We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of town”
Review of Hotel La Meridiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Meridiana
Ranked #21 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Out of town”
Reviewed 9 June 2009

Our stay was part of a Cosmos Tour. A typical Holiday Inn stay. Reasonable sized room, all expected amenities in the room, good breakfast. A long way from the centre of town. Unless on a tour you certainly need a car to be staying here.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietriptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    446
    193
    53
    30
See reviews for
181
467
22
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas/Fort Worth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2009

After a rough day renting a car and getting out of the Rome traffic, what a relief to find this really nice property. It was not easy to find! My GPS had me turn back 160 degrees onto a little hidden street, but after arriving the good stuff started happening. First the lady at the desk was so welcoming and handled some lost airline luggage issues like she did it every day. Room temperature issues that were my fault she corrected immediately and apoligized like it was her fault . Even though Kitchen was closed, arrangements were made to provide cold meal and beverages, like we were some VIP. Rooms were clean, well appointed and most important had really confortable beds. The pool was not opened, but was beautifully kept. Internet available but very expensive. Great overall experience!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retired_travelers6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast,Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2009

A difficult place to find when you're driving a foreign hired car - as big as a tank although requested tiny car!- on wrong side of road, can't speak the language and the English GPS system is 10 years out of date! We could see the Holiday Inn sign from the Autostrasse but it took 3 turns round the roundabout and 5 Euro a trip through the toll gates to get across the spagetti junction. However, once there it was a wonderfully civilised hotel. Not cheap but the food, room and service were excellent - although they wanted to charge 5 Euros per 15 mins for use of the internet where most other lesser star-hotels were offering it free. They did however, have a courtesy bus to take and collect guests up the hill to the walled city of Perugia. This may seem superfluous when we had a car but there is little parking a on the upward journey and its a very difficult place to negotiate...we did try and returned to the hotel car park for the bus. Perugia is a magical ancient city and worth the effort of taking the ever increasing escalators that go through old fort buildings to deposit you in the city center.The views are stupendous and there are a variety of places to eat and coffee.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B4its2late8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I was there with a friend at the end of October. The location is great,but the street leading to the hotel is in terrible condition.
The hotel staff was very helpful. The room was well equipped and very clean. Breakfast was good. Room service was poor. We arrived in the evening and wanted to order club sandwiches. But all we got was 2 toasts for 5 euros each - very expensive for such a thing. One evening we wanted to have some coffee and cakes in the restaurant and had "to beg" for it.
No place to eat around - a minus...
I would go back there again as I liked the hotel and its location.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rachelcio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2008

As others have noted this hotel is some distance out of town in a quiet residential area with nothing else around. This may be a plus for some, but the first night we were there the hotel was hosting a symposium which totally filled the dining room for the entire night - literally not a seat to be had. There's nothing else within walking distance, so we were offered service in our room or at the coffee bar, but judging by the zoo in the restaurant we decided to make our own way to town.

The rooms here are fine by Holiday Inn european standard., and the rates were OK. Although the hotel advertises internet in the rooms, only some rooms have a connection so ask when you check in. The internet is also obscenely expensive.

Breakfast the first morning (when the symposium was still on) was fine, with eggs as well as continental items. The second day all the good stuff was gone and it was mortadella on a stale bun or nothing.

We liked the location as a home base for day trips with a car, but had hoped for a bit more .

  • Liked — Convenient to Umbria day trips
  • Disliked — restaurant was full, internet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank quickcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

simply put, a gem. a north american hotel in europe, what a treat. lots of parking as it is a fair bit out of town but the view is spectacular. after a long hot day we went swimming in the cold pool and enjoyed it. attached to the pool is what looks like a hot tub but is not, who cares, the pool is great. The rooms are ultra clean, great showers, very spacious for Europe. If this is on your route, it is worth the stay. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The bed was a good size, again, a treat in Italy. Very nice sitting area outside the lobby with a spectacular view.

  • Liked — very very modern and clean
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
131 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2008

90 euro half board, single room, wifi, a cup of tea and free
parking...well, I can't complain really, only if it were an Express
it would be more appropriate and I would have given a 5 points grade,because this is a motel-like holiday inn along a busy road and far from being even close to luxury. Having said that, staff was kind and helpful. If you are there on vacation, this place
is far from downtown and really out of reach without a car.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bridgerobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Quattrotorri Perugia
2.3 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
1,413 reviews
1.2 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 66 in Perugia
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Etruscan Chocohotel
Etruscan Chocohotel
#11 of 66 in Perugia
1,356 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Colle della Trinita - BlueBay Perugia
1.9 mi away
Hotel Gio' Wine e Jazz Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Meridiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Meridiana

Property: Hotel La Meridiana
Address: Via del Discobolo 42 | Quartiere Ferro di Cavallo, 06132, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Meridiana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lodgings, only minutes away from historical Perugia. Situated on the lower part of the hillside containing the city, amidst the lush scenery of Lacugnano Park, its privileged position offers enchanting sights of the city skyline.La Meridiana offers the ideal lodgings and services either for lovely leisure holidays or business and institutional meetings. 96 stylish rooms including satellite TV, Free Wi Fi internet connection, Air conditioned, Minibar, Direct Phone, Shower or bath, Tea/coffeemaker corner, and digital safes large enough for notebooks.5 different types to suit every need: comfort, classic, superior, executive and family. Each offering distinctive sensible characteristics. “Il Vespertino” restaurant is a lovely meeting point for a family reunion dinner, business lunches or more special and important events. Excellent services offering the best of the Umbrian traditional cuisine.Biological local quality products and the expertise of the chef accomplishing outstanding outcome.Ideal elegant settings for meetings and special events. LA MERIDIANA HOTEL offers a modular composition of conference rooms to suit from 10 to 160 business people. Efficient and qualified conference and event ticketing services.The Lacugnano Park and the Perugian valley provide beautiful lush green scenery for the swimming pool. A relaxation corner with sunbed solarium services.Bicycles and 125 Vespa motorcycles hiring services. The possibility of a ride into the enchanting corners of surrounding areas. Architectural and natural beauties to enjoy in the open air.On request, transfer services back and forth the airport, the train station or the historical Perugia downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Meridiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Perugia
Perugia Holiday Inn
Hotel La Meridiana Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing