We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most romantic, gorgeous location with amazing staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2014

It started when my fiance and I realized we could get married in an Italian castle. We searched for castles online and emailed many. The quickest and most informative response was from Francesco at Castello di Monterone. Through a series of emails over a couple of months, he and his team explained the location, wedding options on property, dinner menus complete with a "design your own meal" option, and put us in touch with Monica at Charming Weddings. Monica helped us find our photographer, Matteo and arranged a lovely late afternoon wedding for us on top of the highest castle tower. We can't thank her enough - she even made me a bouquet from roses on the castle grounds!

When we arrived we were taken aback by the beauty and stunning landscape. Every detail was perfect and we were certain we'd made the right choice. We checked in with ease, were shown to our suite and given time to look around the castle. We found the rose garden, pool, wishing well and more amazing scenery than we could have imagined.

This 13th century castle has a rustic feel that transports you back in time but comes complete with air conditioning and internet access so you never feel put out or out of touch. The food we enjoyed at the terrace restaurant was delicious and the staff was friendly, helpful and made us feel like VIPs. Our server even offered to deliver dessert to our suite which was a lovely idea that we took advantage of.

We wandered the grounds at night and again in the morning. The spectacular views from our suite gave us the chance to look out at the city up on the hill and take in the farm lands and vineyards surrounding the castle. When you're there you feel that nothing is off limits, all areas are open to you.

We can not recommend this hotel highly enough. We struggled with other hotels in Italy but at Castello di Monterone, everything was easy, fun and absolutely perfect.

Room Tip: The Della Dame suite was impeccable with a large, open room, spacious bathroom and views that could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Dear AndyC,
your review is something special. Thank you very much for the wonderful words spent for the castle and for all of us.
We are lucky to work in a beautiful place and we feel proud to share beauty and atmosphere with our guests. We want the castle to be a big house more than a castle, where to find smiling people, nice food and all the ease of modern times.
It's correct to say that were our VIP guests, and we are so happy to hear that you find so much value in our service. We really hope that everything has met you expectations.
We have been a small part of an important moment of your life, thank you for choosing the intimate Castello di Monterone for your wedding. We wish that this memory will rest with you forever.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

This was one of the highlights during our stay at Perugia - staying at a beautifully kept castle set atop picture perfect rolling Tuscany hills! The rooms are also very modern and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

The only downside to Castello di Monterone is that it is a short taxi ride away from town, but it's a great trade-off for the stunning location, view and surroundings (you can't have it all !). Also they have two very good restaurants on site if you don't feel like going into town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14andrewc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Angelo C,
thanks for the beautiful words spent about your experience at the castle. It is an ancient building but we want it to be a live and warm house. That's the reason why we are so happy to learn that you felt good inside our walls. We hope you'll keep a nice memory of your stay in Perugia.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed here for one night, and wished we had booked for more. The Castle is stunning, in beautiful surroundings with pretty gardens. There is also a pool, although we didn't use it.

Our room was on the ground floor at the bottom of the tower with its own private, gothic style terrace. We sat and relaxed there all afternoon and soaked up the view and peaceful atmosphere while the staff brought us wine and nibbles.

The room itself, although not huge, was lovely, clean and with great features. There's also free wifi so you can make your friends jealous by posting pics of your surroundings on Facebook straight away!!

We ate dinner there (but not in the Michelin starred restaurant). We had a really fantastic meal and for a very reasonable price for what we got.

We had a car, but I'm not sure how easy it would be to get around the local area from here if you didn't.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place. We booked it because we saw the good reviews on Tripadvisor and it certainly lived up to it.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank C9ath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear C9ath,
we definitely love your review! Thanks a lot for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor and for loving the castle so much! The whole staff is happy about your positive feedback.
We always recommend to have a car if you want to visit the region, that's the best way to see the beautiful places in the surrounding of the castle.
We hope you will remember your holiday at the castle, even short, and we hope that you succeeded in provoking some jealousy to your friends, so they might be curious to visit us, as well as you did ;-)

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend in September, we loved the place. It was great to walk around inside the castle, it is great they way that they have it set out, really feels like you are in a medieval castle. Room was awesome, simple but with you everything you need, and felt almost like it would have hundreds of years ago. The staff were great. especially in the restaurant. We ate our own dinner on the top of the castle where they have some tables on the battlements. The view is spectacular, and the sunset unforgettable - this was really the Italy we wanted to see. The second night we ate at the restaurant that looks over the valley - we sat outside and had the whole outside area just for us, they even out on some 'younger' music for us, different from what was playing inside which was a great touch. Food wasn't the best I had in Italy, but my girlfriend was very happy, and with the atmosphere and service, easily ranks in the top 5 dinners we had in Europe. The same restaurant is used for breakfast - again we sat outside both mornings and looked over the valley while we ate an amazing buffet breakfast.....with prosecco - what more could you ask for??

Room Tip: Maybe check to see if it has a window - also some looked kinda small (ours was big though)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melburn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear melburn82,
your review is much than we could expect. Thank you very much for the nice words spent for all of us and we definitely love to be among your best dinners in Europe ;-)
We are so happy that you have lived at the castle an intense experience: we always invite our guests to make a curious walk inside the castle and outside, to discover all the panoramic corners and hidden treasures of this ancient mansion.
Our wish, now, is to be among your memories for a long time.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed only one night in standard room. Hotel is very good. Located a little aside from perugia but view is worth travelling. Rooms are well sized and good bathroom, some rooms allow amazing view from the bed. Staff is very pleasant. Really enjoyed staying

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank EvgeniLedenev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear EvgeniLedenev,
Every guest's tale has a great value for us and we are particularly happy when we find satisfaction in their words. Thanks for being part of the castle, even for one night, and thanks for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were at this unusual and lovely hotel for 2 nights. It is actually a castle on a beauifully well-maintained property with stunning flowers and fruit and vegetable trees and plants, with terrific views of the surrounding countryside of Umbria.
The staff was wonderfully welcoming, warm and helpful in a variety of ways.
Breatkfast(included) was a wonderful buffet of a variety of lovely breads, sweets, fruits, juices, etc. etc. and the service there was excellent. THe breakfast room also had beautiful views.
Parking is on the property and is included.
The hotel is about a 7-8 minute car drive to the center of town.
We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beverlys796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Dear beverlys796,
thanks for the time spent in writing this review. We agree with your definition of "unusual" and we thank you about the word "lovely" to define the quality of your stay. Your compliments to the staff and the service are very much appreciated and we are so happy that you loved the castle in its particular shape, colours and sorroundings. We hope that the castle will remain in your memories and we would like to give you our welcome again.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A remarkable hotel with great atmosphere and views. Desk staff is helpful with everything from directions to reservations and recommendations of things to do. Both restaurants are excellent, with good food and service. Breakfast is very good, with great food selection and helpful service. Wonderful place to stay and to wander around. Housekeeping staff, however, is below the standards set by the rest of the hotel. Things were often left unclean, supplies were allowed to run out, and, amusingly, our requested extra pillows were carefully put away every day so that we had to search them out each night. They should, however, try to improve the internet service, which seems to cut off frequently and require full sign in procedures to restore; however, this seems to have been a problem all over the region recently. Would recommend the hotel highly.

Room Tip: Use the web site to choose your room, but be sure to discuss with staff via e-mail. Rooms with outdo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary0126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear Gary0126,
thanks for your review about Castello di Monterone and thanks for recommending our hotel to the Tripadvisor users. Your compliments to the staff are so much appreciated by all of us. We will take into consideration your remark about the housekeeping staff, sorry if you has perceived this as an element of disturb, but we must say that the cleaning activities cover the whole day and they always tend to be respectful of the privacy of our guests.

Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#5 of 65 in Perugia
1,211 reviews
5.0 mi away
Relais Dell'Olmo
Relais Dell'Olmo
#3 of 65 in Perugia
734 reviews
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 65 in Perugia
1,511 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
891 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
Price Range: £108 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing