points in TripAdvisor.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dessertmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    81
    17
    4
    0
See reviews for
53
103
30
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We had a long weekend in Perugia, and Hotel Morlacchi was just what we were looking for, right in the middle of the centro storico, just a minutes' walk from the main square yet peaceful and calm. The family-run hotel was clean and comfortable, and the owners were extremely welcoming and friendly. Wonderful dog Jesse too, felt home from home! We had a wonderful weekend and would recommend it highly.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Rix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We have enjoyed our first visit to Perugia and our stay at the Morlacchi hotel very much. The hotel is in a very good and central location and can easily be reached from the train station, via the mini-metro and a 5-10 minute walk through the center of the city.
The room itself was on the corner of the 1st floor on the street side and had a decent view. The room was comfortable with a good sized bed and proper heating (it was still pretty much winter weather!). The bathroom was also a good size. The room and bathroom were very clean.
Breakfast was basic (typical Italian) but good. Some suggestion for improvement could be to provide yoghurt and a selection of (fresh) fruits.
Overall, this is a good quality hotel with good, friendly, service, especially for a 2*. The price was a bit on the high side though for a 2* hotel, especially since it was still low season.
We would consider staying here again if we can book this hotel for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the street side if you want a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

Hotel location - centrally located but in quiet street, parking on narrow streets (based on luck) or use parking Pellini (short walk + escalators down from the hotel=16Eur max daily rate when we were there)

Hotel - family friendly home like hotel. Clean, welcoming, furnished in Italian style (ceiling in "living room" is typical Umbrian style). Hotel with 3 floors, no elevator (if you are not feeling too fit ask for 1st floor rooms, but they are close to the breakfast area so hope you don't get too loud breakfast guests).

Staff - just splendid. They waited for us for late check-in, always helpful ... I believe they all speak sufficient english.

Room - so-so size, clean and daily cleaned. Comfortable large bed, small bathroom with all amenities.

Food - Italian sweet type breakfast, tea/coffee, yogurts

In summary we would suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZaJaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

What a wonderful find! We were greeted at the hotel with amazing service- all of our questions were answered and there was a relaxed and friendly atmosphere that you do not often find. The staff were fantastic and obviously care about their great little hotel. Our room was full of character and we got some great night sleeps. The breakfasts were brilliant- fresh bread and croissants, yoghurts and teas and coffees- all served to you at your table in the living room, with friendly chat. Nothing is too much for the staff. The hotel is in the beautiful historic part of town and it is easy to walk everywhere. Parking is on narrow lanes but the area is safe. If I ever come back to Perugia- and I really hope I do as it is just wonderful- there is nowhere else I'd rather stay than at the hotel morlacchi.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahO78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Michaele and his father welcomed us, answered all our questions and made sure we were comfortable. That was only the start. We were treated to papa's special wine, with some great cheese and Calabrese dish. Even Nonna was sitting watching TV. the room was comfortable and clean. We visit Italy often but a welcome like this we get rarely. breakfast was great and adequate. overall, I would say this was a memorable visit. Thank you Michael

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I have been staying at this Albergo since I was 9 years old- a long time ago!! I am always greeted warmly and as part of the family. Fantastic location and clean and comfortable rooms. I would always recommend this property.
Annabel from Darwin

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabelDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.5 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#17 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primavera Mini Hotel
Primavera Mini Hotel
#16 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Signa
Hotel Signa
#13 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Morlacchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Morlacchi

Property: Albergo Morlacchi
Address: Via Leopoldo Tiberi 2, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Perugia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albergo Morlacchi 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albergo Morlacchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Morlacchi Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing