We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel in a beautiful area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello di Monterone
Ranked #1 of 66 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Sussex
Level Contributor
112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a beautiful area”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

On arrival we were impressed by the fabulous hillside location with a view across to Perugia, the beautiful gardens and the stunning building itself. Our room (La Postierla) had a great view across the valley. Staff were great, our room was made up several times a day with fresh towels and the food was great; dinner in the Michelin star restaurant was exceptionally good and nowhere near as costly as London equivalents.Staff were friendly and helpful and the whole place is beautfully and very sensitively restored. Very quiet and peaceful with only 18 bedrooms. Faultless!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Derm90,
we love your words on the castle, thanks for being our guests and for writing your impression about your stay with us.
We are far from being "faultless", but we work very hard to make our place a nice accommodation and a nice travel experience for people coming to visit Umbria. It's always a pleasure when someone tell us that everything has been lovely and has respected their expectations of beauty and comfort. We hope you'll be back to us for another experience.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    663
    113
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
95
575
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This castle-hotel is a gem, probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The service is just right: discreet and charming, the castle itself is a magical place: carefully and authentically restored, and the rooms and facilities are just what the traveler wants. Thank you for your wonderful hospitality, we will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are different. Check the website and talk to the helpful staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear PadfieldAbroad,
thank you for the fabulous feedback!
It's great that you loved our hospitality and our human touch. We definitely love your comment on that. We strongly hope that you will be able to come back one day.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Our three nights here were amazing to say the least. It's not inexpensive but definitely worth every cent!! I have nothing but wonderful things to say about every aspect of the hotel, it's staff, and location.

I don't even know where to begin. We were impressed from the moment we arrived. The staff was outstanding from the front desk to the restaurant servers. The furnishings take you back through time. We enjoyed the gardens, the pool, the view of the country side, and the food. We explored the castle several times because there was always something new to see.

The only bad thing about staying at the castle was having to leave.

Room Tip: Any room in a castle has to be a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gershepd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear gershepd,
We love your review, so enthusiastic! We definitely feel the same after reading it!
Thank you for spending such lovely words about everyone of us and for having been impressed by the beauty of the castle. Maybe you cannot live here, but you can come back whenever you want! ;-)

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
282 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 days as part of our honeymoon in Italy. Who wouldn't want the chance to stay in a castle? Our room was La Postierla which was up an external staircase close to the pool. We had a beautiful view over the valley towards Perugia.

The staff were very helpful, lending us an umbrella when it rained, which unfortunately it seemed to do most nights, telling us where the best place to park was and even organising some pastries and coffee for us when we had to leave earlier than normal breakfast times.

We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food at dinner but breakfast was delicious with lots of choice. Service at breakfast was a little slow in both taking drink orders and replenishing buffet items but that's a minor complaint.

The maid service was excellent, the best I think we've had, fresh towels, morning and evening and everything replenished with the slightest use.

We had an enjoyable stay, but this would have been even better had the hotel acknowledged it was our honeymoon in some way.

Room Tip: If you want a view or outside seating then enquire as it's not clear on the website which do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WitchyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear WitchyYork
thank you for for writing about your experience at the castle.
We are happy that you have an overall positive impression of the hotel and we appreciate very much your compliments to the staff and to the housekeeping - all of them are an important contribution to the natural beauty of this place.
We are sorry if we missed the occasion to make something special for your anniversary. If you decide to come back for another important occasion, we'll be happy to offer something nice for celebrating.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Converted old castle - very well refurbed with modern take on old furnishings. Fab views of Umbrian countryside. Bit of town but worth the drive. Staff very helpful - great restaurant as well. Has small pool and lovely gardens. Make sure you take elevator to top of castle

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank das90a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear das90a,
Your description and recommendations sound lovely, together with your compliments to the staff.
The whole castle (walls and people) thank you for spending your holidays in Perugia and for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I highly recommend this hotel. They've done a masterful job of updating a Renaissance castle to modern standards of comfort and luxury (heating/cooling, etc.) while preserving the character and uniqueness of the property. You couldn't ask for a more beautiful setting. Located on a hillside 2 miles outside Perugia, the hotel is a bit hard to find, but it is worth the hunt. The hotel grounds provide many places to enjoy the views out over the countryside amid the lovely gardens of the hotel. Staff were extremely professional and helpful. Our room was comfortable; bathroom was terrific, bed and pillows were adequate but not as comfortable as I would have liked. I have stayed in other historic castles and villas, and I would place this near the top of the list for value and character relative to the price. While I was visiting with a friend, this would be an ideal spot for a romantic get-away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Chris T,
your review is gorgeous, thank you for writing about your experience with us on Tripadvisor.
We're very happy that you felt special, we like that you have found at the castle a good place where to relax and to be a bit romantic ;-)
Thank you also for appreciating the staff, a group of people who enjoy their job, especially when there is possibility of a friendly exchange among people. We feel proud of being "near the top of the list for value and character", it is an expression that re-pays a lot of our daily efforts and deserves a bow by all of us. Thank you very much.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel is fantastic and I highly recommend it for all. It is a little more expensive but the service is great and the food at the restaurant is off the charts. Certainly a highlight of our stay in Perugia

Room Tip: All Rooms are solid, ask for a view, but I think all rooms may have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angeiperugia, Proprietario at Castello di Monterone, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear James G,
thank you very much for loving your experience at the castle...we love your review, instead! Your nice words about service and staff reach all of us.
Concerning the view, not all the rooms have a panoramic view, so we always recommend to ask for a preference at the moment of the reservation - if possible, we'll be happy to satisfy this request.
Anyway, the view is all around the castle, we're in a very lucky position respect to the town and countryside. We hope you'll find the chance to come back to Umbria, we'll be happy to welcome you again.

Francesco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perugia
11.9 mi away
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
Borgo Dei Conti Resort
#1 of 1 in Boschetto Vecchio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sina Brufani
Sina Brufani
#6 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
4.8 mi away
Alla Posta dei Donini
Alla Posta dei Donini
#1 of 2 in San Martino in Campo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Castello di Petroia
Castello di Petroia
#1 of 23 in Gubbio
5.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
10.5 mi away
Nun Assisi Relais & Spa Museum
1.6 mi away
Sangallo Palace Hotel
Sangallo Palace Hotel
#8 of 66 in Perugia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Monterone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Monterone

Property: Castello di Monterone
Address: Strada di Montevile 3, 06126, Perugia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Perugia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Perugia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Perugia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castello di Monterone 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Castle, Castello di Monterone offers its guests 18 unique and enchanting rooms, each designed in a manner that respects and preserves the atmosphere of the Castle. Blending the past with the future, each room includes: en-suite bathrooms (some with jacuzzi tubs), international television channels, broadband internet access, mini-fridge, air conditioning and safe deposit box. Castello di Monterone has two restaurantsThe gourmet restaurant il Postale (1 star Michelin) showcases both traditional Umbrian dishes as well as contemporary, innovative cuisineThe restaurant Il Gradale’s commitment to local freshness is apparent in its seasonally inspired dishes and regionally inspired preparations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castello di Monterone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Monterone Hotel Perugia
Castello Di Monterone Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing