We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad experimenten in thischotel right thischotel moment”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Leidschendam Ned
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very bad experimenten in thischotel right thischotel moment”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Very bad service at THE desk and in THE restaurant.
Food very bad, dried put meat and fish.
Aksen for glutenbroden pasta, yes They have it, next thing i know, They serve regular pasta!!
Next plate was foutenfrequentie but uncooked, back again and à New plate with uncooked pasta!
We have room with airconditioning, you dan only turn it on or off and THE hotel desides wat temperature it Will be, so of you put it on 8 it doses not get als Coldplay als you want it to be, but 24 degrees like THE hotel has put it on for every room!!
Tomorrow we most likeur Will cancel our stay and move somewhere better

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    447
    194
    53
    30
See reviews for
181
468
22
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

La Meridiana has lots of parking space, clean rooms and nice staff. Small pool has a sign that said "no access" and breakfast is good but served in a dark basement. Fast Wifi, but strange Italian rules oblige you to obtain new accesscodes every day.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

The hotel itself was nearly empty...seemed strange for late May but maybe not for Italy? The hotel is NOT easy to find, being off on a side road in a seemingly upper scaled suburban neighborhood with AWFUL roads. Car eating potholes! The rooms themselves were modern and clean. We had a double and a twin bunkbed (why??), and the bunkbed creaked badly! The bathroom was spacious and clean, which was very nice. The personality of the clerk behind the counter was a bit bland, considering that she had absolutely no one else to talk to. The breakfast was okay, but not anything special to write home about. Just seemed weird to have this really nice hotel in a backroads kind of place. In order to get to Perugia we decided to drive since we were not confident in the directions they were giving us about buses and metros. We literally had to get onto the freeway and pass several offramps before we got near the city center so keep that in mind. So some high points, some low points.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TandCfromHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

Arrived at hotel had booked an extra bed which was disputed (rather rudely). They then found email saying it was ok. (No apology). Rooms good enough, clean etc with air-con. Do not use sat nav for this hotel it takes you to a very strange tiny road which we ignored as though it could not possibly be that way. Directions on hotel page are better take you a more main road.

If you do not mind driving this is ok as you can drive to the mini metro there is a car park there. We wanted to have a meal with wine so walked to mini metro. Not a good idea - it takes at least 20-25 mins and road is bad - no pavement a lot of the way. Then you take the little min metro which is fun into the old city (1 euro). We got a taxi back (about 18 euros). There is a shuttle bus at hotel but it only runs 3 times a day and takes you to the mini metro. 9am, 3pm and 6pm and you have to book at reception.

Pool rather cold but still nice and we used it both days. Had a meal in restaurant second night - not great and no atmosphere at all. You could hear a pin drop.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ptfc1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Straight up I would not recommend anyone stays at the Holiday Inn Perugia. Whilst the rooms and bathrooms were clean and relatively spacious that all paled into comparison in respect to the services offered. We arrived late evening to find our triple room which was especially booked to have 3 separate beds was in fact 2 beds. After much negotiation with the most apathetic and rude receptionist we encountered in a month travelling through Italy (and having the paper work to back up our confirmed request) we finally got the room we originally booked although it came in the form of the world’s squeakiest bunk bed ever. We then tried to order room service and were told room service was unavailable (as opposed to the hours advertised in the handbook) but if we wanted to eat we could pay 22 euros each to have a buffet which closed at 10pm giving us a total of 15 minutes to try and down some food. The buffet was terrible (I will spare you the details) but we ate because we were extremely hungry. The next day we tried to put in some laundry and our favourite receptionist informed us that laundry didn’t run daily (again as opposed to what their handbook tells you) and we were out of luck. Also the pool closes at 6pm so don’t plan in a late afternoon/early evening dip! Trying to use the internet was also a chore; it required the monumental task of issuing a card and taking my money! To top it all off you are miles out of town and unless you have your own transport you will need to use taxis. Do yourself a favour, don’t stay here, try one of the locations closer to town!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ontheroad006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We were part of a Cosmos tour so our room exceeded our expectations. The room was quite nice and the beds looked very comfy for a budget tour. Nice refreshing orange color. We liked the large counter space in the bathroom and the working outlets. The included dinner which consisted of chicken pieces in tomato sauce was just okay but we enjoyed the good selection of breakfast food which included cake, pastries and Genoa sausage.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunny_capri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2009

We stayed here for seven nights in July and we were satisfied all round, this is an unusual location and needs to be assessed on several fronts.

Location: Set in hilly countryside approx 3-4 miles from Perugia centre it nevertheless enjoys nice views back to the city but is somewhat marred by its proximity to the autostrada nearby.

Transport: Approximately €12 will get you to this hotel from the train station by taxi and add a further €4 from the city centre, public buses run close to the hotel, the closest is the G3 but the G1 or G2 run much more often but will leave you at the bottom of a bridge over the autostrada with an approx 10 minute walk but this is quite safe and doesn't mean crossing any roads.
All public bus stops carry detailed info on bus times and days of operation so make a note and pre purchase your tickets from any number of outlets.
Access by train to Perugia will entail regional trains as this is off the main and express lines, just be careful not to time connections too tightly as these trains can run late and result in missed connections, again study the time tables in the local stations and read the restrictions on days of operation etc.

Hotel room: Similar to most Italian hotels the rooms sre fairly compact but very comfortable with all you should need, there is also a very good bathroom and a decent continental style breakfast.
You also get a tea/coffee maker along with a mini bar.
The lounge/bar was very sparsely populated during our stay even late at night, perhaps people were too tired after sight seeing during the day but there was absolutely no social atmosphere.

Staff: Very pleasant and helpful with local info and they try to cope with all requests.

Facilities: The outdoor pool was freezing even in the July sun but was popular for early morning and late evening relaxation, again this overlooks the autostrada but this didn't detract from its value.

The restaurant for breakfast was comfortable but we didn't try dinner there.

Overall a very pleasant but unusual hotel given its location in the suburbs, if you want to have a pool and relax for a few hours you probably won't get that in Perugia city centre hotels, this hotels appearance from the outside probably won't win any design awards but inside it does offer very good standards and value for money, we would certainly recommend it.
By the way the internet access is as expensive as other reviewers have commented on but there was plenty of free car parking available for all of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neilevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.2 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
690 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
1,414 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#10 of 66 in Perugia
1,358 reviews
5.2 mi away
Perugia Park Hotel
Perugia Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ponte San Giovanni
919 reviews
6.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via del Discobolo 42 | Quartiere Ferro di Cavallo, 06132, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Meridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lodgings, only minutes away from historical Perugia. Situated on the lower part of the hillside containing the city, amidst the lush scenery of Lacugnano Park, its privileged position offers enchanting sights of the city skyline.La Meridiana offers the ideal lodgings and services either for lovely leisure holidays or business and institutional meetings. 96 stylish rooms including satellite TV, Free Wi Fi internet connection, Air conditioned, Minibar, Direct Phone, Shower or bath, Tea/coffeemaker corner, and digital safes large enough for notebooks.5 different types to suit every need: comfort, classic, superior, executive and family. Each offering distinctive sensible characteristics. “Il Vespertino” restaurant is a lovely meeting point for a family reunion dinner, business lunches or more special and important events. Excellent services offering the best of the Umbrian traditional cuisine.Biological local quality products and the expertise of the chef accomplishing outstanding outcome.Ideal elegant settings for meetings and special events. LA MERIDIANA HOTEL offers a modular composition of conference rooms to suit from 10 to 160 business people. Efficient and qualified conference and event ticketing services.The Lacugnano Park and the Perugian valley provide beautiful lush green scenery for the swimming pool. A relaxation corner with sunbed solarium services.Bicycles and 125 Vespa motorcycles hiring services. The possibility of a ride into the enchanting corners of surrounding areas. Architectural and natural beauties to enjoy in the open air.On request, transfer services back and forth the airport, the train station or the historical Perugia downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Nozio Netplan srl, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perugia
Perugia Holiday Inn
Hotel La Meridiana Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing