We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Umbria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Umbria Hotel
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Perfect location (just off the Piazza IV Novembre), but very difficult to find. The Hotel needs to provide better directions. We later realised there are signs from the square. No problem with room or ensuite. Though you do have to be patient for the shower to get hot. Only real issue was noise as the side street the hotel was located on seemed to be the route home for locals after a night out. Would recommend for the location despite this, but bring ear plugs and try and get a room not overlooking the street. Breakfast is provided at an additional cost and was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Cornelius M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 November 2006

We found this hotel by accident after parking the car and walking into town. It is located in a very quiet alley just yards from the centre and a very nice restuarant nearby. We asked to see the room before agreeing to stay. The staff are friendly the room clean. The breakfast is normal for this standard of hotel, all carbs and no protein. We stayed one night and would stay again, We paid in cash - no problem for me, I always carry cash. We received a voucher for free parking in the street valid for 24 hours.I would recomend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tangozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2006

I stayed five (5) nights at the Hotel Umbria in Perugia in late October 2006, and advise travellers to STAY AWAY. Here are the good and bad points of this property:

GOOD:

1. Excellent location, merely a long and steep flight of steps down from the central Corso Vannucci.
2. Within 3 minutes walking distance of the Cathedral and the Palazzo dei Priori.
3. Within 5 minutes walking distance of Piazza Italia (bus stop for train station)
4. Within walking distance of many restaurants and of the University for Foreigners in Piazza Fortebraccio
5. Located on a very quiet alley
6. Managed by husband/wife team
7. Small number of rooms makes for a boutique-type ambience.

BAD:

1. Poor cost/value ratio.
2. Abysmal breakfast mandatory during certain periods. At six Euros per person, it's a rip off: bargain basement grocery store products in cellophane wrappers; absolutely no fruit, yogurt or cold cuts, just bread, bread and more bread products (and cheap quality as well).
3. Windows don't close well because they are rotted and decrepid; window curtains filthy; window shutters rotted out and panels missing.
4. Holes in walls not patched; walls need repainting; door frames separated from wall and not nailed back in place; armoire doors missing knobs; filth in corners of marble floors.
5. Very poor sound insulation from room to room
6. Rooms FLEA INFESTED: dogs are allowed, and they leave fleas in the wool blankets!!!!!!!!!
7. Must pay in CASH, and no discount whatsoever is offered.

It is clear that the management of this property does not expect any return visits from anybody, and therefore has adopted an "I don't give a damn" attitude. The Management team doesn't have a clue about running a hotel. Too bad, because this hotel, in the hands of the right people, would have a GREAT DEAL to offer.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank GAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
wetmore, colorado
16
Reviewed 10 April 2006

After doing lots of research online I chose to stay here for several days, partially because of the price and partially because if its proximity to the main piazzas in the old part of the city. I was not at all disappointed in my choice. It is not a place to stay if you want to spend lots of time in your room (the rooms, espcially the singles are pretty small) but is perfect if you are there mainly to sleep and have breakfast on the terrace. Just keep in mind that you are not paying for a high-end hotel so don't expect one.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2006

The hotel is in a back alley which actually ended being good because it was really quiet. The man who worked there was nice and spoke VERY little english so be prepared with italian phrases. The room was 55 Euros without breakfast and 67 Euros with - go eat breakfast at a grocery store! The breakfast was crackers, croissants in plastic wrappers and stale white toast. Not worth 12 Euros!!!

The room was clean, but small which was fine with us. The bathroom was decent, but the toilet seat was broken - didn't snap in to place and the hotel attendant was unable to fix it or put us in another room so that was kind of weird.

The location is EXCELLENT. For the price it was worth all of its money, but skip the breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank italytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2005

The Hotel Umbria is on a sort of alley/back stairwell, so although it is right next to the main thoroughfare, it is also very quiet. The room was pretty spartan but the beds were comfortable. You can buy a cappuccino in the morning and sit on their sweet terrace.

3  Thank katsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.2 mi away
San Ercolano Hotel
San Ercolano Hotel
#34 of 65 in Perugia
338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Priori Hotel
Priori Hotel
#54 of 65 in Perugia
387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#16 of 65 in Perugia
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#29 of 65 in Perugia
595 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#10 of 65 in Perugia
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#19 of 65 in Perugia
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbria Hotel

Address: Via Boncambi 37, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range: £34 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Umbria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL UMBRIA is situated in the heart of the historical centre of Perugia, Italy, were the most important monuments and museums are located: Paolina Fortress, Maggiore Fountain, Roman mosaic, Etruscan Arch, Umbrian gallery. An ideal choice if you wish to spend a romantic holiday and enjoy the historical and cultural atmosphere of Perugia. From the hotel our guests can admire the wonderful view of the old city and the surrounding hills of Perugia. Hikers and rambles can stroll around our marvellous paths and hiking trails. HOTEL UMBRIA OF PERUGIA has a strategic position since it is connected to the most important stations. It is just 5 minutes walking from the terminal bus station of Piazza Partigiani, an important square from which daily buses depart to all the most important umbrian cities: Assisi,Todi, Orvieto, Gubbio. IT takes less than ten minutes by bus to get to the main railway station and not more than 6 minutes by MINIMETRO'. Hotel Umbria rooms are tastefully furnished and spacious.They provide bathroom with shower,TV colour,internet wi-fi free and all the main services. Other hotel facilities include breakfast and bar service. Breakfast at the hotel includes a broad choice of freesh croissants made in hotel, coffees,cappuccino, jams, honey,corn flakes, fruits , juices etc... And is the perfect start to a day's sightseeing in the peaceful atmosphere that only Italy's great city of art have to offer. The hotel provides a special free permit to park in the city centre just 300 meters walking from hotel. Special deals available for groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Umbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbria Hotel Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing