We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and very well presented!”
Review of Church House Inn

Church House Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Stokenham
Price range: US$8 - US$17
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very well presented!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have been to the Church House Inn on numerous occasions when staying in the area, the food is far superior to your usual 'pub grub' and the presentation is excellent. Good local sourced ingredients all fresh. We will definately be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Alastair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    61
    18
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Night out at the Church House Inn”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed locally for a week and went for a mid week meal. We thought this was a very nice Pub / Restaurant. Nice premises, friendly staff and excellent food. If you like fish then go for it here. We had the Crab to start and Sole for main course, which were both excellent. The local jazz group played for were great fun and very entertaining. We would recommend the Church House Inn.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spoilt Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Had booked a table for my wife and two son's to celebrate our 23rd Wedding Anniversary for 7pm. At 8:10 pm we were told the table was needed and asked if we could order and eat our desserts outside. Clearly the establishment is trying to maximise throughput at the expense of customer service.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnmdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Do not go”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Went to the Church House Inn for a meal, if you go, don't expect to get served when it is your turn if one of the locals are waiting, particularly the ones sitting at the Bar.
They ALWAYS serve the locals first.
The food is overpriced, poorly cooked and the service is surly to say the least.
You get rushed off your table as soon as they can get rid of you.
I appreciate that they have to make their money in the summer, but this is our 12th year going to Devon and this area and will certainly not go back to this establishment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank advisorfan2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

No complaints AT ALL, good beer (Otter Ale x 3 plus a guest ale) and really nice food for around £10. I would certainly go again....and if you have never been the car parking, though easy, is confusing. Let me explain....

The general public car park is free and outside the pub
The Church car park is nearest the road
The Pub car park is nearest the church

Park anywhere...nobody seems to mind!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank watfordpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Church House Inn also viewed

 
Stokeinteignhead, Newton Abbot
 

Been to Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing