We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Umbria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Umbria Hotel
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Hotel Umbria in Perugia is located right off Corso Vanucci, the main street of the old centre of Perugia. Just minutes away from Piazza IV Novembre, it is the ideal stay-in to visit the Cathedral, the National Art Gallery and countless other historical places and museums which you can go to on foot. Apart from that, the hotel is walking-distance away from all kinds of shops, from high street clothes shop, to small handmade souvenir shops, to countless restaurants, cafes, and gelaterias.

The hotel has a very nice ambience, rooms are spacious and a communal courtyard can be used to enjoy your complimentary breakfast, listening to the chirping of birds, or enjoy a quick take-out before you head to bed.

Room Tip: There are rooms available on ground level, but bear in mind there is no elevator and you might have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    44
    39
    28
    18
See reviews for
27
56
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We have used Hotel Umbria in Perugia several times and have been impressed by its simplicity, practicality and excellent service and more importantly by its friendly staff. Perugia is a good place to visit and hotel Umbria is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kamyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Perfect location (just off the Piazza IV Novembre), but very difficult to find. The Hotel needs to provide better directions. We later realised there are signs from the square. No problem with room or ensuite. Though you do have to be patient for the shower to get hot. Only real issue was noise as the side street the hotel was located on seemed to be the route home for locals after a night out. Would recommend for the location despite this, but bring ear plugs and try and get a room not overlooking the street. Breakfast is provided at an additional cost and was worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2006

We found this hotel by accident after parking the car and walking into town. It is located in a very quiet alley just yards from the centre and a very nice restuarant nearby. We asked to see the room before agreeing to stay. The staff are friendly the room clean. The breakfast is normal for this standard of hotel, all carbs and no protein. We stayed one night and would stay again, We paid in cash - no problem for me, I always carry cash. We received a voucher for free parking in the street valid for 24 hours.I would recomend this hotel to my friends.

  • Liked — The location near the centre
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the underground restuarant Il Bacio around the corner.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tangozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2006

I stayed five (5) nights at the Hotel Umbria in Perugia in late October 2006, and advise travellers to STAY AWAY. Here are the good and bad points of this property:

GOOD:

1. Excellent location, merely a long and steep flight of steps down from the central Corso Vannucci.
2. Within 3 minutes walking distance of the Cathedral and the Palazzo dei Priori.
3. Within 5 minutes walking distance of Piazza Italia (bus stop for train station)
4. Within walking distance of many restaurants and of the University for Foreigners in Piazza Fortebraccio
5. Located on a very quiet alley
6. Managed by husband/wife team
7. Small number of rooms makes for a boutique-type ambience.

BAD:

1. Poor cost/value ratio.
2. Abysmal breakfast mandatory during certain periods. At six Euros per person, it's a rip off: bargain basement grocery store products in cellophane wrappers; absolutely no fruit, yogurt or cold cuts, just bread, bread and more bread products (and cheap quality as well).
3. Windows don't close well because they are rotted and decrepid; window curtains filthy; window shutters rotted out and panels missing.
4. Holes in walls not patched; walls need repainting; door frames separated from wall and not nailed back in place; armoire doors missing knobs; filth in corners of marble floors.
5. Very poor sound insulation from room to room
6. Rooms FLEA INFESTED: dogs are allowed, and they leave fleas in the wool blankets!!!!!!!!!
7. Must pay in CASH, and no discount whatsoever is offered.

It is clear that the management of this property does not expect any return visits from anybody, and therefore has adopted an "I don't give a damn" attitude. The Management team doesn't have a clue about running a hotel. Too bad, because this hotel, in the hands of the right people, would have a GREAT DEAL to offer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Flea infested
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from the Hotel Umbria. Select instead the Hotel Fortuna, nearby.
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Perugia hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2006

After doing lots of research online I chose to stay here for several days, partially because of the price and partially because if its proximity to the main piazzas in the old part of the city. I was not at all disappointed in my choice. It is not a place to stay if you want to spend lots of time in your room (the rooms, espcially the singles are pretty small) but is perfect if you are there mainly to sleep and have breakfast on the terrace. Just keep in mind that you are not paying for a high-end hotel so don't expect one.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#21 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Ercolano Hotel
San Ercolano Hotel
#32 of 66 in Perugia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#16 of 66 in Perugia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#5 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Priori Hotel
Priori Hotel
#56 of 66 in Perugia
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#31 of 66 in Perugia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umbria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umbria Hotel

Property: Umbria Hotel
Address: Via Boncambi 37, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Umbria Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL UMBRIA is situated in the heart of the historical centre of Perugia, Italy, were the most important monuments and museums are located: Paolina Fortress, Maggiore Fountain, Roman mosaic, Etruscan Arch, Umbrian gallery. An ideal choice if you wish to spend a romantic holiday and enjoy the historical and cultural atmosphere of Perugia. From the hotel our guests can admire the wonderful view of the old city and the surrounding hills of Perugia. Hikers and rambles can stroll around our marvellous paths and hiking trails. HOTEL UMBRIA OF PERUGIA has a strategic position since it is connected to the most important stations. It is just 5 minutes walking from the terminal bus station of Piazza Partigiani, an important square from which daily buses depart to all the most important umbrian cities: Assisi,Todi, Orvieto, Gubbio. IT takes less than ten minutes by bus to get to the main railway station and not more than 6 minutes by MINIMETRO'. Hotel Umbria rooms are tastefully furnished and spacious.They provide bathroom with shower,TV colour,internet wi-fi free and all the main services. Other hotel facilities include breakfast and bar service. Breakfast at the hotel includes a broad choice of freesh croissants made in hotel, coffees,cappuccino, jams, honey,corn flakes, fruits , juices etc... And is the perfect start to a day's sightseeing in the peaceful atmosphere that only Italy's great city of art have to offer. The hotel provides a special free permit to park in the city centre just 300 meters walking from hotel. Special deals available for groups ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Umbria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umbria Hotel Perugia, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing