We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming real castle with amazing view over Perugia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in standard room. Hotel is very good. Located a little aside from perugia but view is worth travelling. Rooms are well sized and good bathroom, some rooms allow amazing view from the bed. Staff is very pleasant. Really enjoyed staying

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EvgeniLedenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear EvgeniLedenev,
Every guest's tale has a great value for us and we are particularly happy when we find satisfaction in their words. Thanks for being part of the castle, even for one night, and thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 861 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were at this unusual and lovely hotel for 2 nights. It is actually a castle on a beauifully well-maintained property with stunning flowers and fruit and vegetable trees and plants, with terrific views of the surrounding countryside of Umbria.
The staff was wonderfully welcoming, warm and helpful in a variety of ways.
Breatkfast(included) was a wonderful buffet of a variety of lovely breads, sweets, fruits, juices, etc. etc. and the service there was excellent. THe breakfast room also had beautiful views.
Parking is on the property and is included.
The hotel is about a 7-8 minute car drive to the center of town.
We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverlys796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear beverlys796,
thanks for the time spent in writing this review. We agree with your definition of "unusual" and we thank you about the word "lovely" to define the quality of your stay. Your compliments to the staff and the service are very much appreciated and we are so happy that you loved the castle in its particular shape, colours and sorroundings. We hope that the castle will remain in your memories and we would like to give you our welcome again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A remarkable hotel with great atmosphere and views. Desk staff is helpful with everything from directions to reservations and recommendations of things to do. Both restaurants are excellent, with good food and service. Breakfast is very good, with great food selection and helpful service. Wonderful place to stay and to wander around. Housekeeping staff, however, is below the standards set by the rest of the hotel. Things were often left unclean, supplies were allowed to run out, and, amusingly, our requested extra pillows were carefully put away every day so that we had to search them out each night. They should, however, try to improve the internet service, which seems to cut off frequently and require full sign in procedures to restore; however, this seems to have been a problem all over the region recently. Would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Use the web site to choose your room, but be sure to discuss with staff via e-mail. Rooms with outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Gary0126,
thanks for your review about Castello di Monterone and thanks for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor users. Your compliments to the staff are so much appreciated by all of us. We will take into consideration your remark about the housekeeping staff, sorry if you has perceived this as an element of disturb, but we must say that the cleaning activities cover the whole day and they always tend to be respectful of the privacy of our guests.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The castle is as perfect and beautiful in person as you see it in the internet. It's set a little bit away from Perugia but the tranquility is relaxing. View is great. Service, breakfast & food at the restaurant, Il Gradale are impeccable. Will definitely come back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RowenaDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear RowenaDG,
Thank you for these beautiful words, we are happy that you felt surprised by the beauty of the castle! It is always good to hear that this place can inspire tranquillity and provide our guest a good relaxing time. Thank you for your kind comments about the restaurant il Gradale and the service.
We hope to see you again very soon to give you another relaxing experience at Castello.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you have ever wanted to stay in a castle, pick this one. The castle is completely restored, and has a beautiful view over the valley to the city ( you can also see the castle from the city). There are many patios with sitting areas to enjoy the view. The room was of adequate size, comfortable, and furnished with pieces which fit the ambiance. One negative - the hotel had turned off the air conditioning and had turned on the heated towel rack, which could not be turned off, so we had to be sure to keep the door to the bathroom closed or the room would get too hot, even with the window wide open. Breakfast was excellent. The castle is about a 10 minute drive from the center of Perugia. If you stay here, have a GPS - it is very hard to find. One couple we spoke with did not have a GPS and they said they drove around for 2 hours looking for it. A tip - if you don't want to go to town for dinner and want somewhere nearby to eat other than the hotel's pretentious (and very expensive) Il Postale or the sterile Gradale, go to Ristorante Stella. From the castle, go up the hill and turn right, towards Ponte Valleceppi. In a little while you will see the somewhat seedy looking Hotel Stella on the right. The entrance to the restaurant is around the corner on a side street, under the hotel. Excellent food, a large wine selection, frequented by locals. Check it out on TripAdvisor. They open at 8:00 PM.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear AndoverDan,
Thank you for for taking the time to write this review and thank you for recommending the castle to other travelers, this is very rewarding.
We are happy that you enjoyed the room and the views and we apologies if the towel rack was too hot, in certain period of the year we set air conditioning or heating according to the weather conditions. We are very sorry you despise our restaurants: we really believe in the good service and food of il Postale (1 star Michelin) and of il Gradale (traditional cuisine).
If your plans bring you back to Perugia, we hope to see you again at the castle.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of Castello di Monterone. Our junior suite was beautiful and comfortable with fabulous views of Perugia and countryside. My wife is an artist and she has started oil paintings of the landscapes from our windows. The food was exceptionally good at both restaurants and the service was impeccable from management down to the entire staff. The hotel itself and its gardens and environs touched us.
Richard and Anamario

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anamario B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Richard and Anamario,
thanks for the lovely words spent about your experience at the castle, thanks for appreciating our service, the staff and the beauty of our place. It's true, the view from the castle is very panoramic, anyway, what and honor to be the inspiration of your oil paintings!
We hope you'll keep a nice memory of us, in your paintings as in your hearts.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Fortunately we decided for the Castello for our Perugia stay.It´s only about 10 minutes from the city center , there is no reason to stay downtown with such an incredible choice in this city.The castello rooms have some sophisticated details that make them very unique. Breakfast is very good, and there´s no doubt that we´ll choose the castello for a future visit to Perugia.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaby N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2013

Dear Gaby N,
the words in your review are so nice, thanks for your appreciation!
The castle is a special place (you said "unique": this is another great thing!) and our aim is to work hard every day to deserve this adjective.
We hope to see you soon.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,224 reviews
3.8 mi away
Relais San Clemente
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#7 of 65 in Perugia
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
502 reviews
5 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
743 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 24 in Gubbio
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £107 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing