We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Museo-Laboratorio di Tessitura a Mano Giuditta Brozzetti
Ranked #1 of 137 things to do in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Monday to friday: am 8,30-12,30 pm 3-6, Saturday and Sunday also available by appointment. The exclusive workshop is located in the fascinating, deconsecrated Romanesque church of San Francesco delle Donne. In August open every morning from Monday to Friday, afternoon and weekend by appointment.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
“A hidden jewel!”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

A bit hard to find this suggestive setting in a deconsecrated church...but well worth the search! The FIT Florence program University students thoroughly enjoyed the journey back to the 1700- 1800's led by the charming, enthusiastic and very knowledgeable Marta Cucchia, great granddaughter of Giuditta Brozzetti.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank torreggianig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    20
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perugia, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A visit to the "Giuditta Brozzetti" weaving manufacture and workshop-museum”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Our class, the 5°AP, specialising in computer sciences, buisness manangement and low in the final year, paid a visit to the workshop on 28th october 2013.
The owner, Marta Cucchio, gave a talk about the history of the weawing industry in Umbria, a very little industrialized area in the past.
We saw several looms dating back to the 18th and 19th century.
We also saw how the industrial revolution had modernized the hand waring technology introducing punched cards.
After the introduction of punched cards it was possible to realise very sophisticated patterms.
Moreover we learned that punched cards are the first application of the binary system in the production process.
It was also interesting to learn that automation on one side meant unemployment on the other as the history of the shuttre proces.
We got useful information about womens emancipation of the beginning of the 20th century.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Quinto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This is one of the best place I have visited in Perugia. Marta, the owner of this magnificent place (with her lovely puppy) show us the historic loom and her great textiles. She is patient, kind and friendly.
We have no reservation and we were lucky that when we arrived, she just came back and was getting ready for her reservation later on. She sacrificed her spare time to show us how those loom works and we have had a great morning with her.
And I must mention her little baby (puppy Theresa), she is cute and energetic too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umbria
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Every piece of fabric realized by Marta and her staff is an amazing work of art. Once you see the labor involved (and it really is "labor" as Marta calls each piece her "baby"), as well as the history of the space and the looms you will be absolutely mesmerized. Not to miss in Perugia!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeItalianStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the two best places to visit in Perugia!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We spent a couple of hours today with Marta Brozzeti, who is keeping alive her great-grandmother's hand weaving enterprise. The weaving shop is located in a 13th century former church, using hand looms and replicating textiles which have been made in Umbria for centuries. Marta guided us around the workshop and passionately explained the history and current workings of the workshop. It was a fascinating look at a real artist's work.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dede H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museo-Laboratorio di Tessitura a Mano Giuditta Brozzetti also viewed

Perugia, Province of Perugia
Perugia, Province of Perugia
 

Been to Museo-Laboratorio di Tessitura a Mano Giuditta Brozzetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing