We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does What it says on the Tin”
Review of Hotel Eden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Eden
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2011

We can only reiterate previous reviews:
It is very central and convenient
It is is clean and good value for money.
The rooms are functional but not particularly spacious
The staff (with one exception we met) are not fluent english speakers but could not be more helpful.
The pictures on the website are accurate.

We enjoyed it and would recommend it to others, although the lack of space might make it hard to do a longer stay

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyberce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

LOCATION
The historic city center of Perugia is on top of a mountain. If you do not choose carefully your hotel... you will be walking up and downhill all the time. Hotel Eden has a perfect location: up the mountain and one minute walk from main street/ historic city center.

ROOMS
We had booked an economy room (cheapest one) and upon arrival we were proactively offered to see 2 different rooms and choose the one we liked most (based on availability and within the type of room we had reserved).

The room we chose was fine: no frills but clean and very comfortable.

CAR PARKING
The hotel gives you free official permission (piece of paper for the dashboard) to park the car in the old town (in which only residents can park).

BREAKFAST
The breakfast is complete (no hot food) and the attention at front desk is sincere and very friendly.

CHECKING OUT
When checking out the hotel gave us a bottle of local white wine as a courtesy.

OVERALL
Excellent value for money and perfect location.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joaquin1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

lovely little hotel in the best area of Perugia to stay. If driving finding the hotel in the up and downhill winding streets is a bit of a pain, make sure you have good directions. Parking is a few minutes walk from hotel. Lovely breakfast, very helpfull staff. Room immaculate, tho tiny showeroom, but it did have everything inc bidet., also shower nice and powerfull. No hotel staff overnight, they leave at 10pm, felt a bit strange as in a quiet area, and on the 3rd floor of a building, but quite safe. Nice restaurant opposite/ couple of doors down.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithholsabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Having searched for a hotel that was ideally located in the old town of Perugia we were starting to wonder if we'd ever find one that was ideally located but at the same time a bargain for a short weekend stay. Luckily we found Hotel Eden.

The pictures on the site are exactly as you will see it, clean, small and cosy with friendly and helpful staff. In an ideal location it gave us a great base from where we could view wedding locations and visit other towns including Florence (only 2 hours away by train) and the similar town of Cortona.

A bit quiet at this time of year though so maybe a return visit in the summer and we shall see the city in a different light.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2010

One of my best stays in Italy. Friendly staff and a convenient lift to get to the reception (only one level of the hotel is accesible with the lift).

It is five minutes walk from the main square. It is on the top of the hill, very close to the escalators to reach the bus station (P. Garibaldi)

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddbxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

After trawling the internet for hours comparing prices and reviews,I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel Eden.The staff speak only a little english,but were friendly and welcoming.A free drink was offered on arrival.Accessed via lift,located on the third floor.My room was booked as an economy one-but it had everything I needed and was a decent size for one person.A little noise from the street was blocked out with the shutters and windows closed.My room was cleaned every day,fresh towels left.The bathroom was compact,but clean and modern,with a good shower-always a bonus!.
The breakfast room was small,but was never crowded.There was an ample choice of cereal,fresh fruit,yoghurt,cake,croissant and bread with cheese,salami and condiments.The cappuccino was really good!
The hotel was ideally placed just a flight of steps from piazza italia,on a side street.A short walk to the main square,home to the cathedral and important museums.The hotel offers internet access if needed,and parking.A well kept,bright hotel offering good value for money-I paid 59 euros per night.Luggage can be left in a lockable room on departure day.I was presented with half a bottle of wine on my departure,a nice gesture I have not often come across.I would use the hotel again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda_payne71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

The refurbished hotel is situated in an old building on the 3rd floor and can be entered by an elevator. It is right in the centre of Perugia and can be reached by bus from train station (bus stop: Piazza Italia about 100 mtrs. from the hotel). A taxi costs about 11 euro. All places of interest are within walking distance. We stayed one night in Hotel Eden on our way to Assisi.
We arrived by the last train from Ancona and although the check in time is at 10 p.m. at the latest, we were welcomed warmly at about 11 p.m. Staff is generally very kind and helpful and, although we stayed for one night, we were offered a small bottle of wine when we checked out. Kindness and helpfulness are of 5 star quality.
Near the entrance hall is a cosy breakfast room where, according to Italian standards, a good breakfast is served, even with several kinds of fresh fruit.
Our bedroom was very small with an airconditioner above the top-end of the double bed (from my own earlier experiences I know that airconditioners placed in this way are hardly to be used at night). The bed is large and has a good mattress. The room has a fridge, a TV (only Italian channels), a safe and coffee/tea facilities (which is not common in continental Europe!). The room is rather noisy. There is a small bathroom with a washstand, a bidet and a shower cubicle with a good working shower.

Travel tip: when we decided to go to Assisi the first thing I had to do was to look for the nearest international airport in order to book a budget flight. This is Ancona (Falconare Airport), approachable from Düsseldorf/Weeze by Ryanair (arrival time 5.15 p.m.). From this airport there is a bus to Ancona central station. What we initially did not realize was that when we would not able to catch the 5.45 bus, we had to wait an extra hour in order to get the last train (7.32 p.m.) to Perugia (before our stay in Assisi we decided to stay one night in Perugia). This implied that we had to wait at least 90 minutes at the airport or 90 min. in Ancona central station depending which bus we could catch. The train to Perugia, with a change in Foligno, lasts 2.54 hrs.
Although I learned from the website of the airport that there is a train station (called Castelferretti), in front of the airport terminal, tickets could not be booked on the website of Trenitalia as the station was not recognized as departing station. I got the impression there was no train connection to Ancona at all. So I booked train tickets from Ancona to Perugia and from Assisi to Ancona at a Dutch travel agency. Although our return flight was on May 19th we decided to go to Ancona the day before and to book one night in Hotel City Ancon (see my review on Tripadvisor), otherwise we had to leave Ancona rather early because of the bad bus connections to the airport (the waiting time between two buses can run up to over 1 ½ hrs.). By travelling back in two days we had a better conncetion.
Some days after we received the train tickets, we learned from the travel agency that several times a day there is a railway connection between the airport and Ancona central station which bridges the gap between some of the departing times of the buses.
For instance: when you arrive at the airport at the above mentioned time you can take the 18.48 hrs. train arriving at 19.07 hrs at Ancona central station where you can catch the 19.32 train to Assisi/Perugia. Returning from Assisi you can take the 12.45 train to Ancona central station arriving at 15.35 where you can have the 15.44 train to the airport, arriving there at 16.03 hrs.
There are two other options reaching Assisi:
1st fly to Rome Fiumicino and take the bus to Perugia/Assisi (210 km.);
2nd fly to Milan en take an inland flight to Perugia airport.
Be aware that especially the second option can be attended with much time to change, but an extra advantage of both options is that it is not necessarily to make use of the services of the most client-unfriendly company Ryanair.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perugia hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Fortuna
Hotel Fortuna
#18 of 65 in Perugia
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iris
Hotel Iris
#21 of 65 in Perugia
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda della Posta - Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Morlacchi
Albergo Morlacchi
#15 of 65 in Perugia
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosetta
Hotel La Rosetta
#31 of 65 in Perugia
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rosalba
Hotel Rosalba
#7 of 65 in Perugia
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden

Address: Via Cesare Caporali 9, 06123, Perugia, Italy
Region: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Perugia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 65 Hotels in Perugia
Price Range: £44 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to the thirteenth century and recently restored, the Hotel Eden is situated in the heart of Perugia, and offers wonderful views of the countryside and the historical center. The rich artistic and cultural heritage and stunning natural surroundings make Perugia one of the most fascinating cities in Italy. Hotel Eden is within walking distance of all the major monuments and landmarks of the city, among which include Fontana Maggiore, the Palazzo dei Priori and the National Gallery. After a day of sightseeing, guests can enjoy a meal at one of the nearby restaurants or go back to the hotel and relax with a drink at the bar, or read a book in the small library. This Perugia area is a favorite with our guests, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden Perugia, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing