We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really doesn't get better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, OH
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It really doesn't get better”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at the castle a few ago the same day we arrived in Italy. We were a litle tired from the flight but this place was perfect. Nice pool, beautiful grounds and two restaurants, one of which is a Michelin rated restaurant. We ate at the Grandola, the lesser of the two and were very satisfied with the food, service and price. Breakfast there was great the next morning.
We had a real nice room. Plenty big enough with wood beams and comfortable bed. Decent view of valley but I would have paid more for a better view. I think that many rooms offered a better view of Perusia, but really, how long do you stare out the window from your bedroom.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for room with GOOD view of city if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear studdo,
thanks for your lovely words about us. Castello di Monterone is a quiet place and we are happy to know that you have lived your experience as a break made of nice food and relax.
We await for you again, whenever you decide to come back to Umbria.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    116
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
98
584
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wasaga Beach
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Breathtaking, luxurious 5 star accommodations. Worth the trip to Perugia just to stay here. When you book, be wary that the rates for single versus double occupancy are quite different (I accidentally hit "single" instead of double on booking.com, when I arrived, found the room would be 60 € more a night for double). Still worth it! Gorgeous rooftop patio where we had a bottle of wine at sunset both nights. Breakfast was the average spread. Dinner at il Gradale (on site) was not our favourite (would highly recommend La Taverna in town.) Quick drive to town (bizarre parking garage, yay for the GPS!) Pool area fabulous (including steam room and sauna). How can you say no to staying in a castle?!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Kristina WB,
thanks for your words about the Castle and thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.
You did the right thing: you chose your favorite place at Castello di Monterone! Sunset is the best among the spectacular gifts we receive every day from the surrounding nature and we are very lucky for giving our guests the possibility to admire it from the terraces.
We await you to say "yes" again and stay with us for a second time.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2013

One of my wishes while visiting Italy was to stay in a castle. When we booked we were thinking this was in much more of a remote location but is actually located very near downtown Perugia. It's not walking distance to the city center but it is a fairly short drive.

The view from the grounds is fantastic. We did not book a room with a view so we made do with two small windows. If I were to go back I would make sure I booked a better room.

We stayed for two nights and ate at the cheaper of the restaurants both nights. The food was great and we were able to share the multiple course meal for a small fee. Breakfast was served in the same restaurant and was among the best breakfasts we had while in Italy. The restaurant is on a terrace overlooking the beautiful valley below.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view. We did not and the room felt a little closed in for our tastes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Martin J,
thanks for taking your time to write about us. "Excellent" is a great word, we are very pleased by your appreciation. Castello di Monterone is a real castle, not all the rooms have a wide view (Classic rooms usually have small windows), but we believe it worths the experience. We hope you'll keep a nice memory of the time spent here and we invite you to book again for a new experience.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very good hotel suitable for touring Perugia and Assisi if you have a car. Located in a small castle which has been renovated with all mod cons. Good beakfast and helpful staff. The place is well kept and the courtyards and gardens are lovely. The pools are clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMLieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear MichaelMLieber,
we are very pleased that your impression on the castle has been so positive. Thank you very much.
It would be so beautiful for us if you decide to come back again.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed three nights, celebrating our 15th wedding anniversary. Lovely castle and grounds. It was a nice break, as we situated it as a stop between Venice and Rome. We ate every night at the less expensive of the two restaurants. The food was amazing, and the service top-notch. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCBrewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear CCBrewers,
thanks for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for defining our hotel "fabulous".
We are happy to learn that you have celebrated an important occasion at our place and we hope you will bring "a piece" of the castle with you.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

When we decided to spend time in Perugia and the surrounding area I had a quick look on Tripadvisor for a nice place and found the Castle, which seemed quite interesting. Once we arrived we were quite pleased and the front desk staff were helpful and courteous. We stayed there three nights and enjoyed our stay immensely. Although the rooms are not cheap they do offer value given the quality of the hotel and amenities. We enjoy our very nice breakfasts on the terrace, which overlooks the rolling, lush green hills of Perugia. We sleep very well in the comfortable bed and the quiet of our room. The bathroom is nice and comfortable and the room offers good value for customers desiring a higher end product.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimboBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 14 September 2013
Dear JimboBerlin,
We have read with a great pleasure how much you enjoyed your stay with us: thanks for discovering Castello di Monterone and for telling your stay in such beautiful words! Your opinion has a great value for us and our job and it is very rewarding to know that we were able to fulfill your expectations through our services. The beauty of the castle, then, made the rest.
Whenever your plans bring you back in Perugia, you know there is a castle that waits for you.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On a mountain just East of the city of Perugia, this is a small (18 room) hotel with components from several centuries incorporated into one harmonious whole. Our "deluxe" room overlooked the valley below and the skyline of Perugia. Simple wooden chairs and a desk, a cabinet containing a safe and minibar, an armoire, and a bed with bedside tables constitute the furnishings. The bathroom is small, but modern. There are two restaurants--one with a Michelin star (Il Postale), but only five tables, one in the kitchen, so book ahead. We sat at the table in the kitchen and had one of the two tasting menus. At 85 Euros each plus wine, this was one of our most memorable meals ever and well worth the cost. The second restaurant has a terrace overlooking the valley. Even with GPS, the roads and Italian drivers are a challenge I was unwilling to face at night, so we had all of our dinners at the hotel during our four night stay. An excellent buffet breakfast is included in the room rate. Smoking is permitted, one of the few drawbacks of modern Italian culture. Otherwise, this is as close to a perfect romantic getaway as I can imagine.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripalium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear tripalium,
thanks for your review and for sharing your experience at Castello di Monterone on Tripadvisor.
Your description is lovely, we are very happy that you loved our services, the food and the peculiarity of the furnishing in the rooms. Thanks for defining our place a "castle in the air", we love it!
Just a little note: smoking is not permitted in the rooms, it is allowed only in the outdoor areas of the castle.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 65 in Perugia
1,151 reviews
5.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#2 of 65 in Perugia
695 reviews
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,421 reviews
4.8 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
851 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Property: Castello di Monterone
Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing