We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 16/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$184
View deal
Free cancellation until 15/12/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Official Website
US$158
View deal
Booking.comUS$184
Hotels.comUS$184
eDreamsUS$184
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,024)
Filter reviews
1,024 results
Traveller rating
841
140
28
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
841
140
28
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews real castle renovated castle on site restaurant umbrian countryside visit perugia dame stella wedding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,024 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2019

My wife and I had a great week at this hotel. Besides the special character of the castle, it is my pleasant obligation to emphasize the kindness and the excellent attention of all the staff, especially Laura, Simon and Claudia who, like all the employees including the managers , they did much more than usual to make our vacations an unforgettable experience.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Iftahtregerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 April 2019

My daughter and I spent one night at Castello di Monterone. This is truly a castle experience. The entire estate is so beautiful. Our room was amazing and the staff were so friendly and helpful. They went above and beyond to help us with an issue and we so appreciated it. We also had dinner in their on site restaurant which was one of the best meals of our entire vacation. I can not say enough about this amazing hotel. A must stay for anyone who will be in the area.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank Luna418
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 April 2019

We enjoyed our time at this restored, historical castle. It was a very special place to stay and imagining the history and people who may have lived there was awesome. Our room was nice and clean, the bathroom had an updated tub and shower. We had windows for natural light. There was a restaurant connected and our food was good. We had a breakfast buffet in the mornings. The staff were friendly and the owner gave us a much appreciated tour explaining the history of the castle and the restoration. Since I know it’s important to people, I will say that we did not have WiFi in our room, but was no problem using it in the lobby. We wouldn’t have cared at all except we wanted news of the NCAA tournament.

Date of stay: March 2019
4  Thank penny585
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 April 2019

A magical base for exploring the lovely hill towns of Umbria. This property has been restored and expanded to preserve the historic character of the castle while providing modern conveniences and exceptional comfort. Every nook, vista, and winding staircase highlights beautiful medieval features. Wandering the gardens is the ultimate relaxation—-along with the steam room, sauna and pool. Breakfast is delicious, and the restaurant provides local Umbrian specialities in the evening. All the staff were kind, friendly, and helpful. My husband arrived with an injured foot, and they provided ice packs, comfort, and even a cane! We stayed for a week, and I would have lingered longer. Paradise...

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank swoozie4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2019 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights at Castello di Monterone and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, as well as 3 dinners at the hotel restaurant.
Our room (Giota) was small and cozy, fitted with a glass door (with a curtain) all the better for us to enjoy the lovely outdoor view and sunset. Slippers were thoughtfully provided.
We asked for and were given a tour of the hotel, with details on the restoration, history the various historical finds displayed around the hotel. The rooftop terrace and rose garden were great for enjoying sunset view. A seating room next to the reception with a fireplace was warm and inviting, and our group of 4 met there regularly for pre dinner drinks. The hotel was gracious in lending us wines glasses. The reception team and the owner manager were friendly and helpful.
Prosecco and peach juice were available for breakfast and it was nice to start the day with a glass of Bellini! For dinner, My favorite dish is the Blue and Well done beef fillet- amazing!
The hotel location is up a hill and the road leading from Perugia town Centre is bumpy and steep. 3 mins drive away is the Stella Ristorante, a nice alternative to dining at the hotel.
Perugia is a good base for exploring the Umbria region, and Castello di Monterone is a lovely hotel to go home to each day of our trip.
Highly recommended

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank Leong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews