We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Umbria at its best!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Castle Gaiche

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with open fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Lounge with open fire
The pool below the house
Castle grounds
Charmng bath
Cosy Lounge
Kitchen and Dining
The Castle from afar
Beautiful views around Gaiche
View of Castle Gaiche
View from Pool area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Perugia, Province of Perugia, Umbria

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wouter60
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Umbria at its best!”
Reviewed 20 July 2010 for a stay in July 2010
1
person found this review helpful

From the A1 motorway between Florence and Rome, we take the Chiusi exit on our way to Castello di Gaiche. This road takes us through the beautiful Umbrian landscape with it's sunflowers, vineyards and scenic village of Citta della Pieve (worth visiting!). Within half an hour we reach the town Tavernelle from which we take the road up the mountain. After a few km's through small villages and a winding dirt road we arrive at Castello di Gaiche. A very friendly Italian (Francesco) welcomes us, gives us the key and shows us around the Castello (Castle). The view over the Tavernelle valley is magnificent! From surely one of the most pleasant appartments of the Castello we are sure we can relax and explore the area.
During this week we relaxed at the clean and pleasant swimming pool, made visits to Perugia, Orvieto, Citta della Pieve and Panicale. All within a half hour to an hours drive from Gaiche! Our stay in Castello di Gaiche was even better than we expected. Dinners on the patio, relaxing at the swimming pool, walk around in the area, good food and wine….. A week was just not enough. Hopefully we will return to Gaiche in the near future.

Best Regards,

Eveline and Wouter

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrightyPe...
peak district
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stunning!”
Reviewed 6 March 2010 for a stay in September 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely week with friends in this beautiful quiet place. Car essential, didn't do much in the evenings due to long winding road to Gaiche, but had special lunches out and relaxed when we returned. Lots to do and see in surrouding area and lovely people.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joke_Soes...
Soest, Nederland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very charming and so beautiful”
Reviewed 29 January 2010 for a stay in September 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Me and my husband have stayed in Castello di Gaiche in the Old Mill House for two weeks in September 2009. We stayed in the so-called 'Old Mill House' which is a two storey apartment with a private patio, two bedrooms and a nice bathroom. Gaiche is a very old village on a hill only reachable by car. But also very quiet and relaxing. There is a swimming pool and a nice church on the same terrain.
We have made some very nice walks and have enjoyed all the nice restaurants in near villeages very much, the Umbrian food is fantastic!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Recreatie
Travelling group: Met echtgeno(o)t(e)/partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LsaKingsw...
Kingswinford,England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Umbrian hillside location, unspoilt and peaceful.”
Reviewed 30 June 2007 for a stay in June 2007
2
people found this review helpful

If you seek peace,quiet, away from it all location on the Umbrian/Tuscany border in self catering accommodation with many places of beauty to visit try this one. Car essential. The gardens and pool area are a plus. Tavernelle, the nearest small town is approximatey 20 mins drive away. We did all our shopping there and the fresh fish and meat was good. This was our second visit which has taken in trips to Florence, Rome, Assisi,Orvieto,Citta de la Pieve,Panicale, etc, etc, Too many to list. Also Lake Trasimeno must be mentioned. We flew into Perugia with Ryan Air, a new service and only 1 hour drive to accommodation. Our last holiday was to Luxor so this was a real antidote!! Although must be said we love Egypt too. Missed the floods in England, the weather was very hot, dry and sunny.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The location and everything was beautifully cared for and well kept.
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like but some people would find things too quiet/secluded!!
Visit was for: Hobbies / interest / culture
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$153
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing